We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience was near perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Leipzig
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Experience was near perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel was just perfect, and I spent a great (business) week-end there.

The room felt brand new and was lovely. It was spacious, with a large twin bed, a confortable and functional desk, plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space. The bathroom was large, with one bathtube and a separate shower (it is difficult not to spill water from the shower to the main bathroom. Design problem here). WC were in a separate room. The room possessed a well-endowed mini-bar and a kettle with a large choice of tea and herb-teas. The only missing item in the room was an ironing board. Most hotels of this class have one. It turns out I needed one this time. Each day, the weather forecast of the next day was provided, together with a gift. The first day I got a chocolate, the second an apple. This is representative of the service, which was always fantastic.

The SPA was great. Distributed over two levels, relaxation on top and activities underneath, it was one of the visualy nicest I experienced. One can relax in a separate room, or in the main area, with a little music. Classical beds are available, as well as large beanbags (those are fantastic, test them). Two saunas are provided, 90 and 60 deg, and a steam bath. The latter is in plastic and not ceramic, does not have colour or music features that improve the experience in some. Several different showers are to be chosen from, as well as feet-bath. I missed a cold bath, that I consider a mandatory feature. Also the tap was broken, and we could not get water. I therefore hydrated eating ice from the ice fountain (I later discovered that one can get drinks from the lobby of the wellnes area).

The breakfast is varied, covering British, French and German style. In addition to the classical fruit juices, there was a "fruit cocktail of the day". Nice touch. The bar of the hotel is well endowed, and well tendered. The cocktail man in particular is impressive. A reasonable choice of scoth is available, not just the usual "Guiness 6". They are served with delicious homemade thin sheets of chocolate.

Finally, the internet access was fast and steady.

Next time I go to Leipzig, I will not even bother to think where to stay. I cannot imagine another hotel beating the Steigenberger.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    377
    71
    24
    12
See reviews for
234
791
96
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel in Leipzig invited by a company - so I didn't choose it. I must say that it was a great experience. The bar-restaurant was really nice, the building in impressive (I understand it is the old market house), the rooms are huge and comfortable. Decoration was also very nice, something i did not expect there. The service was also very good and very friendly. It is located in the pedestrian area of Leipzig and really central.

One tip: if you need a taxi, ask them well ahead of time as apparently they have a tendency to arrive late (if at all, i have been told).

Room Tip: One tip: if you need a taxi, ask them well ahead of time as apparently they have a tendency to arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The previous reviewer clearly had a bad experience but we had a wonderful stay. Hotel is right on the main square - Leipzig is pretty small anyway but you could not ask for a better location with loads of cafes, bars, restaurants and shops to walk to.
The room was really lovely with a big bathroom and a nespresso machine. When we made the coffee and realised there was no milk my husband rang down for some. The phone was answered straight away, they asked whether we wanted hot or cold milk and a little teapot arrived within a couple of minutes! Funky bar and a restaurant although we didn't eat there. The best thing was we went for the weekend and my birthday was the Friday night but we didn't arrive until after 10pm. The receptionist took us into the bar and gave us a couple of glasses of free prosecco and when we got to the room there was a little chocolate cake - beautifully decorated - it was delicious. This is truly a five star hotel with excellent service and facilities to match - we wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the main square and some the courtyard - ours overlooked the courtyard so was bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived at this hotel during some alcohol soaked street festival that made it almost impossible to drive up to the front door. When we called the hotel to ask how to reach them across the square when there were at least a few thousand people in the way, we were told to lean on the horn and push our way through-- and then the guy from the hotel on the line hung up! It took us nearly a half hour to make it to the front door after being glared at, cursed at and yelled at by a few hundred irate mostly drunk Germans.

Instead of a kind reception by the hotel staff, we were met by no one. We finally got the attention of the valet and were told it would cost 25 euros to park the car. Welcome!

The room was not so clean, and the window sill was encrusted with bird excrement. The fixture over the tub was covered in dust and the duvet was torn. When we inquired if breakfast was included in our room rate, the snotty receptionist informed us that since we booked the room through a third party (hotels.com) we were not entitled to breakfast for such a "cheap rate."

Upon our arrival, we wanted to go immediately to see the Thomas Church where Bach played the organ. We asked at the reception if the church would be open and the answer was yes. When we arrived at the church 10 minutes later, we discovered it had been closed for over an hour. Not too impressive for a five star hotel- the church is a major attraction in the city- you'd think they'd know the hours or at least say they don't know.

We ordered room service and it arrived cold under a plastic dome and without the french fries that were supposed to be included. We called down, and ten minutes later a girl arrived with literally ten cold fries on a saucer- nothing covering them at all. Not hygienic, really. The food was inedible.

Upon check out, I told the young woman at reception that we did not think we should pay for the parking, given the festival and the lack of alternatives, not to mention the rude reception we got when we arrived. Her answer: "you use the parking, you pay for the parking!" Nice attitude toward a paying customer. At this point I asked to see the manager. I told him about the man who hung up on us and offered no assistance getting us across the sea of drunk people in the square. I showed him pictures of the bird poop, torn duvet cover and told him about the room service. He comped the parking, and took my name, address and email and promised to get back to me. It has been three weeks and I haven't heard a word.

This was one of the worst hotel stays ever. I would avoid the place like the plague. The staff is rude and Leipzig itself is a maze of ugliness and construction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Trepidation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Perfectly located in Leipzig’s City Center, it felt like we were at the epicenter of it all. The Hotel is gorgeous! We were pleasantly surprised by the eclectic yet comfortable décor, splendid and spacious bathrooms; it felt like home. Everything was immaculate as you can imagine. The bar / restaurant has a fire pit that invites you in to have a drink and warm up.The staff was very courteous, helpful and very accommodating as they offered to stow away our luggage for two days while we journeyed north to Berlin. That’s right. We made sure we returned back and it only got better, it that were possible. I want to thank you all and congratulate you on a great property and the pride you all take working there; it shows. Hope to see you soon in the near future. We really enjoyed staying in Leipzig and were captivated by its architecture and greenery that scatters throughout the city.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room that faces the old City Hall (16th Century) adjacent to the Hotel's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepecrusader70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
326 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a historic building in the center of the old part of the city with a friendly staff. Our rom was very large, clean, and quiet. It had a large desk with a comfortable chair (NOT typical is so many hotels).  The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very large with a soaking tub, vanity area with stool, separate toilet, and walk-in shower. The toiletries were nice and there was a hair dryer and magnified mirror. In the bedroom, there was a safe, kettle for hot water, coffee maker, robe, and slippers. 

Breakfast was not included but a continental breakfast was available for 8 EUR. There were also coffee, tea, and pastries available to buy in the lobby bar. 
  
Two negatives: the free wifi was terrible. They told my husband they were having router problems. They don't have a business center but they let him use their computer to check email. The other problem is the shower which is large and bright but it leaks water all over the bathroom floor because the shower floor and the bathroom floor are the same height. 

Go to the Tourist Info center to get a map to follow the silver swishes in the sidewalk. Each point of interest has a blue sign with info in both German and English. 

Also, there are cafes close that serve breakfast for about 6 EUR 

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I was in Leipzig for 3 days and my family and I stayed at Steigenberger hotel. Hotel has very kind staff with big smiles, rooms were very clean , breakfast was perfect. Location was also very good, very close to the main train station and in the heart of the historic city. Also good choice for the Bach Festival because the hotel is very close to churchs and Gewandhaus. I strongly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
0.5 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 99 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#8 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterCityHotel Leipzig
InterCityHotel Leipzig
#12 of 99 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Property: Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing