We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A & O Hostel/Hotel Dresden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #27 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Dresden
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed in the Hotel section. Staff were extremely helpful during our 3 night stay in early September; they gave us lots of useful advice. Room was average size but clean and warm. Hostel/Hotel is well situated with a fun tram ride into the centre, starting only 150 metres from the door. Walk to the Frauenkirche takes 25 mins but you walk through lots of interesting streets on the way. Reviewer who said it was not close to the Hbf needs his eyes tested as you can almost fall into it. 8th floor bar has good views and has a happy hour that lasts 2 hours. All you can eat breakfast was good value although all the food is cold [cereals; meats; cheese; yogurt etc - no hot cooked food]. Private car park was useful. All round good value.

Room Tip: Don't have a room at the back overlooking the Aldi carpark as you'll have the fire escape pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonObvious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hostel is located really near the Hauptbanhof, which is always a bonus in my opinion. The front desk was really nice and could help with any demand. The room is a little bit on the small side, however it's well kept and very silent. It's perfect to rest a little bit after a day enjoying Dresden. I can't comment on the breakfast since I had to leave really early in the morning (5.00 am), so it wasn't available.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaelCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed there for one winter night in December. It's very basic, with small rooms, but rather comfortable. It's ten minutes from the train station, but to the city center it's a good walk -- not less than 20 minutes, and it may not be very enjoyable when the temperature is around 15ºC bellow zero. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed in the hotel section - room small but perfectly functional. Not quite as close to the Hbf (main station) as it looked on the website, about a 10-12 minute walk. Only gripe was that I booked via hotels.com - had I booked direct via A&O then I would have got the wi-fi for free despite paying the same price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Just over 5 mins walk from the Main (Hbf) station this cheap place keeps things simple. The rooms are a little basic, if clean and functional. The main centre is 10-15 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_bates09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I booked a hotel single room not the hostel single room. There is a difference between the 2 as my hotel charges were inclusive of bed linen & towels. Also, there was no admin charges for using credit card compared to what other reviewers have stated. I stayed there for 5 nights sightseeing Dresden & Saxony region.

Its a bit of a walk from the Dresden Central Train Station especially so if its snowing & windy and that was the exact weather conditions I was in when I walked there. A&O Hostel has signposting outside the Bayerishce Strasse exit that points you in the direction of its hostel. Look out for the bright orange signposts on the opposite side of the road.

Surprisingly, the room was spotlessly clean including the bathroom upon my check in as I was expecting the worse since its a hostel. But, I don't think they bother to vacuum the laminated flooring cos my bread crumbs were still on the floor when I returned from sightseeing. This happened during my 5 days stay there, no vacuuming as I eat my breakfast in my room every morning from food bought outside.

The pipe radiators were par excellence. All working very well. The room was very warm & cosy. The bathroom also had pipe radiators attached to the walls & it was a toasty bathroom.

The room was small but had everything you needed from a TV with CNN included, a desk & chair, a cupboard with doors and removable clothes hangers. One bad design was that the large TV had to be placed on the desk instead of on the shelf way high above. When I looked at the shelf which was where the TV was originally placed, it was too high up to get a clear view of the TV images so I guessed that is why the TV was shifted down to the desk. Which meant that there was only less than one quarter of space left on the desk to put your personal belongings.

The bed mattress had no springs to it. But the duvet was soft and kept me very warm.

I noticed that the school groups disappeared on Friday , Saturday & Sunday nights so it was reasonably quiet except for slamming of doors by adult guests.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The room and the bathroom is small but for the money, this place is of great value. The location is only a 10 min walk from the train station, the room is clean, and the breakfast is plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kipping
Hotel Kipping
#45 of 118 in Dresden
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
IntercityHotel Dresden
IntercityHotel Dresden
#19 of 118 in Dresden
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
ACHAT Comfort Dresden
ACHAT Comfort Dresden
#54 of 118 in Dresden
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Elbe's Hotel Dresden
Elbe's Hotel Dresden
#42 of 65 in Dresden
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Louise 20
Hostel Louise 20
#12 of 65 in Dresden
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jugendgastehaus Dresden
Jugendgastehaus Dresden
#11 of 65 in Dresden
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof

Address: Strehlener Str. 10, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Dresden
Price Range: $33 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located A&O Hotel in Dresden offers modern rooms in various categories. On A&O's roof guests can enjoy the view, sit on the terrace and have a refreshing drink at the bar from which you can let your eyes wander over the panorama of the old town. The A&O Dresden is only 400 meters from the Dresden Central Station, just two bus stops away. Due to its central location and good connections the A&O is suitable for those coming by car, train or bus, and is great for excursions into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your A&O Dresden Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing