We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Westin Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Leipzig
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is very central to the shopping area and close to the main railway station. If you're into food this hotel as some excellent restaurants included a Michelin star restaurant on the rooftop with a fantastic view of the city and one of the best Japanese restaurants in Germany.

Staff are very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for having taken a moment of your time! It is very nice to read your compliments about the service and the facilities of our hotel. I hope you will soon make another trip to Leipzig. We look forward to seeing you! Best regards from The Westin Leipzig Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Location is quite convenient with just a short walk to the historical center of Leipzig. Staff at the reception was friendly and helpful. Our (standard) room however had the charme of a hotel in Eastern Europe in the 60ties. We did not find it confortable. The bathroom was tiny and for eldery peope who just want to shower it is difficult to "climb" into the bathtub, the towels were not fluffy but rather hard.
The "so called" flat screen was a joke or...???.
Although the choice for breakfast was quite good, the breakfast room was huge probably meant for the "feeding of the fivethousand". As there was a conference the staff could not cope cleaning the tables, thus the whole place did not look very clean.
It was still value for money, although I don't think I would go again......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for providing a description of your experiences with us and with Tripadvisor.

First of all, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and regret very much the unfortunate impression gained during this stay. I may assure you we take your feedback very serious and as a chance to investigate and improve our services. We hope to look forward to seeing you again and will do our very best to turn your stay into a thoroughly enjoyable experience for you. With best regards from Leipzig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were welcomed by a friendly and efficient staff. The lobby bar was well stocked with food and drink. It is a short walk to the wonderfully restored city center. The breakfast was nicely present and replete with great food selections. Quick and nearby access to the Porsche Factory. We enjoyed our overnight stay.

Room Tip: It is a Westin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westmauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, A. Reichstein, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Dear Guest "westmauian".

Great that we could be your host – thank you for being here and thank you for your comments. It would be a pleasure to have you here one day again. Warm regards from Leipzig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very satisfied. In Europe it can be very hard to find rooms that accommodate a family, and so we picked 2 Deluxe rooms that had a connecting door, which worked perfectly for us. I thought the summer rate we got was really excellent for a Westin. The service was friendly and the rooms are in great shape. Though the Westin is a short walk from the train station, and about a 5-10 minute walk from the main center 'zentrum," there is very little active life right around the hotel itself. In fact, all the main buildings around seem to be old abandoned hotels or unused buildings. The area felt very safe, but it just meant that there were no little shops to get snacks/drinks, or restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The only nice hotel I saw which was smack dab in the historical center was the Steigenberger but this would be a much more expensive stay. We were very happy with our choice, overall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear ardenp,

thank you for your evaluation and hints for all. Thank you for staying with us, hopefully again in the future. Warm regards from The Westin Leipzig Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Westin in Leipzig. We had a very good deal on the room rate and we even got an upgrade to a superior room. These rooms are located in the upper floors with a great view over the Leipzig area. We didn't try out any of the restaurant - except for breakfast.

The room was very nice and everything was in order - however was more a four-star than a five-star standard to me. Don't get me wrong - everything was fine and perfectly ok for us, but...

The breakfast buffet was overwhelming re. choice. The breakfast room in itself is not very nice... biiig room, terrible carpet and not much daylight. But again - it did it for us for our two-night stay.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for city-travellers.... is located a 10 minutes walk from the pedestrian area.

Front-desk staff could use a bit of training re. knowledge of Leipzig and the sorroundings, but they were very friendly.

Room Tip: Top-floor = great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larsgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your comment!
It is always a great pleasure to be your host, and I am happy to see that you enjoy your visit with us.
But we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused on breakfast and on the reception. We will be happy to welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful Leipzig and we send warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I concur with my fellow reviewers: the Westin Leipzig has wonderful facilities. The rooms have a commanding view of town and are tastefully decorated. The breakfast buffet is simply fantastic, one of the best I've seen in Europe. Yet the service is uneven. Some of the employees appear to be poorly trained. Several of the front-desk employees were unfamiliar with Starwood benefits for frequent travelers. A routine request for late check out required a 10 minute conversation with two employees before it was granted. In other hotels, a request is not even necessary - the staff asks "would you be interested in a late checkout?" We had similar experiences at one of the restaurants, where waitstaff weren't familiar with the menu, and when dealing with housekeeping. It is unfortunate that such a lovely property suffers from poorly trained staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WarmWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and of course for having taken the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate it a lot, as it is the perfect chance to really listen to our guests needs and to constantly improve our service.

We deeply regret your disappointments concerning the reception service and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused. We already discussed the situation with the front office staff. We would be pleased to get a second chance. Warm regards from Leipzig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is near the train station but on the other side of the old town, so one had to cross a major 6-lane road to get to the historical area. The room is comfortable but the air was not working very well. The view from our room (1911) was wonderful, with views to the old town hall, the new town hall (in the distance one can see the nuclear plant, so if you're freaked out by this choose a room that faces the other side of town). The bathroom was small but perfectly nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinoraInVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#3 of 102 in Leipzig
3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 102 in Leipzig
583 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Address: Gerberstr. 15, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: $122 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Leipzig Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre only a short distance from the main train station and close to attractions such as the Leipzig Zoo with the outstanding "Gondwanaland" tropical African rainforest. An unparalleed fusion of local history and modern design in Leipzig. As soon as you enter our hotel the special atmosphere is palpable. The aesthetic and distinct elegance of our lobby is reflected in our 436 rooms and suites with magnificent panoramic views. Enjoy our undivided attention as we attend to your every need with excellent and courteous service. Take a culinary journey and experience the variety of our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing