We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Atmosphere and Good Rustic Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auerbachs Keller Leipzig

Auerbachs Keller Leipzig
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Leipzig
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Zentrum
Level Contributor
114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Historic Atmosphere and Good Rustic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

If a Wild Boar Mit Dumplings special is to your liking (and it is to mine) this is a place for you. The Fare is traditional Germanic with a rustic accent. My party all ate the Boar with a variety of sides. The meals are served family style so the is no lack of quantity and the quality was very good. Local Beer was also very good and th e service was efficient and pleasant.
The atmosphere of the common hall was architecturally interesting and the private room were stunning. To top it off it was a good value in a central location so you can stroll the cafe lined streets in search for desert and a coffee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaptRobsPortsofCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    477
    169
    57
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to this place just for the historical significance but the food was average, price was okay.
Good drinks variety and we ordered a Moët and the price was pretty good. Pity about the food however it may be just the food we ordered.
Very good customer service

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoonlightRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal in historic restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wonderful food, even my picky eater found something to enjoy! Menus in both English and German. Service staff was willing to speak English. An item of note - if 2 people order the same dish, then the side dishes are brought in bowls to share. We both enjoyed the wild swine special of the day, and did not mind that the sides were brought to be shared. Meal prices were on the higher side, but we are accustomed to inexpensively traveling, so may be somewhat biased in that area. Still it was well worth every Euro and everyone was happy with his dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AZBeachl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
298 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good service at least they had English menus and the waiter was all right. However the place overall and the food in particular is way over rated. I would recommend eating elsewhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Huge restaurant under the shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was suggested to me if you like good German food. It is located in the middle of town and down a set of stairs under the shops. It is really big and is decorated a little oddly in some places with what looks like devils. It was really busy, even on a Tuesday night. I had the schnitzel and it was huge and really well cooked. You have a choice of sides and I had salad and boiled potatoes which was a great choice. The beer was cold and my bill for everything was 26 euro. Not really cheap but certainly affordable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyo_and_Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auerbachs Keller Leipzig also viewed

 

Been to Auerbachs Keller Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing