We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only stayed one night and did not have breakfast so cannot comment there, but certainly the cleanliness and service at this hotel were first rate. Beautiful rooms which offered a delightful night's sleep. Shower extremely powerful and towels luxurious. Internet access difficult, spotty and slow which I would not expect from such a high class hotel.

Doorman was a little pushy with my husband when I was checking in. Insisted on taking all luggage immediately from the car which was temporarily standing in front of hotel. Initially I didn't think so much about this, but after giving it more consideration my feeling was that an Audi A4 was not a suitable car to have outside the entrance to this particular hotel too long. All other vehicles appeared to be Mercedes and Porsche.

Valet parking a bit steep at 25 Euro for the night, but didn't have any other choice.

Location perfect and would definitely stay there again if I were able to get a "pre-book" deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wright-Brighton-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 Nights.
The room was big, with a lage bathroom. Big bathtub and very nice shower.
Comfy bed.
The hotel was in the city senter, right next to the Marked. Near the sentral trainstation, and very close to the trams.
Only problem was that a lot of the information in the room was in german only, and as someone that don't speak/read german, I couldn't read it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

One of my favourite hotels, only stayed here once for a 3 day break but the hotel really made it special, the room was very modern and up to date, very very spacious with all mod cons. The mini bar was replenished on a daily basis of which we were not charged for all we consumed. The beds were so comfortable you don't want to get out of bed. Also the service was flawless and the location is as central as you can get.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Some hotels just make you feel happy. The Steigenberger in Leipzig is like that. A feel-good hotel in which everything is just spot on. The rooms, the service, the whole atmosphere.

It's a fairly new hotel in a classical building that I know was unused for years. They renovated and turned it into the Steigenberger only a few years ago and did a great job. The location is perfect for exploring the city, although I can imagine not leaving this hotel for days, with everything about it being so good.

Other reviewers have already sung praise on the different aspects of the hotel, so I won't repeat that and only say I agree with every positive comment here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brun_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently completed a trip through Central Europe and Saxony and was lucky to stay in a number of lovely, well-reviewed hotels. I have to say this was the hotel of the trip. I had such a wonderful time that I may have to find an excuse to return to Leipzig sooner than I expected. Finding hotels like is such a wonderful part of travel.

I stayed for three days midweek in June in one of the hotel's standard rooms but it certainly never felt like a standard room. Before I arrived I corresponded with the concierge staff to arrange a transfer from the train station, which was handled quickly and professionally. I arrived to be greeted three separate times by a bellman, doorman, and parking valet. Even though I arrived early my room was ready and waiting. I had a corner room with a lovely view over the square as well as a side window allowing me to see some lovely architectural features of the building. The room featured a full work desk with standard business accessories, a comfortable sitting area with two oversized chairs and a table, a king bed and a exceptionally spacious bathroom with large soaking tub with separate oversized shower cabin and double vanity. The bathroom was nearly as large as bedroom and that was perfectly fine with me. The soaking tub was enormous with lovely tile work and design features as well as glorious heated floors throughout the bathroom.

Despite an aggressive almost psychedelic design, nothing felt out of place and I was struck how functional and comfortable everything was. The work chair was properly designed to fit with the desk, the lounge chairs were comfortable. The bed was one of the most luxurious in which I have ever slept, the heated tile floor comfortable even in the summer. Internet signal, water pressure, and air conditioning were uniformly strong.

Room service was above average in terms of quality and even value for money. I had an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant on the final evening of my stay.

I stayed through American Airlines vacations so I don't know the negotiated rate but given the quality and service I received at this hotel, I would be willing to reach deep into my pockets in order to come back and I think the hotel certainly justifies its high prices. It was quite simply a wonderful experience, which outshines some better known hotels in Germany.

Now, all I have to figure out is how to schedule more time in Leipzig. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twainandwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very accommodating, the children received a little stuffy rhino upon check in which they loved, the breakfast was great, the room was very spacious and very modern and clean, all in all a true 5 star hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank famillytraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel deserves its top rating as it is outstanding on every level.
Top location for walking around this easy to get about city.
Rooms are luxurious...
Breakfast was outstanding.

Staff were excellent

The only place to stay in Leipzig

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 103 in Leipzig
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#11 of 103 in Leipzig
607 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#12 of 103 in Leipzig
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range: $142 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing