We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the lap of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In the lap of luxury”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a 3 night weekend break and did not want to leave.
The service was impeccable and showed lots of little 5-star touches, which amused us both. The hotel is excellently situated 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and as many restuarants as one could possibly want.
A huge shopping mall and multi-storey car park is being built opposite the hotel, but this did not bother us in any way. It seems to part of the odd way in which former East German cities are trying to play catch-up with their (former) "Western" counterparts.
The city is charming and there is planty to do for 3 or 4 days.
We walked until exhausted so I did not have the energy to sample the hotel pool. Make sure that you do!
Would definitely select for another stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the internal courtyard will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beemerboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    101
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
182
47
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Firstly ignore the person below criticising Leipzig...they can't have walked more than 50m from the hotel and have judged the city and hotel's location as such. Leipzig is a former East German city, but the city is very pleasant, and the hotel location is excellent.

This hotel and Leipzig itself appears to be very seasonal and based on business activity. I happened to visit Leipzig for one night during a quiet school holiday period, and as such got a room at a very low price for a hotel of this quality. To the point that when I arrived, before I got out of my car, I double checked my booking and how much I paid in case I made a mistake as it was very obvious this was a high-class hotel. I don't need to comment on the service or room, because I believe simply stating that it is 5-star is enough.

The downside of picking a nice hotel during a quiet time, is I had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel (Villers) and I was the sole diner, which was a little awkward. That said, dinner was amazing - nearly cost as much as the room charge, but was amazing and very generous with portions.

My only gripe, would be no free wifi, and the high cost of using it, and then when paying for and using it, it was seriously locked down (I connected via LAN cable, it blocked me sharing the connection over wifi - first hotel I seen do this). Probably fine for the business traveller charging to the corporate card, but for the private guest, even providing 30min free would be something I expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTony_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and had an excellent stay. The location of the hotel couldn't be better - it is a moment from the main train station and a short stroll into the city centre. Although my room didn't have much of a view, it was nice a quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was very professional and friendly and no request was too much. The reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because although the decor of the public areas; lobby, restaurant etc. is lovely, the room decor was really dated and needs modernising. That said, decor is obviously a question of personal taste and the hotel did get all the important bits such as service and sleep quality right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear UKonthego,

I read your review with great pleasure and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Fuerstenhof, Leipzig. Thank you for commending our staff in such a warm and friendly manner. I will gladly let them know that you appreciated their efforts. I would be delighted to see you soon again.

All the best,

Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

There is nothing wrong with the totally renovated Hotel Furstenhof - only with the neighburhood and Leipzig itself! Next to the hotel where it shows a tree on the picture, is an old town hall (?), a bulding which has not been touched since 1938 and is an absolute disgrace to this city! Leipzig itself looks - in May 2012 - like one big building site and as if East Germany would have collapsed only a few months ago. Compared to, say, Dresden, this is an awful place and unless one really needs to stay there overnight, one better keeps moving - or at least for the next ten years till they have caught up to the 21st Century. It's absolute madness that they rip up so many roads at the same time, making walking towards the old town an impossiblitiy.

Room Tip: probably the best in a lousy town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was my first trip to Leipzig. I found this conveniently situated just a short walk from the train station and another across the street to access the city center. My room was spacious, quiet and I slept great even though I usually have trouble with some hotel mattresses. The staff was very attentive and when I asked for an ironing board they brought one up within 5 minutes even though they seemed quite busy. Again, when I had to check out to catch a 4 am train, they brought over some tea and coffee for my friends even though the restaurant was closed. I will stay here again if I am in Leipzig and I would certainly recommend the Fuerstenhof to others wishing to visit this beautiful city.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor in room 221 which was very quiet and off the main street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Ron,

I am delighted to read your review, thank you very much! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our services. I hope that you got back home safely and that we welcoming you back again at Hotel Fuerstenhof, Leipzig.

Best regards,

Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

It is a short stroll along an ugly and noisy street from the central station to the hotel. Check-in is quick and easy. We had room # 222 facing a quiet side street. Three steps down divide the hallway and the bathroom from the cosy living-room. The large bathroom has a tub and a separate shower (it helps being an engineer to understand the fittings). Breakfast is good and plentiful, but a hotel of this class should serve Eggs Benedict on an english muffin and not on a slice of white bread. Apart from the two expensive Michelin starred restaurants it is difficult to find a decent restaurant in Leipzig. We had dinner at the restaurant Villers and we enjoyed every bite of our a la carte menue. The service is first rate, not only in the restaurant. We would stay there again.
If you visit Leipzig on a weekend you can attend a mottete -words in music from Johann Sebastian Bach- at the Thomas church every Friday 6 pm or Saturday 3pm for 2 Euro! Queue up at least 45 min in advance to get a seat. Very interesting are the Zeitgeschichtliches Forum and the Museum in der runden Ecke (round corner) in the former headquarter of the secret police and it is for free.
The museum of fine arts is another highlight if you if you are interested in German art and sculpture in particular. The ticket is valid for the whole day, so you can leave for lunch and return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Москва, Россия
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Aristocratic chic and luxury in a small wonderful hotel. Our balcony was out to the patio and the old church, separating one of the walls of our hotel. Here everything is full of soul.. the hallway, elevator, restaurant, lobby, etc.
Constant compliments from the staff in the form of a wonderful German chocolate - Mmmmm, it was so nice!
Bathroom is about 7 square meters, so it was a complete relaxation for us. The furniture is made of great materials and high quality wood, in the room we always found perfect purity, fruit in the room was fresh and served with a soul. The Spa complex is small but sufficient for such a cozy hotel, in the spa area there is a bar. Swimming pool is small, but you can properly relax in the hammam or regular saunas.
I could write millions of words of admiration, which deserves the hotel. But I just sincerely recommend you to stay in this hotel at least a couple of nights ... you will understand everything! This is the soulful story at the heart of a serious Leipzig.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia_mc_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Fuerstenhof, Manager at Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Julia,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed every part of your stay with us! That is exactly what we as a team aim for and we would like to thank you for your fantastic review!

It would be fantastic to welcoming you back again at Hotel Fuerstenhof and remain with best regards from Leipzig!

Jörg Müller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
The Westin Leipzig
#9 of 100 in Leipzig
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 100 in Leipzig
562 reviews
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
3,428 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig

Property: Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
Address: Troendlinring 8, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#5 Business Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fuerstenhof is known as a popular hotel in Leipzig city center for more than 125 years. Since then it hosted many famous people. It combines classic elegance with extraordinary hospitality and service. Our rooms and suites convince with individual design, luxury and fine materials. Restaurant Villers offers an outstanding culinary experience to discerning gourmets, while our Vinothek 1770 has a wide range of selected international wines for you. Furthermore, you can enjoy classical music and petit fours in our Piano Bar. We welcome our guests to leave the world behind you at AquaMarin spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerstenhof Hotel Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing