We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic central hotel for exploring Leipzig”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is a new build on Augustusplatz, where the opera house and Gewandhaus concert hall are situated. The hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the Thomaskirche, the Nikolaikirche, the old market place, and the Mendelssohn-Haus in the other direction. The hotel is a 10-minute walk, or one tram stop, away from the central railway station.

The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. I booked a standard room, but I was given a spacious, stylish room on the 7th floor with a view over Augustusplatz. I don't know if this was an upgrade, or just an exceptionally high quality room. The Wifi worked well, once I had found the free Wifi option for hotel guests. I often choose Radission hotels for this, as in Germany, many shops and public places haven't yet caught on to free Wifi to share those holiday snaps and tweets, etc! I also like Radisson hotels for the safes in the rooms, which is good for keeping cash in, as it's still the preferred payment method in most shops and restaurants in Germany.

The breakfast was quite a bit extra on the normal room price, but it was varied, fresh and tasty. It saved venturing out early in the morning, although I noticed there were several cafés open nearby, even on the public holidays when I was staying in the city. As I was staying over Easter, they also had a few Easter chocolates and cakes laid out at breakfast time, which I thought was a nice touch.

The hotel was an excellent place to base a trip to Leipzig and it was a real bonus to be so near the main attractions and public transport links. I would recommend this hotel to friends and I hope to return again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank northernbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
it was a pleasure to read you comments and realy joyful. I forwarded it straight away to my collugues and such comments like yours specially makes it really worth to work for such a beautiful Hotel like the the Radisson.
So we are looking forward welcoming you again in Leipzig
with best regards
YvonneD
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed for four nights in January in an executive room. One of the best hotel rooms I've stayed in for comfort, style and amenities.

Buffet breakfast first rate, and staff charming and most helpful. Radisson hotels provide consistently high standards. Will continue to use them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPOC186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Many thanks for your splendid feedback.
Looking forward, welcoming you once more in Leipzig.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

we arrived and got a hotel parking (!), hotel was comfortable place to stay for a very cold weekend, my wife and me saw "Schwanensee" at the Gewandhaus next door to hotel, shopping was 50m away and completely extraordinary - a lot of discount - winter sale. We had dinner with friends at the hotel restaurant - it was delicious and fresh made, we found things for vegetarians, too, on the menu and the Lady in charge gave extra value by adding good mood and local flair. Recommendable. Room was on 5th floor, real NON-smoking, clean, spacious, noise proof, warm and cosy, we felt home. Staff was great and helpful. We used the Fitness area for some exercises - air could be a bit colder but it was ok for Cardio-Fitness. We come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear guest,
many thankd for your pleasant words about Leipzig and our hotel,
we are lookign forward, welcoming you once again to our hotel.
With best regards
YvonneD
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

stayed there in August13 for a conference and extended the stay with my family for the weekend.
great loaction, as it is just 1 minute to the (historic) city center with all sights and shopping attractions.
one of the best rooms i ever stayed in. large, modern atmosphere, excellent quality, good cleanliness, great view over the city center/old town. large glass walled shower.
very friendly and attentive staff.
breakfast with a great variety.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

many thanks for your feedbck, which we higly appriciate.
Looking forward, welcoming you again and which you
Seasonal Greetings
YvonneD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is the second time I did stay in this hotel.
The location is perfect near the old town.
They have a private parking area at the backside of the hotel.
The rooms are top quality with all modern comfort. The staff is very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romain_schepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear guest,
many thanks for your great feedback.
YvonneD
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

it is very conveniently located opposite the old town, i.e restaurants and attractions. Staff was very friendly. I booked a business class room, very disappointed to find out that it was not facing the plaza. When I approached the front desk, the staff was happy to find a room with a view of the plaza and exchanged for me. I slept with the curtain open to enjoy the beautiful view of the plaza. Great Italian restaurant right opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeLiNa141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear guest,
many thanks for the feedback, looking forward to welcome you again in Leipzig
Best regards
Yvonne Damoc
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting a family member.
The hotel is within walking distance of the railway station and the town centre.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly
The room was perfectly adequate, but no tea or coffee making facilities.
The shower was amazing but completely clear glass and right by the door so if someone knocks don't let your partner or room mate answer it!!
It could also be a little embarrassing if sharing with another family member or friend.
We were offered breakfast for €20 each, which we thought was very expensive, so declined and found this much cheaper in the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackanapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne D, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear guests,
many thanks for the information and feedback. Next time, please dont hesitate to contact us for a shower with no view privacy.
Looking forward, welcoming you next time in Leipzig
With best regards
Yvonne Damoc
FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 102 in Leipzig
3,745 reviews
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#8 of 102 in Leipzig
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Leipzig
#10 of 102 in Leipzig
984 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig

Address: Augustusplatz 5-6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#2 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Family Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: $111 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first-class Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig with its central location offers you an ideal starting point for private as well as professional stays. The 214 rooms with a size starting at 30m² are among the largest and most modern in the city. Of course, in addtion to full HD flat screen-TV, free highspeed-internet (8MBit/s per room including 5 accesses) is also among the amenities. Restaurant Spagos and the Spagos Lounge were designed to provide you at any time with a space where you can meet, communicate and relax. As a Certified Business, Green and Conference hotel in conformity with the German pharmaceutical code, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig offers ideal prerequisites for seminars, presentations and events. Eight inspiring conference rooms with capacities for hosting 10 to 220 people guarantee the 100% satisfaction, that you deserve.Please note that for the World Dog Show 2017 only one dog per room is allowed. A fee of 25€ per room and stay will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Leipzig
Leipzig Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing