We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location of the hotel is great, just across yhe road from the main train station. It is also just a short stroll to the old part of the city which is pretty quaint. There lots of bars and resturants close by. Facillities in the hotel are good and the front desk staff are very helpful and knowledgeable. If I were going back to Leipzig, I would deffinately consider this hotel again. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodhibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 586 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

It had been a few years since we were in Leipzig and the last time we visited, the Marriott was having modifications & a few of the hotel services were limited. Modifications are complete and a lot has changed - all for the better. The sports bar is now open, the Executive Lounge is superb, and a modern shopping Mall has been built across the street from the hotel. Situated only a couple blocks from the Bahnhof, this Marriott is in the perfect location for visiting Leipzig. We visited during the annual Christmas Market and we were only a five minute walk away. Loved the Executive lounge - very accommodating during all hours and the morning breakfast was excellent! Room was spacious and very comfortable. We plan to visit Leipzig again in the future and there is no doubt we will be staying at this Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldranger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights over a New Year's Eve holiday. The location of the hotel was brilliant and literally 5-7mins away from the main shopping and entertainment area of Leipzig town centre. We had room 745 which was on the top floor. I would recommend asking for a room on the top floor as these happen to have nice loft-style windows and also a view above the roofs of the nearby buildings. The room was very clean and of standard Marriott quality. The bed in particular was extremely comfortable with the mattress having an additional topper making sleep very easy for which we were grateful. Although the hotel was busy for the New Year holiday, we had a peaceful and quiet stay and not once were disturbed by other guests. The bathroom was very clean and hygienic and had a very powerful shower which was welcome after a day sightseeing and also in the morning to wake us up. The only enhancement to the bathroom could be a heated-mirror to prevent steaming up. Like most Marriotts wifi was not free of charge. Given that lots of hotels offer free wifi these days Marriott really should offer this as a free service or at least reduce their prices to reflect the reduced data tariffs now offered by mobile phone operators.

We had breakfast on one morning only (New Year's Day) and it was €18 each for a full buffet of hot and cold items. While this buffet was extensive (breads, cakes, pastries, cereals, fruit, eggs, bacon, tomatoes, omelette station) and of high quality, we found that a better value breakfast could be found in the many cafes near by the hotel. One can get a reasonable breakfast buffet for €9 on weekends and holidays (half the cost of the Marriott) at Cafe Stein on Markt for example; or Spizz also on Markt.

We did not use the hotel's spa or swimming pool so can't comment on those. We enjoyed Leipzig for our New Year's break. I can recommend the art and history museums (eg Museum der bildenden kunste; Museum runde ecke and the free Zeitgeschichtliches Forum as well. It's worth taking an afternoon or morning to visit the Volkerschlachtdenkmal for a walk around the grounds and up the tower. Travel to Leipzig from Leipzig-Halle Airport takes about 15 mins on the train and costs €6 each for single journey. I would recommend checking the timetable (at bahn.de) as when we arrived there was only one train an hour and two an hour when we departed which may cause problems if you have a tight schedule. To reach the hotel from Leipzig main train station it takes about 7mins to walk. Head out the station and across the main road that runs in front of the station. Bear right and you'll see a big wall with "Marriott" and and arrow painted on.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

hotel is located about 10min walk from the main railway station and next to a brand new shopping centre with supermarkets and tons of restaurants. leipzig itself is absolutely worth a visit with unexpected history and views. this marriott is rather small compared to others in germany. lobby has a bar with a few chairs and tables and appears very cozy. early check in at noon was no problem, staff was very kind and professional. we were a party of 3 and surprisingly they managed to offer us a room with 3 large identical beds. it looked like a 3bed room but obviously the 3rd bed was placed separately. very attentive, well noted and thanks a lot for the extra. room was facing a backyard and had no view whatsoever, no problem. a small indoor pool and sauna area can be reached via the lobby using a separate elevator. the executive lounge offerings are simply delicious and plentiful. ur-koestritzer and franziskaner bottled beers are available all day amongst coffee, tea and plenty of soft drink options. with 2 high quality hot food and many cold cut options starting at 5.30pm one can call it a dinner and most of the guests did. highlight was the cocktail cart with a good choice of spirits and liquors. along came white- and red wine. staff were very attentive, professional and managed to everyones satisfaction. same goes for breakfast: rich and plentyful. overall one of our best hotel stays ever with an unbeatable price/value. if we are in the area, we'd come for a stay at this hotel only.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We did not have our lodging here, as we were traveling in a tour group. But, as it was our US Thanksgiving, we prevailed upon our guide to find us a Thanksgiving dinner. She did find that the chef here could find turkeys, which apparently are not that common in the area, and prepared our Thanksgiving turkey dinner. A wonderful taste of home in a foreign land. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tommmnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I did not stay at the Marriott, however I was a repeat customer of their foyer bar and salon. The ambiance was very cozy (the German word gemütlich is more to the point!), the service was excellent, the hamburgers were great, their attention to the minuatae of details outstanding! And, in this day and age, prices were very reasonable.

I heartily recommend it to both hotel and non-hotel patrons.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paul_Hagouel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After spending a number of days in a local hotel--so was so comforting to have this little spot of America.
Very clean & the bed was heavenly after enduring more Spartan accomodations.
Paid with "points"--so no cost & great breakfast was included--
Will plan our next trip only if room is available there.
Very efficient English speaking staff.
Central station only steps away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaydbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F_Zimmermann, Leiter Front Office at Leipzig Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear valued customer,

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay at the Leipzig Marriott was a pleasant one, especially for you as a member of our Marriott Rewards Program.
We look forward to welcome you back here in Leipzig very soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Reinhardt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 102 in Leipzig
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Leipzig
#10 of 102 in Leipzig
984 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leipzig Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leipzig Marriott Hotel

Address: Am Hallischen Tor 1, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Marriott Hotel Leipzig)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#13 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: $105 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leipzig Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between one of Europe's biggest main stations and beautiful historic passages for delightful strolling and shopping, the Leipzig Marriott Hotel welcomes visitors from all nations. Enjoy your stay in the heart of the city at our hotel in Leipzig, Germany. Discover cultural highlights like the famous Gewandhaus or the ancient Saint Nicholas Church right at your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leipzig Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leipzig
Leipzig Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing