We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic food.”
Review of Chang

Chang
Ranked #97 of 791 Restaurants in Leipzig
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great authentic food.”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Really recommended if you are in the area and hungry. Authentic food for a reasonable price. Go for the fish! Especially in summer with a bigger group its a nice spot to hang out. Its near the city but quit enough. Food is really really really tasty. Just dont except anything fancy! This is the basics done perfect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timobeeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Sachsen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, authentic, well-run and delicious!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I've never been to Thailand, but anyone will soon notice that this place is the reel thing. Besides the big photos of the Royal Family on the wall, one cannot help but notice the delicious food, well-cooked, lovingly prepared an loaded with some flavors I had never before tasted.
The atmosphere is lovely, the service competent, quick and very considerate.
A huge thumbs-up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Are here twice already one before my first trip to Thailand and again last night. Excellent food and service. Need to reserve a table as was almost fully booked especially at the weekend. Reserved for tomorrow night with girlfriend

Helpful?
Thank Uhdcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
254 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Little gem in Leipzig”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a wonderfull dinner at Chang. Friendly staff and excellent food.
Would recommend this place to everyone if you like good Thai food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
236 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Edible Asian Food in Leipzig?!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been coming to Leipzig since 1999. Unlike some of my friends, I like German food, and there is quite a lot of good German food in Leipzig (think Bayerische Bahnhof, for instance). The Asian food, however, is really terrible. In fact, at least until now, forget GOOD Asian food. The question was whether it was edible.

Somehow, though. the descriptions of Chang seemed promising enough to tempt disappointment one more time. I am shocked to say that Chang is a pretty good Thai restaurant. I am certainly not a native eater of Thai, but the food seemed to me to be more like the Thai food in small restaurants in Thailand than those in Seattle (the land of many bad Thai restaurants).

What did we eat? A beef yum (yam nuah) a chicken phad thai and a duck massaman curry. The phad thai tasted a bit different from the phad thais I remember in Thailand, but IT WAS NOT UNPLEASANTLY SWEET like the phad thai in most Thia restaurants in the U.S. Spiceness: we told the waitress (in English, I might add) that we would like the dishes spiced the way Thai people like them. This has occasionally back fired on me and resulted in dishes that are so hot I can't eat them, but usually in the U.S. it has no effect at all. Our dishes were not as hot as in Thailand, but they were about as hot as I really like. The price for three dishes and 7 Euros of drinks (a real killer in Germany) was 36 Euros. Not chedap, but not terrible.

The verdict: THERE IS DECENT ASIAN FOOD IN LEIPZIG, at least at Chang's. (Otherwise eat German food?)

A note on the location, for those who have not been in Leipzig for a while, Gottsched Strasse is in an entertainment area just outside the ring (outside the core center of the city). It has gotten much bigger and contains also (among many others) what looks like a nice Italian restaurant, a Vietnamese restaurant, an Asian fusion restaurant (I am dubious) and many others. This seems like it is now the best area to go to to looks for a good meal or a pleasant place to drink rather than the streets surrounding the Markt Platz.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chang also viewed

 
Leipzig, Saxony
Leipzig, Saxony
 

Been to Chang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing