We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly delightful Gose”

Bayerischer Bahnhof
Ranked #7 of 960 Restaurants in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Zentrum-Südost
Description: One of Leipzig’s landmarks is the Bayerischer Bahnhof. It was built in 1842 and is the oldest preserved head rail station in the world. It was the region’s busiest hub for tradesmen and travellers.Today, the Bayerischer Bahnhof is famous for its hospitality and culinary delights – and it is known as the home of the Gose, a beer specialty from Leipzig. The Bayerischer Bahnhof is an exclusive location for every event.Our culinary program is as extraordinary as our location: traditional German cuisine, diversity, and seasonal trends. Quench your thirst with home-brewed specialities from our in-house brewery at the Bayerischer Bahnhof.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Beer flavored with salt and coriander? Nooo! Well, actually YESSSS! You really have to taste it to believe just how good it is. It’s delightfully light and not at all sweet. My only regret was that we were fog tired and short of cash or we’d have stayed for one (or five) more.

We didn’t eat there, just drinks. We sat outside in the courtyard but the inside seating looked quite comfy.

Goseanna!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank L5672YKjohnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 975 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2018

Having enjoyed a fantastic Hogmanay evening it was our first evening visit in summer time. Away from the weekend we didn’t have to book (but it is advisable). The evening was lovely and the beer Garten was buzzing with lots of folk enjoying the experience. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, plentiful and very reasonably priced. A great way to get the flavour of Germany relaxing. The beer brewed on the premises was excellent. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lastseenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

We heard about this bar from friends and we were not disappointed.
The sour beer in Intresting but worth a try. The menus is traditional German the schnitzel is superb as is the pork steak.
A great atmosphere and super staff

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PenistoneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch. The salmon salad was excellent. Washed down with one their own well crafted beers which are brewed on site. Really nice beer garden and interesting interior. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GeoffS1386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

The spacious restaurant, located in the old Lepzig-Dresden Railway Station was a very acceptable lunch option. It is just a few stops by tram or S-Bahn for the bcentre.

The big indoor area around the bar is conceived as a brewery, complete with big copper vessels. Elsewhere, the Railway heritage is celebrated. We chose to eat in the conservatory aisle, looking out on the Beer Garden, but avoiding the unfortunate local preference for puffing on cigarettes whislt eating, gifting other diners with their personal poisons. A unpeasantly unhygenic and antisocial habit.

The helpful staff took our order, providing an English menu when requested. I chose “Strammer Preusse” - Pulled Pork with potato bread, eggs sauerkraut and salad, whilst my partner selected Herring fillet with potatoes and salad. For drinks I chose the Leipziger Gose (a salty beer!). Fritz-cola was the preferred non-alcoholic choice. The VERY substantial meals arribed in good time and wewere VERY full by the time we had finished. My partner's hering was perhaps overdosed with sour cream, whilst my choice could have provided more mustard sauce with the pulled pork.
Overall, a good introduction to German 'pub' food!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank orkydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayerischer Bahnhof also viewed

 
Leipzig, Saxony
 

Been to Bayerischer Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing