We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Well....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Well....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok. It is in like the middle of an area that requires either a car or public transportation to the CITY. The rooms are clean, the beds are small. I would say if you can't get a REALLY good deal on this hotel, I would find somewhere in the middle of the city or near the city. But it's not a super bad hotel, it just sucks on location!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
23
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The food in the restaurant was extraordinarilly good and the hollandaise sauce with the asperagus was the best ever.The service was very friendly and competent.We had a most enjoyable evening with very good food and wine and the room is very good and comfortable.We'll be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel is 15 minute tram-ride away from the Leipzig Hauptbahnhof, from which is a short walk to the centre of town. When you book into the hotel, they provide you with a public transport voucher for your stay, which is very useful for travelling to and from the centre.

The hotel included wireless internet and had a flatscreen TV with lots of channels and mini-bar. The room I stayed in (315) was surprisingly spacious. It was clean, comfortable and quiet on a Friday night.

Breakfast is 14€, which I thought was a little bit pricey for my overnight stay, so I didn't try it.

All in all, a very pleasant and relaxing stay. I would come back if I ever return to Leipzig on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights as a couple in a very spacious room, a bit dated, but clean.
Free Internet, parking €9 per night.
Friendly staff, breakfast was overpriced. We had dinner one evening which was very nice, not cheap at €80 for two.
The hotel give you a free bus / tram pass, so there was no need to take the car into the centre, the tram station is just around the corner from the hotel, it takes ca 10 minutes into the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin-Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It has been a nice hotel, 1 1/2 years ago, now it is full of buses with old ladies, unfriendly stuff, noisy at night, the breakfast is overpriced, fitness room open 8am-8pm, Pillow of poor quality or have been treated, so my skin was itching and red

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Duitsland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice hotel not too far from the city centre in a quiet area. Tram and S-Bahn are near. The sauna is good for 4 people. The chef really knows what he is doing - great food! The staff was friendly enough to give us one of the conference rooms for playing games when the weather was bad and we didn't feel like going out. Nice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iKirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This hotel falls in the average category for me. it was a large room which was nice, but it felt dated and well worn. i did enjoy the bathtub and the fact that the windows open. There is no hotel bar per se, but 3 stools at a counter. it is quite far from downtown though a short walk from the tram. there appear to be plenty of hotels in downtown Leipzig and i wish we had been booked at one more centrally located as to experience more of the great little town. Staff was not so friendly and seemed to hide when you went to the front desk.

Room Tip: the rooms on the inner courtyard are quieter than the ones facing the street. some rooms have floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expresso19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berlin
Hotel Berlin
#25 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antikhotel am Volkerschlachtdenkmal
2.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Art Leipzig
Mercure Hotel Art Leipzig
#18 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lindner Hotel Leipzig
Lindner Hotel Leipzig
#17 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Leipzig
Suite Hotel Leipzig
#30 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe

Property: Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe
Address: Breslauer Str. 33, 04299, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star hotel is expecting you, central yet quiet, with 126 comfortable and very generously designed rooms, suites and maisonettes. For gourmets we recommend our hotels exquisite restaurant ¨Amaroso¨, with a garden terrace, and to finish off the evening make a visit to ¨Leo´s Bar¨. As an extra service our hotel offers free tickets for public transportation withing Leipzig. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Balance Hotel Leipzig-Alte Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing