We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,794)
Filter reviews
2,799 results
Traveler rating
2,044
582
119
33
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,044
582
119
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow menu great hotel perfect location nespresso machine five star hotel historic building old town hall internet speed elegant hotel deluxe room auerbachs keller christmas market high ceilings rooms are spacious bars and restaurants wonderful breakfast stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 2,799 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Fine hotel in an historic building with excellent service. Rooms are both clean and spacious. Perfectly situated for a visit to the centre of Leipzig. All the places of interest are within walking distance.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rmazie_591228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Extremely comfortable bed, a decent sized room and the level of service you'd expect in a 5 star hotel. The location of the hotel was perfect - the central area of historical Leipzig is right outside the front door. I recommend the cocktail bar!

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank NBW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016

This hotel is situated in the hart of the historical center. If you want to go out for dinner and or a drink or shopping it is in (short) walking distance from the hotel. The room we had was very comfortable. It has all the extra's you may expect from a Steigenberger Hotel. The hotel has valet parking at EUR 25 per day. Personnel at the reception was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marion0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

This was our first trip to Leipzig , after finding the hotel on the net. The staff is one of the best we've encountered in our many travels. The concierge arranged for a train station drop-off for our rental car which was much closer than planned. A bellman drove the car, set up parking and key return, obtained our train tickets and walked back with me. The main restaurant was closed for 4 weeks (too bad) but the lounge was fine for breakfast. Room #388 was perfect, and the shower was #1 in our book. We had great assistance in finding alternate restaurants and museums. We will be back to the city and this hotel again....don't miss it!!

Room tip: Just express your preferences and they will work with you on choices.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Doug

We are very happy to read that you had such an excellent stay with us. Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our staff members - this is very motivation for everybody.

I have made a note in your guest profile, that you liked room 388 so much.

We hope to welcome you back very soon so you can try as well our Brasserie Le Grand. In the meantime, we wish you all the best.

Greetings from Leipzig,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Steigenberger is within a 10 minute walk of the major sites of Leipzig. The staff is friendly, well-informed, and professional. My room looked directly on to the old Borse and Rathaus and was completely quiet, comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom well stocked and large room. The parking for my car worked well and with 30 minute notice to the valet you can park safely and conveniently through the hotel at a cost of 25E for a 24 hour day. (You can self park more cheaply at an undergound lot within a 5 minute walk, but they charge 14EU for a 24 hour per day rate starting at 12AM each day.) They gave me a free upgrade and a wonderful Leipziger Larche desert. Great service and true 5 star experience. The only issue was the internet - you have a slow free or a high speed expensive option. The free option repainted the screens every 30 seconds and is completely useless. This is not the standard that is available even at 1 star hotels anywhere in the EU and not in keeping with the Steigenberger brand/image. The service of the personnel and the value of the hotel I rate a 5, but my frustration with the internet which I consider vital, free base service caused the lower rating of service and value scores. (Today charging for diferent internet speeds is the equivalent offering free cold water showers and charging extra for hot water showers. All hotels above 1 star should understand the important of perfect internet service.)

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 746frederickwilliamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja Z, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear 746frederickwilliamb

We would like to say thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at the Handelshof. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your upgrade and your room with the view to the Handelsbörse in general.

Please accept my aplogies for the inconvenience with regards to the internet. Also our Highspeed Internet Option is free of charge for all our guests. There is a information flyer on the desk in each room and normally our front office team informs everybody on check-in. Due to technical reasons it is shown differently in the system itself, but we don´t make any differences with regards to the speed of the internet.

We hope to welcome you back at some point in the not too distant future and wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,



Anja Zech-Bohm
Personal Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews