We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chance to stay in a historic German building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
arcona LIVING BACH14
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great chance to stay in a historic German building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Fantastic hotel with a lot of old world charm - wooden floor boards, heavy doors, stone walls. Stayed in one of the beautifully furnished suites. Brandnew interior, super-clean, internet worked without any problems. Very tranquil. A loungy "living-room" near the lobby could be used for meetings any guest might plan.

Great chance to actually live in a historic German building. Great value for money.

Service was tremendously friendly: I got the room I had requested on the online booking form (check out their images online to pick the one you like best); concierge stored luggage for me between check-out and flight so I could enjoy Leipzig for a few more hours; breakfast waitress had arranged for another cup of cappuchino before I even asked for it.

There are cheaper breakfast options in town, but nothing really matches the view into the church courtyard at the Bach hotel.

Room Tip: check their website for the different rooms designs and pick the one you like best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luedenscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    60
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
72
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a great hotel that we would happily go back to. The central location is perfect, on a small picturesque square, minutes from everywhere in Leipzig (shopping street, restaurant street, main station etc etc). The staff could not have been more helpful and really made a difference to our stay. The restaurant has tables out in the square and is a great place to eat with an excellent selection of wine (and staff who know how to recommend a decent wine to suit your mood/tastes). Rooms pristine (ours looked over a garden and was very peaceful despite the central city location), bathroom spotless and nicely designed, and the kitchen corner (microwave, hotplates, fridge, plus china and cutlery) extremely practical. We travelled with a baby and toddler so the kitchen corner was great for heating up milk and making a basic dinner for our kids. The DVD player in the room was also good for the bedtime cartoon! The only downside we came across all weekend was the breakfast serving staff at the weekend who struggled when it seemed like the whole hotel had chosen to breakfast at the same time, the coffee took a long time to arrive, but this was minor when taken into consideration how great our stay was otherwise. The downstairs lounge area was most comfortable with a good selection of books about Leipzig and DVDs on Bach. This must be the only hotel where the photos of the rooms on their website do not do the rooms justice, we were agreeably surprised upon arrival. Highly recommend this little gem, it will make your stay in Leipzig memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our family stayed in this hotel for two nights. Although there was an initial error concerning our room, it was quickly resolved with a great deal of professionalism. The ambiance in the hotel was relaxed and peaceful, even though it was fully booked. Each room is decorated with a "tone" of Bach - ours was tastefully decorated with a Bach cantata on the wall. Additionally, our room overlooked the Thomaskirche, so if you want a great view - ask for one of those rooms. We also had a kitchenette in our room, which was ideal for traveling with an infant. The location can't be beat, as it is within easy walking distance (1-3 minutes) of restaurants, shops, bakeries and museums. The Hauptbahnhof is only about a 12 minute walk away (even when hauling suitcases). Whether you are on business, on a leisure trip as a couple or on a short family holiday, this hotel will provide you with more than just a cozy stay - it will make your trip to Leipzig special!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Thomaskirche give excellent views of the church, Bach's courtyard and some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotravelexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very warm hotel just in front of Thomaskirche and next the Bach museum, two minutes walk from Markplatz. Reception and hall are small but cosy. Rooms are definitely amazing, clean and newly furnished with wood and colours and expecially with Bach-inspired elements. Breakfast ist perfect, served in the wine restaurant. Wifi connection is fast and free. I didn't visit the spa but they have one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ale_sTRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

What a place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We arrived on the 24 of December to the building that opened as a hotel only a few weeks ago. From our window- Bach was looking at us. the big statue of Johan Sebastian BACH. We could not be late for the missa, as we were actually 25 minutes from the door...The Bach's tombs in here. The Cathedral is magnificent. The boys choir is fantastic.
The old city is on the door step. The ST. Nikolai church , besides being so beautiful, is the place where the NEW Germany was born, with the people demonstration calling for change..
Liepzig is such a treat. for people who like shopping- it is heaven having the most malls in germany.Architecture is so pretty. The houses from 17-19 centuries with magnificent fronts.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANIELLA107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
0.4 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 99 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
0.6 mi away
The Westin Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#8 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arcona LIVING BACH14? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arcona LIVING BACH14

Property: arcona LIVING BACH14
Address: Thomaskirchhof 13/14, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig > Zentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — arcona LIVING BACH14 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
arcona LIVING BACH14 - The living symphony. A new boarding house is coming into being in a prime Leipzig citycentre location the listed Thomaskirchhof building. The building complex consists of the Renaissance house, one of the oldest dwelling houses in the city, the front building, erected around 1900, with a view of St. Thomas Church and Bach Monument, and the newly constructed rear building on the garden side. There is scarcely an area in the city centre to rival that around the Church for touristic interest. Surrounded by historic buildings such as the Church, the Thomas House and the Bose House, which houses the Bach archive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your arcona LIVING BACH14 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing