We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal International Leipzig
Ranked #73 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located across the street from the train station and is close to shopping and the beautiful old city centre. Upon arrival you see a very tired lobby with cracked leather chairs -- not a good start. The staff was mainly uninterested in guests and, as we discovered, were more interested in having a smoke outside the front door -- a common sight during our 3-day stay. The hallways and most public areas are in poor shape -- worn, dirty carpets.

Surprisingly the guest room was clean and very spacious, with a kitchenette (fridge, stovetop, microwave). The internet password in the guest room book did not work and, after several attempts, I went to phone the front desk. The phone was not working. I went to the front desk, reported the phone (which took 2 days to fix), and told them about the internet password. Without expression or apology, the girl passed me a slip with a completely different password then the one in the hotel booklet -- which should have been provided at check-in.

There is no AC in this hotel and the rooms were very hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneWicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    97
    90
    47
    58
See reviews for
46
97
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel's location is very good opposite the attractive train station and the room was large with kitchenette and bar. BUT, the staff were complacent and rude and the room cleaning was non existent. On each day,that I stayed, my room was not cleaned in any way, including the bathroom, towel replacement etc. I was told (without apology) that new guest's room preparation always took priority. The cleaning staff, however, told me that they had forgotten my room. After one day walking in the rain, I returned to my room, for a shower, at 3.30pm to find it exactly as I'd left it.
Also, when entering the hotel, through the reception area, the desk staff didn't even look up and greet me. Very rude.
This is a real shame as this could have been a 5 star rated hotel if not for the surly staff and non-existent room cleaning..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaugin-1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leipzig hotels

Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Hotel is literally across the road from the Hauptbahhof and on the edge of the historic centre of Leipzig, Car parking (uncovered) is available next door for a small daily fee. Rooms are very large and bright, though décor is quite old fashioned. Breakfast is more than adequate, and Wifi is provided
gratis, though connection is a bit slow. Staff are generally helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 306 is a suite with separate lounge/dining are/kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgware_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Royal International Hotel is a 2 star at best. If you are traveling on business, just don't do it. Wi-Fi is spotty, and slow when you can connect. I could hear the guy above me snoring every night. Breakfast was poor, bathroom lighting was dark, staff not very helpful when help was needed. The hot water was pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steamboat_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Rarely have we ever had a worse hotel experience. The one & only thing it has in it's favor is location near train station. The staff were unhelpful & rude. The hotel itself is old, dark & dreary. They advertise having WI-FI but it doesn't work, ever. Please do yourself a huge favor and stay somewhere else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Royal International Leipzig is a decent place to stay if you need to be near the main train station in Leipzig, but otherwise there are better places to stay.

On the positive side, the location in the center of Leipzig is great for seeing the city, the rooms are spacious, and the breakfast spread is generous considering the price of the room. The room we were in also had a kitchenette with a small refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher. The bedroom, bath, toilet, and sinks were clean.

On the negative side, the decor is from the 1990's, the lighting in the room was poor, and the wireless internet didn't work outside of the reception area. They said they had a person coming to fix the internet, however. The waste bin in the bathroom was not emptied before we arrived and there were some old stains on the furniture in the living room/kitchenette area.

Room Tip: The x16 rooms (e.g. 116, 216, 316) on each floor are much larger than the other rooms, and include a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonusJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
201 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very well located, near train station and near the city center. Rated like a 4 star but with caracteristics of a 3 star. Good breakfast with a good service at the first floor, right next to rooms. Big room with kitchennet and big sofá, but with a very old and little confortable decoration. The free wifi don't works well, with exception at the little reception lobby. Nice staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alsansil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
InterCityHotel Leipzig
#14 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
#11 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Zentrum
Ibis Budget Leipzig City
Ibis Budget Leipzig City
#47 of 100 in Leipzig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal International Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal International Leipzig

Property: Royal International Leipzig
Address: Richard-Wagner-Str. 10, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal International Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal International Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal International Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Royal International Hotel Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing