We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guessed it would be good....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I guessed it would be good....”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

... .but I did not expect it to be this good! In an excellent location only 5 minutes walk from the Main Railway station this hotel is both stylish and classy . The staff are exceptional and everyone was so helpful and made us feel very welcome. If I find myself back in Leipzig I would head straight for this hotel . Any faults ? The mattress was too soft for my liking , but that is all I can think of .!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms fora quiet night. And don't forget to order Eggs Benedict for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryBOxfordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    100
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
179
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This Hotel is in a prime location within walking distance of all the historical parts of the city. The staff was super helpful and friendly. We received an upgrade on our room. It was fantastic. I would return any time. The only somewhat difficult part was finding the way to drive up to the hotel. We did not have a GPS, and the whole city seemed under construction with all the streets being one way the wrong way. We did manage to find the entry and decided not to use the car until we left Leipzig.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlinimuuseli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful luxury hotel - in an old and grand building. Very traditional approach, no design edge in sight except maybe the very nice hotel bar off the lobby. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Very much enjoyed my brief stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
235 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

After driving from Munich most of the afternoon, this was a great hotel and location. Our group could walk a short distance to several great restaurants. Room was spacious and comfortable. Provided a great location. Wished I could have stayed in Leipzig longer

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Will1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, General Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Will1989,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
We are very pleased to read that you had a most enjoyable stay at Hotel Fuerstenhof, Leipzig and enjoyed the spacious room and location of the hotel.

We are looking very forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Quite a large hotel. comfortable rooms, somewhat noisy though with windows open, due to the large volume of traffic on the ring-road.
A good 15 minute walk to the centre where the Rathaus is situated, or the Thomaskirke.
Breakfast very good also & restaurant excellent with an interesting selection of local wines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, General Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Hugo22,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Hotel Fuerstenhof, Leipzig and our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and send our best wishes from Leipzig!

Kind regards,
Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Restaurant offers wdegustation menus, and all dishes are available a la carte. The culinary style is a marvelously integrated approach of traditional ingredients and contemporary techniques; all presented beautifully. The wine list is a stunning collection, largely local, and the service is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Hotel looks good from the outset. Upon arrival, I had a good dinner in the Vinothek. Prompt and polite service by the barman. The lobby area of the hotel has its old world charm, but unfortunately this charm has been removed from the guest rooms, which are now quite business hotel generic. After strolling through Leipzig one day I returned to find that my room door was not locked. Open for everyone! I pointed this out to the reception staff and asked them to solve the problem while I had dinner. Upon return I was told the door lock worked and subsequently tested it myself. Unlocked as before! Quite annoyed this time I requested they do something about the situation and expressed a wish to talk to the hotel director. I was eventually given another room, a slightly bigger one. The problem however is that irrespective of room size the rooms are very run down. At least the two rooms I had were. Furniture is chipped and bleached, rust in the bathrooms, what seems to be mold in shower cabins, hooks hanging loose. What they lack in shower pressure they more than make up for in toilet pressure. Make sure to close the toilet lid securely before flushing, or otherwise your trousers will get a splash on the house. How ingenious! I decided to try their spa area; what better way to warm oneself after a chilly walk. Looked forward to the roman bath. Out of order! Wanted to order something from the pool bar, which according to its opening hours should be open. No one there! The elevator to the pool area was not working properly, necessitating a search for an alternative exit. I am not a person prone to complaining and hardly ever write reviews but this hotel deserves one, a negative one I am sorry to say. Sitting in my hotel room looking at the faded orchid next to me, its once beautiful flowers now crumpled on the table, I could only see the plant as a suitable symbol for this hotel. In case you wonder what happened to my requested talk to the hotel director, I am sad to say that I was never granted that privilege, despite a reminder.

Room Tip: The hotel market in Leipzig is competitive, keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrA135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear MrA135,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations and would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience you have experienced. Constructive feedback from our guests is always appreciated, as it helps our on-going efforts to improve our customer service. Therefore, comments like yours are taken very seriously and have already been shared with our department managers.

Nevertheless I would like to let you know that we already refurbished numerous rooms and will continue to do soft-renovations in all guest rooms. I would appreciate if you granted us another chance to make you feel comfortable and deliver the services recognized by other guests. Please do not hesitate to ask for a newly remodelled room for your next stay.

I truly understand your frustration and I am very disappointed to learn that there is an exceptional case like yours. However I hope that you will reconsider us for your next visit and we will make every possible effort to make your stay absolutely trouble-free.

Kind regards,
Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
0.2 mi away
The Westin Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#8 of 100 in Leipzig
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 100 in Leipzig
555 reviews
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
3,406 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Leipzig
INNSIDE Leipzig
#12 of 100 in Leipzig
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig

Property: Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
Address: Troendlinring 8, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#5 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fuerstenhof is known as a popular hotel in Leipzig city center for more than 125 years. Since then it hosted many famous people. It combines classic elegance with extraordinary hospitality and service. Our rooms and suites convince with individual design, luxury and fine materials. Restaurant Villers offers an outstanding culinary experience to discerning gourmets, while our Vinothek 1770 has a wide range of selected international wines for you. Furthermore, you can enjoy classical music and petit fours in our Piano Bar. We welcome our guests to leave the world behind you at AquaMarin spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerstenhof Hotel Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing