We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Westin Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Leipzig
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

As tourists we found this to be ideally located for our needs. The rooms are a good size, the foyer bar is comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Walking distance to both the station and town centre with its excellent restaurants. Wifi was expensive as was parking. Public parking is readily available across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robnlizoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Leipzig with us. We hope to see you soon again. Kind regards A.Reichstein - Area Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Leipzig
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 966 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location is very central, next to railwaystation and Zoo, short walk into citycenter and to Red Bull Arena (location for futball but also several concerts). Rooms are very nice, with great view if you are located in higher levels, staff is very helpfull and helpful. Only negaive is price for internet - 5 Eur/hr! and breakfast 23 Eur! We had breakfast buffet in the city center in a cafe - for 23 Eur for both of us

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your impressions during your stay with us. Any constructive review helps us for monitoring our service standard and give us a chance for make things better. We do our utmost to be a home for people on travel on a high level and all our actions are aimed to improve our service and your valued comments are appreciated. Yours Westin Leipzig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've stayed here some years ago and it's a nice looking, quiet, pleasant hotel in a great location and I've always found the staff pleasant.
I arrived early expecting to drop my bag and check in later but my room was ready, which was great. Again the staff were pleasant and it was a great view from the 23rd floor. The gym was fine but to charge anything extra, even 3 euro, for the pool and sauna is frankly ridiculous. I didn't have breakfast this time because although it was lovely and a great selection, 16 euros is steep.
Unfortunately my mobile phone was not working on arrival so I needed to use the business centre for internet access. 5 euros for 15 minutes is absolutely astronomical. Add in the complimentary water in the room on arrival (but only if you're a Starwood member or other caveat), it all feels a bit penny pinching when the rooms are not exactly budget prices :-(
Leipzig itself, is just a fabulous city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yourfavouriteslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Leipzig with us. We hope to see you soon again. Kind regards A.Reichstein - Area Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Average, but nothing more and I resent paying €15 per day for wifi. Breakfast was crowded and again, just average. I also noticed an additional €3 charge to use the swimming pool, which just seems strange.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank holdenute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for being with us and we regret that we could not meet your expectations completely. We do appreciate any constructive comment and evaluate it carefully. We certainly will consider your comments for adjusting our service offer to guest expectations. Should your travel plans bring you back to Leipzig it would be worth to have a look on it - we would be pleased you could settle for us again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Being a Starwood fan I picked this one for my stay in October 2013.
SPG recogniition did not seem like their strong suit. No upgrade for a gold member. Also, major internet/wifi problems which was a big deal for me at the time. Service in general was OK but now up to par with what I have come to expect from The Westin/Starwood from previous stays in Asia. Maybe it is a cultural thing. Haven´t really stayed at many hotels in Europe.

I looked like the Westin, it smelled like the Westin, but the rest was below what I would expect from both room and service quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your thoughts about the service and accommodation provided during your recent stay with us. Constructive reviews and hints are really appreciated and important to us to improve our service. Certainly we will take your comment into consideration for some changes. We are looking forward to your next stay. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My stay at the Westin Leipzig was great from beginning to end. I arrived early, expecting to leave a bag until check-in became available, but staff found me a preferred room and offered early check-in. This hotel has a great history - Japanese designed, and built as an Interhotel in the DDR. As a hotel, it's huge, with a lobby that manages to be both spacious and welcoming, and a great lobby bar - it manages to be spacious but not soulless, which is great. Room itself was a reasonable size with a decent bathroom with shower over tub. My only gripe would be that the hotel didn't have in-room tea and coffee, but this seems quite common in German hotels. Good views from the room over Leipzig town centre, which is a short walk away, as is the train station. Lovely, interested and informative staff (a glass of wine came with a really informed explanation from the barman) capped off a great stay.

Room Tip: As always, high floor and a room away from the lifts is recommended.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2015

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Leipzig with us. We hope to see you soon again. Kind regards A.Reichstein - Area Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anja B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#3 of 102 in Leipzig
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 102 in Leipzig
579 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Address: Gerberstr. 15, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: $122 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Leipzig Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre only a short distance from the main train station and close to attractions such as the Leipzig Zoo with the outstanding "Gondwanaland" tropical African rainforest. An unparalleed fusion of local history and modern design in Leipzig. As soon as you enter our hotel the special atmosphere is palpable. The aesthetic and distinct elegance of our lobby is reflected in our 436 rooms and suites with magnificent panoramic views. Enjoy our undivided attention as we attend to your every need with excellent and courteous service. Take a culinary journey and experience the variety of our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing