We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We ate in my namesake restaurant”
Review of Vincenz Richter

Vincenz Richter
Ranked #26 of 77 Restaurants in Meissen
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
523 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“We ate in my namesake restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The restaurant is located directly on Market Square. It is a historical building very cozy inside and also outside. There is a street terrace and behind the house an yard. The food was local and thus very tasty, with a selection of light and regular meals. Chicken breast with bacon was juicy and the pork knee crunchy as it should be. The waitresses was very nice and recommended to us a wine which nicely went with the meal. Next time, when we are in Meissen we'll vist Vinzenz Richter again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ota R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    16
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have read about this restaurant and decided to have lunch there. When we came in the waitress explained that they have only cold dishes. It was a hot day so we were ok with Summer salad (the salad with mozarella). We got our orders fast but we think that salad was too simple for 12 Euros.In my opinion the drinks were also overpriced. I would not go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buratine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great looking restaurant and certainly a perfect atmosphere. Several members of the wait staff spoke English which really helped us pick our orders. After that it just went downhill. An hour later we were still waiting on our food. The appetizer that was ordered (the cheese tray) was disappointing. I was disappointed in the service most of all as several groups of people came after us and got their food before or immediately after we did. We really did feel like we were forgotten. When we got the bill it was extremely overpriced. Will definitely not go back and don't recommend to anyone else unless you have money to waste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J_Web2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Culinary experience”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited restaurant Vincenz Richter at the end of March 2013. There we found a cozy interior and friendly staff. A meal (asparagus soup, trout with vegetables ...) and also wine (White Bacchus and Kerner), was excellent. We can fully recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank crtPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
159 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in an interesting old building”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visited Meissen with a German friend and ended up in the Markplatz at lunch time. There are lots of cafes but my husband pointed out a small terrace just above the marketplace and next to the Frauenkirche. The building was old and fascinating, so we selected the place by location alone.

However, we were not disappointed. My husband and friend shared 3 cakes they declared delicious, along with tea and coffee. I opted for lunch: a salad with raspberry vinaigrette and sauteed beef. I thought it sounded like a rather odd combination, but it was absolutely delicious and the beef was tender and not fatty at all.

Only when we paid did I discover that this is not just a small restaurant but has a number of rooms opening off one another and serves over 130 people. Lovely decor so recommended for a rainy day as well. And it's part of the Romantik Hotel chain.

A great place to have lunch when visiting Meissen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vincenz Richter also viewed

Meissen, Saxony
Meissen, Saxony
 

Been to Vincenz Richter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing