We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Returned to Motel One on my latest trip to Leipzig and found it as good as ever. Ideally located 5 mins from Central station and in the middle of the old city. The room was small but comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. It was right at the end of a corridor and I seemed to have intermittent problems with the wifi in the room but no problems when I used it in the lobby. Wifi is included free. Breakfast buffet is the usual spread and very nice. Keep in mind that Motel One is very popular as the most central, affordable hotel and books out quickly so book ahead!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. We hope to see you soon a´t Motel One and wish you all the best. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    218
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
169
49
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wish we had this chain in North America
Location was great by St. Nicolas church walking distance to the train station & sites we wanted to visit. Very pedestrian friendly area as is the whole old city. Tons of restaurants.
Staff were great helped connect to wifi which worked but was slower than other hotels we stayed.
Breakfast good & reasonable price.
I love this chain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you are already a "Motel One Fan". We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Walking distance from main train station. Perfect location across Nikolai Church which is one of the most important sites of German history.

Staff is professional and friendly. Rooms are great value. Mattresses are perfect and I slept well. Showers are excellent although water spills on the floor due to the construction.

Bathrooms need a lock from my German perspective - very American style.

Lobby and lounge reasonably priced for drinks during evenings while there are so many options around the hotel, there is no real need to stay inside.

Power socket right next to the bed, free Wifi without me asking for it. Small work desk.

All in all, it is just what you need and more than you expect for the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay in Leipzig. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

it's just near the historic nikolaikirche, about 10 minutes walk from the main station, and is a very nice location to get into the old, beautiful Leipzig.
the room is as comfortable as a Motel One should be, and the delicious breakfast just as you expected. it's a very nice place to stay in the beautiful and nostalgic city. many interesting stores and nice restaurants around.
i stayed here one night in March-2012, had a wonderful night here.

Room Tip: a room with windows to the church is recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schiu8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank your for your review.

We are glad to hear that you liked Leipzig and your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards.

Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel is very centrally located, directly in front of Nikolai-Church in the heart of Leipzig. Rooms are typically Motel One, so not very spacious, but functional and very clean with a decent shower. Despite the central location it is very quiet and you will easily find a good night sleep. Service is very nice and friendly all round the Hotel (front-desk, bar, cleaning crew).
The Hotel also offers breakfast which you can purchase for 7,50€ if not already included in the room rate. Definitely go for it, it's a very good selection and quality for the price. On a weekend it may be a bit more crowded to get breakfast, but there are frequent refills, so no problem to get everything you need.
Only disappointment was at the bar at night, when going for a night-cap we found out they don't have any beer on tap, but only bottled Beck's. Changing that would make it a perfect location for a weekend break! We still liked it very much and would come back any time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oehli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. I forwarded your suggestion regarding the draught beer to our head departement. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Location, location, location! You get that plus hip design, comfortable beds, and an excellent breakfast. Typically small rooms for European hotels and it was missing a safe big enough for a laptop for my purposes. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There's a grocery store and pharmacy on the same street, as well as, access to super shopping. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank your for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. In the heart of the city center. the rooms are perfectly decorated, and for me (single room) big enough.
Try to cchoose a high fllor because the view is fantastic!!
the breakfast is rich and the staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina Z, Manager at Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Nena,

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Leipzig. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Katharina Zapf / manager & the team from Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#3 of 100 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 stars 2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Motel One Leipzig-Augustusplatz
The Westin Leipzig
#8 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche

Property: Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche
Address: Nikolaistr. 23, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig > Zentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#5 Best Value Hotel in Leipzig
#6 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#11 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Motel One Leipzig-Nikolaikirche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing