We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I love about Marriott Hotels-Same Quality as in the USA.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great Marriott hotel especially if you are a Gold or above Loyalty Customer. This location was great for a woman on her own using the DB trains to travel around in Germany.
You just go out the West Station Exit of the Leipzig/Promenade Train Station- which is one of the largest train stations in Europe- a little overwhelming when you arrive, cross the street and you are there. As a Marriott Gold Customer I was placed on the "Loyalty Floor- where there is a private lounge-key card accessed for a free breakfast, evening meal, frig stocked with beverages, wine/beer, high up overlooking the city. Internet terminal, large TV's- a nice perk for Marriott Customers. Internet was included as a Gold Customer- otherwise there would have been a charge for the internet. Unlike USA Marriott hotels where internet is always included- there is normally a charge here and no free WIFI even in the lobby, but not for Marriott Loyalty Customers. I was able to walk to all of the sites, ( Bach Museum, many caffee's/ restaurants, etc in the area) I had pre-purchased a Leipzig 2 day Card which included tram use but this was not necessary if staying at this location. A plate of fresh fruit and beverage were delivered to my room. Small refrigerator with daily water bottles, coffee/tea maker were in the room. Toiletries as well with plenty of plush towels were changed daily- not what I typically found in other German hotel chains. As an American traveling alone on a first time trip to Germany the dependability of Marriott Quality and Standards was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you are a Marriott Rewards or Loyalty Customer- This is the place to stay in Leipzig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JERSEYGROWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F_Zimmermann, Leiter Front Office at Leipzig Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel amenities and about the extra service we provide to Marriott Rewards customers and we are pleased that you experienced a great stay here in Leipzig. We look forward to welcome you back to Leipzig very soon.
Best regards
Frank Zimmermann
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 595 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is very nice, though the city is nothing interesting about, depressive and tray concrete. Marriott hotel is located a few steps from the central station and 2-5 minutes by walk from the downtown, where you can find "attractions" and some good restaurants and bars. The room was surprisingly spacious with amazing comfortable huge bed. We paid bargain price, around 60 eur per night, that is great value. The breakfast cost around 20 eur and was not included in the rate, but it was delicious with huge variety of cold and hot dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

There are only 2 reasons to stay in this hotel that I can think of:
1- If you're travelling by train, it's within easy walking distance of the train station;
2- It is close to most of what you will want to see in the old part of town.

Walk into this hotel, and you might as well be in Any City, USA. Maybe it's the devil you know rather than the devil you don't know. It is a standard-issue, cookie-cutter American chain hotel with no individuality or charm.

In 3 weeks of travelling through Germany, this was the ONLY hotel that did not offer free WiFi, shocking for a chain that caters to business clientele. In fact, the whole message of this hotel was: sell, sell, sell. Upon entering the room, the TV screen hawks pay-for DVDs and videos; the brochure that looks like it would explain the hotel's amenities in fact is a catalog hawking Marriott's bed linens for your purchase; the booklet that does explain the hotel's amenities does not give information about the breakfast room and hours but rather, how you can pay for room-service breakfast.

Once you have found it, the breakfast buffet offers everything you might expect including an omelet station. The coffee however will once again remind you that this is an American hotel. As an Austrian friend of mine described it, it is Bodensee Kaffee--you can see the bottom. And then there's the insipid background music! Do we really need music at breakfast?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zitabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely experience
Hotel staff lovely
Breakfast to your room
Leipzig is a great place to visit but you can see all the sites in 1 or 2 days

Only fault is no free wifi.
oh and the coldplay show was AWESOME

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauz020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel is located just a few yards from the main train station in Leipzig and also only a few walking minutes from the downtown area with a lot of shops and restaurants - therefore a great location, if you want to explore the city.
The hotel standard is typical Marriott... Very good service, excellent executive lounge food selection, nice sports bar on the ground floor.
Overall - definitely recommended, you can't go wrong with this hotel!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Theusdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Marriot - Leipzig and found the hotel and location very, very good. The desk staff was very helpful and helped us with many questions. The room was very nice and spotless. The location is great, walking distance to restaurants, lots of shopping and the zoo. We used the pool two times and it is very nice, clean and all around a great bonus for a family. (If you are offered the Faust Keller tour, skip it. The entire presentation is in German at the Keller and the food is not so good. Not the fault of the Marriot as it was free but a watch out if it is offered).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.
Pros:
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful (and spoke excellent English).
The location was about a 5 minute walk from the main train station, another 5 minute walk into the historic district of Leipzig, and a 15 minute walk to the zoo.
The room was large, spotless and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

Cons:
The price of breakfast (19 euro per person) was outrageous. We were offered a room rate that would bring the price down to 10 euro a person, but we were traveling with a single traveler and that still would have her pay 19 euro for breakfast. Just too much.
Despite the windows being closed, and the AC running we were woken up multiple times in the night by what I'm guessing were groups of drunks yelling and screaming.
WiFi was much too expensive, especially when so many hotels offer free internet services these days.

My recommendations for the hotel: Decrease the price of the breakfast and the wifi and offer white noise makers in the room and I would have no hesitation only staying at Marriotts from here on out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abt9904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 102 in Leipzig
3,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Leipzig
#11 of 102 in Leipzig
991 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leipzig Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leipzig Marriott Hotel

Address: Am Hallischen Tor 1, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Marriott Hotel Leipzig)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#13 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: $104 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leipzig Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between one of Europe's biggest main stations and beautiful historic passages for delightful strolling and shopping, the Leipzig Marriott Hotel welcomes visitors from all nations. Enjoy your stay in the heart of the city at our hotel in Leipzig, Germany. Discover cultural highlights like the famous Gewandhaus or the ancient Saint Nicholas Church right at your doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leipzig Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Leipzig
Leipzig Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing