We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Leipzig
Ranked #7 of 99 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoyable stay with a fantastic room view of Leipzig's skyline. Probably the best hotel in Leipzig not only for its services, but perfect location too. As expected from Westin and their Starwood Preferred Guest partners, nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvintjhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    371
    124
    32
    14
See reviews for
73
253
97
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig
Level Contributor
137 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here during a conference in June.
The hotel is a nice one. Very impressive hall, one of the tallest buildings in Leipzig.

Booking: Via their website. OK
Checkin: Very friendly, fast, easy. I got some hints for jogging courses

Rooms: A little bit disappointing, somehow worn out. It wasn't what I expected when I checked in.
Nice views around the city, quiet.

Location: Not in the inner circle of the city, but close to the main station and only a few minutes to walk into the center.

Check out: Fast, easy, all fine.

Spa and pool: Yes, they have a pool, but nothing special. I found me beamed back into the 80s...

Restaurant and bar: Nice bar at the entry level, also some nice food here. Breakfast: Perfect breakfast. You can't ask for more.

Overall: First impression is outstanding. Service is very good, the staff tries to make everything possible. Rooms are from the 80s.

Value: Expensive hotel. If you can get a special deal, then it is good to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at The Westin Leipzig on the 06st September 2013 for two nights. The check in was fast and efficent. The Room was clean and looked fresh - maybe a bit small for a 5 star - but the view from the room was just great. The Bar on the Top Floor was great too - nice cocktail selection- however a small snack menu was missing. We found a late night snack (Schnitzel mit bratkartoffeln) at the Lobby Bar - the Service was just great - very friendly and personal - it was a joy staying at the Bar.
The Service at The Westin was great at all levels.
The only thing I was missing in the room was a Coffee maschine or a Coffee station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Clearly to be recommended. Very nice and stylish rooms right in the center of Leipzig at a great price. I enjoyed my short stay. Service was very friendly and fast. Lufthansa had list my luggage and I got all extra amenities free of charge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mreckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for three days at the end of May, 2013. The Westin is conveniently located, clean and comfortable.There were many amenities in the hotel, such as various restaurants, a spa, etc. The view over the city was impressive.

However, there were problems for me. The walls of my room seemed to be quite thin, so that i was awakened at about 7:00 a.m. by my neighbors slamming around in their room. I could hear them in the evening, too.

There was no coffee-making set-up in the room and also no ironing board, as had been the case at the Hilton in Dresden.

The breakfast was very expensive--about $25, as i recall. I preferred to have breakfast elsewhere. I realize that business travelers probably have meals on expense accounts, but for the vacationing traveler, the cost of the breakfast was excessive.

The cost of the hotel was reasonable, as I had the pre-paid, non-refundable reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This big business hotel tower is just two blocks walk from the rail station so you'll save on a couple of taxi fares staying here. It's a big modern hotel with excellent views from the higher floors. Staff are wonderful. You can walk into the old city in 10-15 minutes to see all the sights and it's totally safe at any hour. Breakfast is expensive if you don't want to eat much so walk two blocks across the tram tracks to a local cafe instead. My only complaint is the swimming pool which costs extra. It look gorgeous in photos but the water is quite cold and the tiny dry saunas are very weird. Nobody goes there.

Room Tip: Business and conference people stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briancodex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear hotelguest "Briancodex",

we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and of course for having taken the time to share your experience with us. We regret that we could not meet your expectations regarding our spa area. Please be assured that I have taken up your point with the chief engineer. We hope to see you again and will do our very best to turn your stay into a thoroughly enjoyable experience for you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

First off, I agree with other reviewers: 1)book a non-smoking room.2)Rooms on higher floors (6th and above) are better, especially after dark.Leipzig centre is a big construction site, still scarred from GDR neglect and ugly brutalist architecture. Proximity to the Ring doesn't help with traffic noise, so go as high as you can.

The multi-lingual front-of-house staff are brisk and courteous, although when the concierge isn't available, it appears they're not well informed about local restaurants, cafés or museums.
I can find a Mövenpick café by myself, should I ever experience the urge to set foot in one, thank you very much.

The lobby is sleek and modern, with warm lighting.
I was happy to use the hotel pool in the evening for a good swim, I had the place all to myself for most of the time.

The rooms are comparatively small for a Westin hotel, but adequate for short business trips. The plush beds deliver, as usual.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeebean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 99 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
0.2 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#8 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterCityHotel Leipzig
InterCityHotel Leipzig
#13 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Property: The Westin Leipzig
Address: Gerberstr. 15, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Leipzig Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre only a short distance from the main train station and close to attractions such as the Leipzig Zoo with the outstanding "Gondwanaland" tropical African rainforest. An unparalleed fusion of local history and modern design in Leipzig. As soon as you enter our hotel the special atmosphere is palpable. The aesthetic and distinct elegance of our lobby is reflected in our 436 rooms and suites with magnificent panoramic views. Enjoy our undivided attention as we attend to your every need with excellent and courteous service. Take a culinary journey and experience the variety of our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing