We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good enough, but has all small German hotels limitations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berlin
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Veliky Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good enough, but has all small German hotels limitations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed in June'2013. Overall it was pleasant weather and relatively good part of Leipzig, surprisingly reminding some good aspects of 80s in USSR (which is difficult to explain).
Positives:
- Breakfast area and lobby is lovely and has its "small European courtyard" charm. Overall breakfast presence was an advantage, but breakfast is not "included" in price. Breakfast selection is surprisingly very good, just excellent for European hotels!
- Location is convenient and calm enough (i.e. nothing like central rail station); speed-train stop is just 5 mins walk and there is nice (but slightly expensive) Greek tavern in the same 3-5 mins from Hotel.
- Rooms interior was OK, while Bathroom was excellent (is this bigger than Double room itslef??).

Neutral:
Elevator is outdated and not so convenient, but it worked after all.
Staff is generally friendly, but not extra friendly; they made some mistaken with final bill, primarily because they were not diligent enough. However they helped to somehow workaround this mistaken by sending slightly more accurate document later via e-mail.

Negatives:
- Very small: Small corridors, VERY small rooms. Don't think that Double is for 2 persons, while Single is for single person. In fact Single is just for your pets, while Double is good enough for single traveler.
- As far as I remember they don't have air/conditioner anywhere in hotel. It's not very uncommon in Leipzig hotels, but June 2013 was very hot, so for some rooms it was terrible, for my room it was not good, but possible to survive if only spending night in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjunosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here for over a week in December while on a Business trip... This was a very nice hotel and quite reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and accommodating which always makes or breaks a stay in an hotel for me. The room was clean and adequate for basic needs. About 3 kilometers from city-centre but well connected..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRaghu_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff nice location tram line outside door ten min to city centre overall good hotel single room a little small but well equipped with good shower and comfy bed hotel prices good and not to expensive

Could do with tea and coffee making in the room

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dogslifeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although a bit loud the tram outside took 10 minutes to reach the center of town and a transportation day pass for 2 was very reasonable. The room was a decent size, bathroom and clean. Breakfast was filling and the staff was very courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband chose this hotel for me, it being the second choice after another hotel that had been recommended. He had had to attend the Universitaetsklinikum on Liebigstrasse and chose it on the basis that it wasn't too far away or too pricy (a big medical conference in the city had pushed hotel prices up that week). He found the reception staff pleasant to deal with in English. I travelled from Berlin by train and knew I wouldn't get to the hotel before 10pm, so had to phone up to confirm my room was still available. I risked speaking German (on the phone and on arrival) to the duty receptionist and it went well. I was a little surprised at the size of my room, which was smaller than I had expected and a little cramped. That said, there was adequate wardrobe space and the bathroom was a reasonable size. There was a modern flat-screen TV and a mini-bar, but no kettle or in-built safe. Apart from that, the room was clean and comfortable.
I liked the breakfast room and the different choices of food available: cereals, breads, eggs, sausage, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, jams, etc. The coffee was good and service was brisk. Each day there was a leaflet with information about the weather and guided tours in the area.
Two days after I arrived I collected my husband from the hospital. He was drained and weary after his experience there and needed his rest. Unfortunately, there was some sort of building or repair work going on in an adjoining building, so hammering and drilling noises kept him awake when he should have been napping during the day. Not the fault of the hotel.
Although the hotel is within reasonable walking distance of the Universitaetsklinikum if you're fit and healthy, it's in an out-of-the-way part of the city and you need to travel by tram to get to the city centre. You can get the Nr 4 on Riebeckstrasse itself or walk around the corner to Praegerstrasse to get the Nr 12. There are also buses in the area, but the busstops are a little too far for someone unsteady on their feet to walk to. This section of Riebeckstrasse is a little scruffy and there are not too many restaurants in the area. The nearest are an icecream parlour and a Lebanese (?) place directly opposite, and a Greek restaurant a little further away. Handy to the nearest bus and tram stop is a reasonable supermarket. A little further away on Praegerstrasse are an Indian restaurant which has the usual Indian dishes plus pizzas and noodles!
Check-out went smoothly and we were given a little teddybear as a souvenir. It took me a while to get the hang of opening the door with the electronic key - an unusual system involving holding the card up to a little knob, waiting for the lights to flash green and then twisting the knob. A small battering ram would have been easier!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the inner courtyard and was probably quieter than the rooms overlooking the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uranus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in August whilst exploring Saxony and thought that this was a very nice hotel and quite reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and accommodating which always makes or breaks a stay in an hotel for me. The room was clean and spartan and quite adequate for my needs. The breakfast, which is included in the price, is the usual buffet one expects on the continent, cold meats, sausage, smoked salmon, breads, cheeses etc and none the worse for it. The surrounding area is a little dour but it's only a quick 5 stop journey on the tram into Leipzig which has been beautifully renovated. I'll be 'Bach' (terrible pun intended) and would definately stay here again for a solo visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel was a little drive away from the town center, but there was also a tram just outside if needed. The value was excellent for a basic room. There is no a/c and it got a little warm so we left the windows open. Unfortunately, by doing this we heard every tram go by our room. There is a small charge for wifi. There is some free parking on the sidestreet. The staff was great and very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_WallaceKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
Zentrum-Südost
Days Inn Leipzig City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Art Leipzig
#18 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
McDreams Hotel Leipzig
#12 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlin

Property: Hotel Berlin
Address: Riebeckstr. 30, 04317, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing