We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid & safe stay in an overrated 'hood”
Review of ibis Styles Halle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis Styles Halle
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Halle (Saale)
Siegen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solid & safe stay in an overrated 'hood”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Let´s be honest. If you cannot stand the idea of looking at Halle´s largest brothel whenever you look outside or walk to the hotel from the train station or city center - do not stay here.

If you are, on the other hand, looking for cheap (CHEAP!) and solid 3-star accomodation less than 500m from the train station, a 5-10 minute walk from the town center, easily reachable from the Autobahn with free highspeed wifi, free sauna use, free parking & amazingly friendly, approachable staff and DO NOT mind the brothel across the street - book your night here.

Last time I spent a night at this hotel I was booked into a single room with direct view onto the brothel´s entrance. This establishment once popped up into the media´s short attention span when the owner bought the the german flag with the Bundesadler on it from the old Bundestag in Bonn after Germany´s capital moved to Berlin. For a short period the flag hung down from the brothel´s rooftop until just a few short weeks later politicians noticed that it might not have been the smartest move to auction used items from the Bundestag to just anyone and passed a law that declared the flag not eligible for sale at all (and bought it back :) )

Nonetheless the mattress & sheets were clean & comfortable. The room´s furniture was well used and dark brown in colour, reminding me of the late 80s. The TV set was rather small, but flat-screen, and the image rather fuzzy (even premium pay-tv channels are included). The bathroom was clean but had seen better days, in the shower cubicle one could see remains of mold (but only the remains - the actual mold had been scrubbed off). Wifi was free as well and high-speed.

This time I did not have breakfast at the hotel as I had other arrangements but usually the breakfast buffet is plenty (hot&cold). Regarding the room price (30€ for a single) the 9€ for the breakfast sound steep - if you do not want to eat at the hotel you do not need to - there are lots of opportunities at the train station or downtown (i.e. just a 5min drive or 10-15 min walk).

Parking is free in front of the hotel (but this is a public street), free on the hotel´s premises and 5€/night in the hotel´s garage.

After all this is a rock solid & safe choice of a hotel in Halle. If you do not expect top-of-the-line furniture/art/gadgets (but top-of-the-line service) you will not be dissappointed.

If you are interested in chocolate or chocolate & pralinés production you should visit the Hallorenfabrik Museum & Shop about 1km down the road to the east :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking lot. The view isn´t spectacular (even though there is a nice XL mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
4
15
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not my 1st visit to this Hotel, won't be my last. It's less than 5 mins from the Main Station and handy for the Bus/Tram Station and trains to all parts of Germany. It's clean, quiet, and rooms are spotless. Breakfast is a Help Yourself style, there is a Restaurant but we didn't use it preferring to venture into the City Centre. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyCCrewe_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for two Nights in November.It has a good location right by the Main Train Station.Parking is available to the rear of the Hotel as well as in the Court Yard. Rooms are off Good Size and clean.The Hotel is not the most modern of all Places but for staying over it is Ok. Free Wi-fi and good Value for Money,yes it is next to a brothel but you don't have bother with it and they don't bother you.rooms are warm and shower is hot and good pressure and bathrooms are clean. As long as you look for a Bed for the night with FREE Parking and WIFI don't over look this Place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We've booked a room at this so to say hotel. When we arrived, we were disappointed by the terrible smell at the street outside the hotel which was coming from everywhere. The sign Bordelle just beside the hotel also didn't make a nice impression, that is why we decided to check the hotel before taking our suitcases there. We didn't like the hotel as soon as we entered as it was kind of dark in the hall and there also was a strange smell! The ladies at the reception, though, were very nice and helpful. At once we asked if we could cancel our reservation without penalties, unfortunately in was impossible. We went to see the room before checking in. The disgusting smell was everywhere in the hall! I suppose it was coming from old, dusty and dirty carpets on the floor! The elevator was shabby. In the room the smell was not that bad, but still was. The carpet in the room was ALL STAINED! Though we were already charged for one night stay, we've booked a room at the other hotel and left this horrible place right away! Keep away from this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halle (Saale) hotels

Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I would not recoment this hotel. Although not specified in the booking sheet the hotel can offer smoking rooms. Without even asking in advance i´ve been assigned to a smoking room. When i asked to change room i´ve been aswered that the hotel was full and therefore not possible. I do not know if that was true but it is hard to imagine an hotel with such a number of rooms to be full in a week day in halle. Besides the smell of the smoke my room was also pretty old and dirty. A colleague of mine was assigned to a topfloor room and complained it was extremely hot and could not detect the free wi-fi.
Is is cheap and the breakfast was quite good but i am sure you can find much better hotels in halle at the same price and with good breakfast choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBerg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We have been there with a youth orchestra and a few adults. Kudos really need to o to the staff, who was always very helpful to find solutions to unusual requests (like where to put the instruments of an orchetra during night), allowed us to bring our own stuff to prepare the lunch with the kids, and other things.

The only down point was the lack of airconditioning in the rooms on the upper floor, which became a bit hot during the sunny days.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joachim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed in the Dormotel with a group of Adults & Children, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children. The cleanliness of the rooms leave little to desire a fact highlighted by the dirty underwear peeking out from under one of the beds. When i advised reception they escorted me to the room and left with the underwear in a plastic bag, no reasonable apology was given.
The rooms are very warm and due to street noise you are unable to leave your window open at night. Some rooms had a mini-bar & fan, we had neither. The carpets were not very clean and the hallway was also quite grubby.
The brothel across the street did provide some unwanted entertainment which was not welcomed by anyone in the party.
The only good thing i can about the hotel is that the bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the garage and not the brothel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debdoc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dormotel-Europa, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ibis Styles Halle, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating our hotel. Only with your constructive review we can improve our services.

The following cases, we would like to comment on:

We are very sorry that your room was not cleaned with the thoroughness which actually represents the standard of our hotel. This situation in no way reflects the hygienic principles of the hotel.

Because of our city centre location, we can‘t avoid a certain level of noise, but our windows are soundproofed when they are closed.

In autumn and winter, we would like to offer our guests a guestroom with a comfortable temperature. Because it was a bit colder during your stay, we have pre-heated your room already.

For some time, the hotel is partly renovated with new carpet, because we no longer expect the part and worn-damaged carpet for our guests want. We are very sorry that your room was not yet equipped with a new carpet.

Nevertheless, we hope you had a pleasant stay with us and we would be happy to persuade you of our performance at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halle (Saale) hotels
TRYP by Wyndham Halle
#1 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
381 reviews
Nördliche Innenstadt
Dormero Hotel Rotes Ross
Dormero Hotel Rotes Ross
#3 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
218 reviews
Nördliche Innenstadt
Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale
Dorint Charlottenhof Halle Saale
#2 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H+ Hotel Leipzig-Halle
#4 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
117 reviews
Nördliche Innenstadt
Hotel am Steintor
Hotel am Steintor
#11 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
41 reviews
City Hotel am Wasserturm
#5 of 19 in Halle (Saale)
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Halle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Halle

Property: ibis Styles Halle
Address: Delitzscherstrasse 17, 06112 Halle (Saale), Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Halle (Saale)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Halle (Saale)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Halle 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the public starting July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ibis Styles Halle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing