We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet budget hotel”
Review of Days Inn Dessau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Dessau
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dessau
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend. The major advantage of the hotel is its location, straight of the autobahn, and very easy to find, with ample parking.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet/(boring) area near to the autobahn, surrounded by fields and woodland. Unfortunately, the nearby lake is closed off and part of some holiday park, however the woods have some nice paths to walk through, and the local area has many nice areas to visit. Also, dessau is nearby if you are in the car, and there is also a large supermarket on the other side of the autobahn.

The hotel is large and pleasant enough, the receptionist (also working the bar) was nice, efficient and helpful. We got a room at the back of the hotel, and it's quite a walk to the room. The room itself was comfortable, with a fridge, small TV and a shower. There was some noise from other guests, but nothing too bad.

Parking was great, and there was plenty of places to park. There is a bar, but no food. If you are staying over on a Sunday, make sure you stock up on food the day before. Everything is closed around on a Sunday, apart from the petrol station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Days Inn Dessau is simple and does not pretend to offer 5 star service. Instead you get a large, clean, comfortable room 2 minutes off the autobahn. At sub €50 it is pretty decent with a good breakfast in the morning to set you up for the next leg of your journey. They don't make any bones about it - it's a place where you lay down your head before getting back on the A9 and as such it is just ideal. I'll be using it again and soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philfaebuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

it's next to the highway, easy to reach, the price for the night is ok. Very nice stuff. Quiet surrounding gives you a good night sleep. If you are in the evening you wont eat anything, they have just breakfasts extra paid, but you can drink delicious beer. Rooms ok. Free parking. really recommend as a stopover on the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in the Grand Central Park Hotel last Wednesday night.

The room is, as you would expect for the price, basic but has everything you need, with a desk, small TV, bar fridge, bathroom with soap/shampoo combo and hair dryer provided. It was very clean, quiet with a good adjustable heating system (when in Winter that is very important). Wireless internet is free and very reliable. Apparently there is also a sauna for use, but since I came very late I didn't use it.

Unless you have a car, the breakfast buffet is worth getting as there is nothing around the area. They have hot breakfast (eggs and bacon) as well as a selection of breads, cheeses, fruit. You can also order cappucinos as well as drinking filtered coffee. It is 10€ extra.

Check-out is 11am, but they also allowed me to check out late at 12pm.

The only drag is that it's a 20 minute bus ride from the Dessau Hauptbahnhof with a bus once every hour, so you need to time your arrival or you will have to wait a while. Also, VERY IMPORTANT, if you come at night, you need to ring the public transport service to have the night bus (N14) come to take you to the hotel bus stop at least an hour in advance. (Number and timetable at http://www.dessauer-nahverkehr.de/Einzelplan/N4_taeglich.pdf)

Getting back into the city with the 11:28am bus next door to the hotel was very simple.

However, the pros certainly outweigh the cons and for a budget hotel it is extremely good and I would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theonlywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Grand City Park Hotel, Dessau Germany, rated 3 star at Expedia
This Hotel is not in a City or a Park but a motor hotel by the Autobahn in a field the middle of nowhere. It is a very plain hotel but only a “ Two star “ , no restaurant and no pool. Only stay there if you are driving your own car and it is 20 km. from Luther´s Wittenberg. Rooms with steel frame hard beds, the refrigerators in rooms are disconnected, no air-condition, no Coffey maker or cattle, but rooms are clean and staff very friendly.
You get a good German breakfast buffet It is a ok stopover on the highway. There has to be a better control how hotels get their stars and I urge Expedia and other operators to put the bar much higher when rating a hotel, better a star less than 3 stars to many for the customer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kamban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We booked this 3* hotel because it lays between the city of Dessau and Oranienbaum. The Bauhaus movement went from Weimar to Dessau and in the Schloss of Oranienbaum there was a very interesting exhibitation of Dutch Design. We did not realise the hotel had no lunch or dinner facilities, which is really a pitty, because the price of the rooms and the breakfast were an eye opener. So finally we feeled very lucky we booked this hotel, less than one km. from the A9, but very very quit in a green area. Parking on the premises was ok. The rooms were well equiped, only the small tv needs to be replaced by a flat screen. And CNN an BBC world was missing. Wifi worked ok. So we could use everywere our small netbook to see our mails. Breakfast was ok and a refreshment thoughout the day or evening was no problem for the very friendly receptionists.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lobby and the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heinjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff, good wi-fi, good breakfast, cheap rates and secure parking...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dessau
3.1 mi away
NH Dessau
NH Dessau
#2 of 8 in Dessau
350 reviews
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel Kuehnauer Hof
Hotel Kuehnauer Hof
#7 of 8 in Dessau
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Elbterrassen zu Brambach
7.3 mi away
Elbterrasse Worlitzer Winkel
20.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension Grune Linde
Hotel-Pension Grune Linde
#3 of 7 in Delitzsch
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Dessau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dessau

Address: Sonnenallee 4, 06842 Dessau, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany (Formerly Parkhotel Dessau)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Dessau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dessau
Price Range: $41 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Dessau 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Dessau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Hotel Dessau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing