We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Wow!”

The Transparent Factory of Volkswagen
Book In Advance
More Info
$187.83*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour of Dresden from Prague
Ranked #4 of 47 Tours in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Real Wow!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

There are a few times when you go to places and you really get inspired by what they have done and how they have thought differently...well this is one of those places. It was first class; from the look of the building, to the excellent people working at reception, to the tour guides and their entire presentation. I left there thinking about some things very differently...things like getting the details right, exceeding expectations and WOWing the crowd! Well done Volkswagen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottie310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    80
    23
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
423 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There are not many other factories like this, that VW built as showcase of its power and excellence. And with a great result. The factory is not just a factory itself but it hosts also concerts and exhibitions, really unique (when the city was flooded in 2002, Semperoper moved here some activities).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
336 reviews
216 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Orchestrated Studio Manufacturing”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I expected it to be another factory visit but it turned out to be an amazing experience, with design studios to custom design the cars, to transparent walls with minimal noise, shop floor employees in white and most of the stiff moving around on its own. Add to it the fact that it host art and culture events regularly while using the tramway for logistics.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnuradhaGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
821 reviews
297 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“An Amazing Building”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Looking more like an Opera House than a Car Assembly Plant, this building never ceases to amaze me. I love the factory tour and at 5 Euro is not expensive. The Phaeton car that is VW's Luxury Model is assembled here and this is now my 5th visit, but I will come back again on my next trip to keep dreaming that one day I may own one myself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing German Technology”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hard to believe how simple, but how complex and complicated, the build of an exclusive car - The Volkswagen Phaeton.
The production and assembly process simply amazing.

Do not allow to photograph inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Transparent Factory of Volkswagen also viewed

 

Been to The Transparent Factory of Volkswagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing