We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Large rooms, good location, poor WiFi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Neumarkt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel Neumarkt
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Large rooms, good location, poor WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a lot of trouble using the WiFi, it was VERY slow, and sometimes didn't work at all. We shutdown the router and repowered it, but that seem to only help for a short time. Enjoyed all the space in the rooms, but would hesitate to stay here if I needed to count to be able to access the internet. If the WiFi was fixed it would up my rating. If you do not want access to the internet, you could up the rating to very good.

The location is great, right on the square beside the Frauenkirche, and very close to the old green museum.

The apartment we had was large, and had a big entry way. The kitchen had an electric kettle and toaster, small refrigerator and a 2 burner cook top. If you were staying for a longer time you should know that there was no dishwasher, oven or microwave. There are no stairs to deal with when bringing in your luggage, as entrance is at street level, and there an elevator at that level. The elevator was large as compared to some in Europe. The stairs have good lighting.

There is a safe in the room, but it is fastened to a shelf that just lifts out of the wardrobe.

The bathroom was large, and had a tub. The tub sides are high, so you need to take care when stepping in and out. The washing machine is located in the bathroom. It is not a large one, and needs to have a light load in order to spin properly. There is a drying rack supplied to hang your clothes on.

The breakfast is optional, and is located in another building. We found other options so can't comment on it.

There is construction in the area, but on the days we were there it didn't bother us. Depending on what is being done on the construction site, that may vary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
67
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in an apartment on Level 5. Very spacious and comfortable but poor lighting. Great location just around the corner from the Frauenkirche. Easy to walk to shopping centre Altmarkt- Galerie. Here there were lots of cheap places to eat plus supermarkets etc, etc. There were also lots of eating places just near the hotel as well as other shops. An easy walk to the river and lots of Museums, palaces and city sights in the old city of Dresden which has been reconstructed after being heavily bombed during the war. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had a problem with the washing machine one evening and it was attended to immediately. Kitchen facilities allow for simple meal preparation. WiFi connection was good and free. we took the Hop on Hop Off bus - well worth it. It gives a great trip around the major buildings in the old city and then goes outside as well. You get a great view from the top deck. English commentary via headset. Had a wonderful meal - Trout with Almonds at the Coselpalais Hotel Restaurant just a short walk from hotel - behind the Frauenkirche. Excellent value and friendly service with English menus provided. A trip to the Meissen factory is also very worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I highly recommend this charming and reasonably-priced apartment hotel, just around the corner from Frauenkirche, the main Lutheran Cathedral in the heart of Dresden's beautifully rebuilt Old Town. Apartments are spacious, bright, and well-furnished, and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is well-equipped and the supermarket a five-minute walk. If you're going to do a lot of cooking, ask for a microwave when you make your reservation. WiFi, which I used daily, is free. Reception is polite and helpful, and will direct you to restaurants and local attractions, as well as arrange transportation if you need it. If you're not a fan of magnificent church bells at 7 am, ask for a quiet room (my apartment was on the back of the building overlooking a small green space); but realize that you will not be overlooking the beautiful square. However, the hotel provides disposable ear plugs!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took a single studio apartment on the 4th floor for just the two of us - with friends occupying neighbouring apartments.

These apartments are modern and (very) generously proportioned, with pretty much anything you needed.

Good points. Spacious, well, equipped, comfortable beds, big bathroom, excellent location on the new market square. Service at reception.

Bad points. Wifi very weak - in fact I was unable to log in at any point in our two full days. Nervous about baggage. Some noise from building works in square in morning 7am.

Worth knowing. We took up the breakfast option at a nearby guesthouse (about 300m away); this was generous buffet. Local taxis reliable and did not overcharge - 14.50EUR to the station

Room Tip: Wifi seems a bit variable. Perhaps our 4th floor apartment on south end (4.24) had nothing usable; f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Took my granddaughter to Dresden and stayed at the Aparthotel Neumarkt. The apartment is huge, spotlessly clean and everything you will need in order to self-cater is there.
The location could not be bettered. The hotel is quiet, so suspect the rooms are sound proof. The reception staff were extremely helpful. The beds are as comfortable as my own!

Room Tip: The studio apartments are very large and although overlooking the 'Neumarkt' are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allansu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
550 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

You couldn't ask for a more perfect location in Dresden than Aparthotel Neumarkt. It was near most of the cities top attractions. It had everything I was looking for, including a complete kitchen. Great those who want to do there own cooking. And, considering the price, the space was extremely large. Both The living room and bed room had nice flat screen TVs. In the bathroom was a wash machine. I felt right at home. Service was friendly and helpful. I especially liked the free shuttle to the airport, because of the length of stay.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StockholmKindaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

It was the 4th time this year and yet again warm and friendly service. Efficient as ever, all was ready when we arrived. The room, the garage space and of course the beautiful Neumarkt square and the Christmas markets. The apartment house is truly like a hotel and the location is just unbeatable.

Room Tip: Ask for your garage space, should you arrive by car. Very convenient, next to the hotel elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiestalegre888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 124 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 stars 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 124 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Neumarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Neumarkt

Property: Aparthotel Neumarkt
Address: Neumarkt 7 | from Landhausstrasse, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Neumarkt 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Aparthotel Neumarkt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing