We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location, but average hotel with bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
discovering cornwall
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good location, but average hotel with bad service”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located at a huge, modern square ("Augustusplatz") with heavy traffic and the charm of East Germany. But a few minutes walk took us into the old town. Most historical sights, many good restaurants and shops, as well as theatres are within walking distance.
The hotel rooms are friendly and functional.
The weakest point is the staff. The "welcome" we got at the reception was unbelievable! When we couldn't find the lift right away and went back to ask we were told "Open your eyes and look!". When we asked for a cart to transport our luggage the answer was "Go and find one". Whenever we asked for information on anything (e.g. theatres) we just got an icy look and an unfriendly, almost rude, "I don't know".

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Augustusplatz but overlooking the parking lot are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to see the feedback, as the described behaviour of the reception does not fit at all into our day to day "Yes I can" attidute, friendliness and helpful assistance.
Our appologies for that.
With best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    379
    64
    15
    12
See reviews for
85
303
72
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel location wise with the city centre, shopping and sights within walking distance. The rooms are well appointed, large with nice beds and quality bathroom with a decent shower. The lobby is nice and the service is good. Breakfast was of reasonable quality but quite pricey. This business hotel charges a premium for wi-fi - this is now longer acceptable in a hotel like this in my opinion.There was no swimming pool!

I would visit again if I had to but would explore alternatives beforehand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shouv76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneKieschnik, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your feedback. It's nice that you liked the hotel, although we don't have a pool. There we can offer our Partner Hotel The Westin Leipzig. They have a pool, sauna, fitness etc.
For the wifi - all guests have the option to choose the free wifi at the hotel - only the highspeed option for big downloads is at charge.

With best regards from Leipzig
Yvonne Kieschnik
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Staying at that place is like flying Easy Jet.
You need to pay for every extra:
Waterbottle (4,5 €)
Wifi (19 €/day)
Newspaper, Parking (19 €)
Breakfast (19 €)
poor hospitality (free!)
... you should better go to one of the little restaurants and get a huge breakfast for the same price.
Also, we were a group travelling - everybody booked the same room for the same price, but one was only half of the size, compared to the others. But that refers to the poor hospitality again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pherrmannRBL, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this review, December 28, 2015
Dear sir or madam,

thank you for your feedback! In Germany you have to pay for what you like to have. It's not all automatically included if you made a reservation for a room in our hotel.
If you book a Junior- or a Suite, there is Minibar, High Speed Internet, Newspaper and Breakfast included. All of your group members get an upgrade to a higher category, but one not.
We are sorry for the circumstances.

Best regards from Leipzig
Patrick Herrmann
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is situated in city centre, very near to the old town and a long shopping street, just across the street. It is just about 7 minutes walk from the main station or you can take a tram to Augustusplatz (just one stop). The room is quite big and the bed is really comfortable. I chose this hotel because it offered a better value than Westin and it is still a new hotel. The breakfast is rather expensive, 19 euro each, but it has variety of choices of food. The drawback of this hotel is that there's no in room and the shower area can see through, nothing covered the glass. Still, overall it is a great business style hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, and it is hard to point a finger at any shortcomings. The location is good for sightseeing since it is only about 200 yards away from the pedestrian streets of the old town and shopping. We made an early booking through hotels.com and we got very competitive rates for our stay. If you bring your own car you can stay in the hotel (outdoor) car park area for an expensive 18 Euro per night. Internet is not included, which it should be everywhere, since getting your e-mail is no longer a “nice to have” – it is a “need to have”, and hotels should not charge extortionate rates for this service. Our stay was really a 5 star experience, but the car park and the Internet charges unfortunately “cost “ 1 star.

We brought our mountain bikes, and we found that Leipzig is very suitable for a bit of exercise. To the south-west of the old town there are large areas with rivers, woods and lakes, and the whole area welcomes bike riders. There are designated bike paths both in the inner city and outside. If you don’t bring your own bike, you can easily rent one.

On Tuesdays and Fridays there are an open air food marked on the open square just across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgonzola_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The location is the strong point of this hotel. The view of Augustusplatz from the front window is breathtaking. It is also ideally located to walk into the old town or to catch a tram, since all the lines cross right in front of the hotel. The train station is 10 minutes walk away.
The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable, soundproof and with a quiet air conditioning, but the bathroom is nonexistent, being a niche of the bedroom itself, with only the toilet enjoying a minimum of privacy, whereas the shower cabin has transparent glazing. The room is well lit but which switch controls which light is really difficult to understand. Also, the magnetic key card was faulty and had to be replaced several times.
Overall, the inside of the hotel is rather “concept”, with cold, ultra-modern settings. It is impossible to find the bar, and also the restaurant does its best to pass unnoticed. The cold atmosphere is also reflected in the attitude of the staff who just do their job, but nothing more. The poor hospitality is reflected in many details: the lack of a courtesy computer in the lounge, but you can buy time vouchers (very expensive), nor in a WiFi connection in the rooms, though an Ethernet cable is available for your own laptop. Even the water on the table has a price tag (3€). Though the room price is reasonable, 19€ per person for the breakfast is definitely too much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your detailed comments to our hotel, which we take very serious. The bar at the moment is integrated in the restaurant, but does not look like one, due to the open style. This willl be changed, building plans for a real bar are already on the way. Same with the missing wifi, where the new Internet system is being installed at teh moment and should be in place by August this year.
Nevertheless, lookign forward welcoming you again to the great city of Leipzig.
With best regards
Yvonne KIeschnik
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here for 7 days June 2012 while on a business trip.

Wonderful location, easy access to city center and trams to get any where, the main train station is walking distance or a short tram ride away.

Breakfast is way over priced at 19 euros, plenty of other better places to eat cheaper nearby for those not on a corporate account or on a budget.

No spa or pool. Fitness center is small but clean and well equipped with treadmill and free weights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Leiter Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanky for your comment. It is nice to hear, that you liked your stay. We are looking forward, welcoming you back in our hotel.

With best regards
Yvonne Kieschnik
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#8 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
0.4 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
Address: Augustusplatz 5-6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Family Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lots of room for new perspectives! The first-class Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig with its central location offers you an ideal starting point for private as well as professional stays. The 214 rooms with a size starting at 30m² are among the largest and most modern in the city. Of course, in addtion to full HD flat screen-TV, free internet access (up to 512 Kb) is also among the amenities. We make the difference! Restaurant Spagos and the Spagos Lounge were designed to provide you at any time with a space where you can meet, communicate ans relax. Be inspired while enjoying cocktails and refreshing drinks in our bar & lounge. At Spagos you can experience 100% fresh, honest cuisine and enjoy excellent wines. Whether you would like to let loose with some power training or indulge in gentle cardio training, the in-house fintess center is exclusively available to our hotel guests free of charge 24 hours a day. The hotel surroundings also provide a wide variety of sports and recreational opportunities. We offer a diverse range of opportunities for your ideas! As a Certified Business, Green and Conference hotel in conformity with the German pharmaceutical code, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Leipzig offers ideal prerequisites for seminars, presentations and events. Eight inspiring conference rooms with capacities for hosting 10 to 220 people guarantee the 100% satisfaction, that you deserve. Complete air-conditioning, cutting-edge technology and experience of our event team are matter of course fundamentals for us - but expect more! You can completely darken all rooms for best contrasts and optimal concentration. The individual and personal support is a guarantee for the successful course of your event. Please note that for the World Dog Show 2017 only one dog per room is allowed. A fee of 25€ per room and stay will be charged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Leipzig
Leipzig Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing