We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleased we picked this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Canberra
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very pleased we picked this hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very stylish and comfortable hotel in the centre of Leipzig. Close to shops and eating places. We had a large air-conditioned room with a bath and separate shower. There was also tea-making facilities and a coffee machine and wi fi reception was excellent. Very reasonably priced. A slight caution if you arrive by train - it is too far to walk if you have much luggage but so close that our taxi driver was clearly peeved to take us the relatively short distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    396
    76
    24
    12
See reviews for
241
822
103
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had big expectations when we arrived to this hotel. They have a valet parking (for 25 euros) which was efficient and courteous. So, our car was parked for us.

Our reservation was for two rooms and one of them was for handicapped people. We would have expected rooms next to each other (not connecting rooms) or close to each other but no. They located on the same floor but were too distant. The hallways are 100 meters long and the room for handicapped located far away from the elevator. Room allocation was a big minus. Anyway, the the front desk was efficient and we felt welcome.

We had standard rooms. One of the rooms was not 'ready' because we had to ask for soap and there were no welcoming amenities. And they never arrived. The room for handicapped was really big and the other large enough. Both courtyard rooms with depressing view and lack of natural light. Rooms are elegant, air con is silent but the control panel in the other room was located in a weird place, in a corner behind the night lamp. Bathrooms are stylish. The huge bed is truly comfortable. Rooms are ultra clean in every way.

This hotel served one of the best breakfasts ever. Everything is fresh, selection amazing with local specialities. Yummy! And service is great.

This hotel is truly Grand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This chain of grand hotels always seems to get it right and in a typical efficient German style. Brilliantly located near to the Auerbachs Keller and the smart shopping streets. If you arrive by car at night call the hotel and get them to guide you in. Very thoughtful valet parking then takes over. Good bar and pretty good breakfast served. But I would in future be inclined to take breakfast outside the hotel and there is plenty of choice in the galleria nearby. The bedrooms and bathrooms are excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIckeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved everything about the Hotel, location, friendly and elegant staff, the rooms which are spacious and with all gadgets a moderen 5 star Hotel needs. We could have a la carte breakfast with low fat products, white egg omelet exactely prepared to your liking. The only downside was the access to the Hotel, which was partly blocked over the weekend. However the friendly staff always helped out and they have valet parking. Will go back during our next Leipzig visit and can reccommand the Hotel for leisure, private functions as well as for business purpose.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Centrally located for easy walk to all attractions. GPS will fool you near hotel as central plaza is blocked off. Staff very friendly and helpful. Décor is great. Rooms very luxurious with great beds. View from rooms rather bland kitschy old East German. Great value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beentheretooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights. The hotel was just lovely. The location is superb, right on the square in the old town; the rooms were comfortable, well furnished and of a decent size; the staff were professional and polite; the restaurant dinners were lovely and the semiller knew his local wines which complemented the food nicely.

Overall, a welcoming hotel in a beautiful city. My recommendation if you ever find your way to Leipzig!

Room Tip: Our room was on the side of the hotel away from the loud church bells so much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A great hotel right in the heart of a beautiful, picturesque city. We liked everything about this hotel: the room, the breakfast, the service and the location. All in all a great place to stay in Leipzig

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#8 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterCityHotel Leipzig
InterCityHotel Leipzig
#14 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Property: Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing