We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Therese-Malten-Villa
Ranked #8 of 107 Dresden B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife, my 2 year old son and i spent 2 nights at this wonderful place. The host and hostess were very polite and incredibly helpful. My little boy wasnt too well and he messed up the room as soon as we entered. Mrs. Scharfe was kind enough to change the linen in the room and also help clean the room.
The property was brilliant with a wonderful garden and a fantastic view of the river. Our only regret was that we couldn't spend more time at this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Suggest you get a view of the river and also best if you drive to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supratim_Banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a delightful place in a beautiful location.

We saw the treasures in the old green vault in Dresden. At the proprietor’s suggestion we spent a lovely day in Saxony Switzerland walking about Konigstein and taking the boat back along the Elbe to the summer palace and its gardens just across the river from the hotel. Later a little car ferry took us across the river with bicyclists and others on foot.

It is hard to describe in words what you see so quickly on arrival. A beautiful old house on extensive grounds that sits along the river with views of the summer palace. The city trams run to a spot a short walk from the hotel. So we did not bother with the car which added to the restfulness of it all.

If I we didn’t live so many thousands of miles away we would be pressing our friends to spend a few nights there and to repeat our experiences. We would be offering to keep our various grandchildren and sending their parents.

Room Tip: Their web site has a floor plan of hotel and room photos which greatly helped in picking our sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldengineer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese-Malten-Villa, Inhaber at Therese-Malten-Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear oldengineer99,

thank you very much for your very friendly review. You have been very nice guests. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again. We hope to visit you in California too .

Best regards
Stefan Scharfe
Therese-Malten-Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Beautiful place, comfortable for family stay. large room.
perfect place for Elbe river bicycle route, easy access from the Villa gardens and if needed easy coming back with the steem boat to Pillinz and from there easy ride and crossing the river with the ferry and you're back at the hotel.

Room Tip: Bicycles for rent at the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OritSagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese-Malten-Villa, Inhaber at Therese-Malten-Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dear Orit Sagi.

thank you very much for your visit and your very friendly review. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Best regards
Ines & Stefan Scharfe
Therese-Malten-Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

When we arrived we were received by a very nice young lady. She really made a big effort to make us feel welcome and tell us everything we needed to know. Our room was very big with a newly renovated bathroom and a view of the Elbe river. The (optional) breakfast was excellent value for money. The villa is quite far from the center of Dresden, so we had planned to go there by tram. The trip normally takes about 25 minutes, but unfortunately they were doing some extensive work on the tram line so part of the trip is currently operated by bus. This meant that it took at least 45 minutes to get to the center. By the look of it this work will not be completed anytine soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frch-Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese-Malten-Villa, Inhaber at Therese-Malten-Villa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Dear frch-Denmark,

thank you very much for your very friendly review.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences due to the work on the tram line. The work will finish on the 23rd of October 2011.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Ines & Stefan Scharfe
Therese-Malten-Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

There is no doubt that this is a lovely place to stay, and we enjoyed it, however there are just a few things to be aware of when booking.

The villa is actually quite far out of town, at almost a 25 minute drive. The breakfast is not complimentary and is, in fact, €9 per person. Also, you will get charged a different rate on a Saturday night than any other night of the week, and my budget was blown out of the window when I was asked to pay extra at the hotel instead of what I had been quoted online through bookings.com.

All that being said, it was a relaxing place to stay for the night and the room, with its lovely big new ensuite was a treat.

Room Tip: Get dinner at the pub on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazmcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese-Malten-Villa, Inhaber at Therese-Malten-Villa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Saz and Adam,

thank you very much for your visit and your friendly words about our house.

We are sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied. Maybe there was a misunderstanding about this, so I would like to explain this to you. You write that you were “asked to pay extra at the hotel instead of what I had been quoted online through bookings.com”. However, you have made a booking via venere with exactly the amount we have charged. The rate for only 1 or 2 nights at the weekend is higher than the normal rate. This information was given to you during the booking procedure. Our guests are free to choose breakfast, which is not included in the rate and prepared by us for 9 EUR per person. However, our guests are free to choose this and have the alternative to use our fully equipped guest kitchen for making/cooking their own breakfasts and other meals.

We would be glad to welcome you as our guests again and recommend to stay longer. For stays of 3 or more nights during the week (in low season also for 2 nights) we also offer special rates, which you can see on our homepage. You can book these special offers if you contact us directly.

You rated Cleanliness, Sleep Quality and Service not very well in comparison to other guests. Would you mind to tell us what has not been to your satisfaction?

Best regards and thank you for your time
Ines & Stefan Scharfe
Therese-Malten-Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was a bit far from the downtown Dresden area but the tram stop was a short walk away so it didn't present a problem. Wonderful hosts! The room we had was very large and spotless. Nice spread for breakfast. If I was staying in Dresden again I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the Therese Malten room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theskycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Nice place to stay with. Friendly folks, even though they do not get many Americans, they were very accommodative. Excellent public transportation, Staff was great, especially the young German lady, Sandy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fowl2849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blasewitz
Villa Freisleben Aparthotel
Villa Freisleben Aparthotel
#10 of 107 in Dresden
33 reviews
Hexenhaus
#12 of 107 in Dresden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Therese-Malten-Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Therese-Malten-Villa

Address: Wilhelm-Weitling-Str. 3, 01259 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Dresden
Price Range: $104 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Therese-Malten-Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to spend your visit to Dresden in our quiet and lovely B&B in a neo-renaissance villa by the river Elbe. The house was originally built for the opera singer Therese Malten. There are five comfortably equipped rooms and one apartment; all with en suite bathrooms, free wireless internet (Wi-Fi), a reading room and the guest kitchen at your disposal. We are happy to serve you breakfast in the mornings, and can also recommend a Dresden tour/tour guide tailored to your interests. It is easy to reach the Dresden city center from our B&B by the tram.After an eventful day you can spend the evening on the terrace or in our big garden, where you can enjoy the view of the river Elbe and the castle Schloß Pillnitz. During the winter season you can relax and unwind in front of the cosy fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Therese-Malten-Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing