We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very warm and friendly welcome from check-in staff, asking me about my journey/trip - one of the hallmarks of a genuine 5 star hotel.
The hotel decor is modern, contemporary and elegant.
My room was very spacious and sophisticated, the furnishings were top quality, everything in the room has been designed and finished to the highest standards.
The huge walk-in closet and the curved sofa, with table, by the window were fantastic features.
Bed very comfortable, pillow menu available, superb sleep quality.
Tea/coffee and complementary water in room was great.
Ordered room service which was delivered at the estimated time and was of excellent quality.
Free-WiFi worked perfectly throughout the stay.
Hotel is walk-able from the main train station even with luggage.
This is the best hotel I've ever stayed in, everything was perfect, if you are staying in Leipzig it is well worth paying a bit extra to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyG572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very stylish and comfortable hotel in the centre of Leipzig. Close to shops and eating places. We had a large air-conditioned room with a bath and separate shower. There was also tea-making facilities and a coffee machine and wi fi reception was excellent. Very reasonably priced. A slight caution if you arrive by train - it is too far to walk if you have much luggage but so close that our taxi driver was clearly peeved to take us the relatively short distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had big expectations when we arrived to this hotel. They have a valet parking (for 25 euros) which was efficient and courteous. So, our car was parked for us.

Our reservation was for two rooms and one of them was for handicapped people. We would have expected rooms next to each other (not connecting rooms) or close to each other but no. They located on the same floor but were too distant. The hallways are 100 meters long and the room for handicapped located far away from the elevator. Room allocation was a big minus. Anyway, the the front desk was efficient and we felt welcome.

We had standard rooms. One of the rooms was not 'ready' because we had to ask for soap and there were no welcoming amenities. And they never arrived. The room for handicapped was really big and the other large enough. Both courtyard rooms with depressing view and lack of natural light. Rooms are elegant, air con is silent but the control panel in the other room was located in a weird place, in a corner behind the night lamp. Bathrooms are stylish. The huge bed is truly comfortable. Rooms are ultra clean in every way.

This hotel served one of the best breakfasts ever. Everything is fresh, selection amazing with local specialities. Yummy! And service is great.

This hotel is truly Grand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This chain of grand hotels always seems to get it right and in a typical efficient German style. Brilliantly located near to the Auerbachs Keller and the smart shopping streets. If you arrive by car at night call the hotel and get them to guide you in. Very thoughtful valet parking then takes over. Good bar and pretty good breakfast served. But I would in future be inclined to take breakfast outside the hotel and there is plenty of choice in the galleria nearby. The bedrooms and bathrooms are excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIckeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved everything about the Hotel, location, friendly and elegant staff, the rooms which are spacious and with all gadgets a moderen 5 star Hotel needs. We could have a la carte breakfast with low fat products, white egg omelet exactely prepared to your liking. The only downside was the access to the Hotel, which was partly blocked over the weekend. However the friendly staff always helped out and they have valet parking. Will go back during our next Leipzig visit and can reccommand the Hotel for leisure, private functions as well as for business purpose.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Centrally located for easy walk to all attractions. GPS will fool you near hotel as central plaza is blocked off. Staff very friendly and helpful. Décor is great. Rooms very luxurious with great beds. View from rooms rather bland kitschy old East German. Great value

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights. The hotel was just lovely. The location is superb, right on the square in the old town; the rooms were comfortable, well furnished and of a decent size; the staff were professional and polite; the restaurant dinners were lovely and the semiller knew his local wines which complemented the food nicely.

Overall, a welcoming hotel in a beautiful city. My recommendation if you ever find your way to Leipzig!

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the hotel away from the loud church bells so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 102 in Leipzig
3,857 reviews
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#11 of 102 in Leipzig
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Leipzig
#12 of 102 in Leipzig
999 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range: $135 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing