We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly upscale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCityHotel Dresden
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly upscale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I agree with the positive reviews. Free bus/tram ticket is super. Location and value outstanding. Only negative is bright light from the train station courtyard at night when you want the window open. There's periodic station noise too that didn't bother us.

Room Tip: If you want your window open, stay on the side away from the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticInMyOwnMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    254
    51
    7
    7
See reviews for
74
187
69
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is very nice with excellent location, you can just walk around 3 mins from Dresden main station (HBF). There are many tram stops near by that you can take train or tram/bus very often and easy to find. The main street is near by that you can just walk and go shopping and eating. Although it's near train station, the room is very new, quiet, beautiful. Free transportation card is plus that you can take bus/tram/local train for free. The only weakness is no free wi-fi in the hotel/room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarilWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great place to stay and close to the train station. The day ticket for transportation provided was also a good attraction of the hotel. The staff were also friendly and helpful when assistance are required.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dushyan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here for a week in March while attending a conference at TU Dresden. The location is ideal being right next to the train station and having major tram stops a couple of minutes walk away. My room was nice; clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. I would recommend staying here for business or if you plan to spend most of your days out and about. My colleague had a few minor complaints (towels too small and rough, bed not comfortable enough) which I didn't agree with but they don't have irons and ironing boards for each room. In fact the hotel only has one and if someone else has it then you're stuck. For a business hotel there should be more irons. We got a good deal on this (44% off) which made it good value. The non-discounted rates are a bit steep for the quality of this hotel but I suppose the location makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
725 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is just across the street from the main train station. It is perfectly located to visit downtown (20 min walk), the university (20 min walk), and the main park (20 min walk). Premises are modern and very clean. I asked for a quiet room (light sleeper) and had one that really was perfectly silent.

Breakfast buffet is German-style extensive and good. Nice gesture: local transportation pass is included in the hotel fees. Internet (very slow!), too. One can rent bikes, which is also very convenient.

The room, indeed, could have used a newer TV set. Otherwise, the shower was bliss!

Room Tip: get rooms X11 and X12, where X is the floor number. These are silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icanhazsweetsokthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
244 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

It is so nice to arrive by train and just to have to walk across the street to your hotel. Even though it is so close to train station, you have a peaceful sleep. Breakfast was great but the room is small for the amount of quests. Around 9 o’clock in the morning you have to wait till to be seated. Overall we had a pleasant stay and I would recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The big advantages of this chain hotel are as many have written here its location just a few steps from the Dresden central station and the practical design of its rooms, which due to clever design seem larger than they are. Ours had obviously just been renovated and made the best possible use of a small hallway with adjoining bath (unfortunately the threadbare towels didn't match the quality of the new bathroom). The smaller separate bedroom had huge windows to let in lots of light.

The friendly front desk personnel immediately gave us dental and shaving packages when they heard that we’d left our one bag on the train. Another nice extra were the free umbrellas for guests to borrow on their way out into drizzly Dresden weather. Since we both have annual train passes, we didn’t need the free transport tickets. It seems from other reviews here that InterCity has at last decided to offer free wifi. We found the extra charge during our stay in August very annoying and simply won’t book hotels without free wifi unless we have vouchers for a free stay.

Beautiful sunny skies and the view from our room on the day of our checking out was much better than the truly dreadful breakfast buffet. No fresh fruit at all, old stale coffee, very fatty sausages but at least very friendly staff in the bright breakfast room with large windows on the ground floor.

Since we used one of the special Deutsche Bahn vouchers for our stay, we can’t complain about the price. But we probably would’ve booked one of the many other options in Dresden had we had to pay the regular price for our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Pullman Dresden Newa
#16 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Dresden

Property: InterCityHotel Dresden
Address: Wiener Platz 8, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dresden
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#27 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — InterCityHotel Dresden 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Dresden, located in the city centre opposite the main station, extends a welcome to its guests. Discover the historic city with the Frauenkirche and the Zwinger or the city's shopping mile "Prager Strasse", on your trip to Dresden.The city's exhibition grounds are also in the immediate vicinity of the InterCityHotel. With the FreeCityTicket for use of the local public transport, already included in the price of your room, there is nothing more in the way of your business appointment or your sightseeing program. You can also use this to travel on the Elbe ferries or to visit Pillnitz Castle.156 Well furnished rooms and the 6 spacious studios of the InterCityHotel with modern design ensure your comfort and relaxation by the end of an eventful day. Our 4 conference rooms provide the ideal background for both smaller presentations and major conferences with catering for up to 120 participants. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Dresden
Dresden Intercityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing