We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Restaurant with Panoramic Elbe Valley view”
Review of Cafe-Restaurant Luisenhof - CLOSED

Cafe-Restaurant Luisenhof
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Loschwitz
Maryland,USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid Restaurant with Panoramic Elbe Valley view”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant is located on a dead end street in the white stag suburb of Dresden. You can ride the incline or get there by car. Parking is limited and so the incline is a good option. The restaurant is divided into two sections. The terrace and the more formal main dinning room. The menu is the same. During the high season you might want to consider reservations which you can only make through the week.
The food was solid, we visited during the white asparagus harvest time in Germany and a lot of the specials where based around this. All dishes were well prepared mostly following German traditional traditional recipes. Service was prompt, professional and a little detached and busy.
All in all a good choice for a traditional German dinner with a spectacular view and the incline ride is a bonus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mid-atlantic-usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    37
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gifhorn, Niedersachsen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Ideal romantic place. Just perfect. Truly 5 stars restaurant, with table clothes and linen. And the wine, great local Rieslings, I'm not a wine fan, but that was great. I've been there several times on different occasions, and I love it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gidroga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great meal!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant is located on the top of a hill in Dresden. The view from this place is so pretty. Not only the view which is great, the food is also beautifully presented (look at my photo!). I had lunch there, and it was delicious. The staffs were very nice and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kangdamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great scenic view!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The meal is very good and the view of the river valley is very beautiful. See if you are lucky to get a balcony table (and it's not windy).

For me, it is a must go, specially if you are not staying in the city for too long and take the hop-on hop-off bus.
But, if you are in a hurry you can just go in there and take a look at the view and maybe grab some cake slices or ice cream (it was not required to have a meal at the time I've been there).
If you want to have a meal, take your time, the service takes a bit to assist you since the pleasant atmosphere deserves that you take a while to enjoy it. And the plates are very beautifully presented.
Just a final info, we were lucky to have a very nice local elder couple on a table beside ours and we had a very pleasant chat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duda_cecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in Dresden!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had been recommended Cafe Luisenhof by a friend but wasn't prepared for the helpful, friendly staff and the delicious meal. The view is amazing, all of Dresden is spread out from the windows of this multi-level restaurant. Make sure you take the lovely funicular railway up and down, unless you are going for dinner/sunset - it's an extra treat!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant Luisenhof also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing