We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you can get...if you don't sleep till 11...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dresden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartments an der Frauenkirche
Ranked #10 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Dresden
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Perfect, very central location with terrific view out of the windows (ours faced Frauenkirche - one of the most beautiful things in Dresden). Feels like being at home. Great bed, excellent totally new bathroom - we enjoyed our stay 100%..

P.S. For those who prefer to sleep longer: ear plugs will not help when the bells on the church start ringing..;) happens around 10-10.30...

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2008

As a retired couple we agree with the very favourable preceding reviews but would like to add several points.
Firstly, if driving yourself, a Sat Nav (or a very good map) is recommended as the centre of Dresden is complicated to negotiate especially with all the current building and consequent road closures. Secondly we had not appreciated that there are four separate sets of apartments, each with their own receptions and addresses in the same area but booking under the central Munzgasse heading. As we were in the Neumarkt block it would have been more sensible to go straight there rather than be re-directed from Munzgasse.
Our comments only apply to this block which consists of 35 apartments (large lobby, bedroom, lounge, kitchenette and bathroom), all brand new as of June 2008. They are splendidly furnished and equipped, even down to a free internet wireless router, two plasma televisions and two music centres so take your own CDs and computer if you so wish. A maid service changes linen twice a week but otherwise you are undisturbed although there was a most helpful reception if needed.
Cooking is limited to two hotplates (no oven, grill or microwave) but as there is a wealth of cafes and restaurents nearbye we found ourselves eating out for main meals, using the apartment for breakfast (rolls and cakes from an excellent shop only a hundred metres away) and light refreshments.
Tea towels, washing up liquid, a coffee filter machine, sugar, salt, pepper etc are all provided as well as a goodly array of cooking utensils and place settings for six.
Parking was in a private secure section of a public underground car park directly under the building at 10 euros a day - well worth it since one had immediate access by lift to the apartment.
The location directly on the Frauenkirche square was perfect for exploring Dresden on foot and in a one week's stay we found more than enough to do without needing to use the excellent public transport more than once.
There is only one caveat: since there is a lot of building work in the central area there was intermittent noise both from that and the bells of the Frauenkirche although with the windows closed we did not find this too obtrusive.
An experience we would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PeterSwaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a base camp to stay while we were in Europe. I researched on the internet for an apartment and found Apartments an der Frauenkirche. It sounded great, almost too good for words. I didn't actually know what we would get. It far exceeded our expectations. The apartment was huge and beautiful. Totally remodeled and equiped with everything. The living room had a large TV and a white suede L shaped sofa and books to read even.
We were in the Old town. Our apartment was just across the pedestrian mall from the old market mall where you could get anything from meals to clothing. The building had elevators which would actually make it available for the handicapped. It also overlooked several restaurants and bars. Just walking only minutes away you could visit the Elbe River or many museums and land and water tours. For an extra 5 Euros per day we were allowed to use the pool and gym facilities at the Hilton Hotel Near the Frauenkirche, which were beautiful. We found the apartments also rent bicycles. The Apartment even had a telephone. The rooms were very large and had fantastic decorations and furniture. There was a washing machine and all the kitchen appliances you could need. The kitchen was large and had an eating area and each apartment had a lovely view.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 12Florence12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at these apartments and would certainly stay there again. The cleanliness was typical of other places we had stayed in Germany so came as no surprise, but the degree of comfort and space exceeded my expecatations, especially given the price. We had a one bedroomed apartment with spacious bedroom and extremely comfortable double bed-the standard German 2 matresses on a double frame and separate duvets-good sized bathroom with overbath shower and (unexpectedly) a washing machine. The living room was fine, although english language channels on the TV were a bit restricted. The kitchen was small but well equipped, even down to washing up liquid and tea towels. We had the freedom to fix our own food when we wanted, which saved money and calories and allowed us to shop where the locals do. You could also opt for breakfast at their guesthouse nearby or at many other cafes and bakeries. It isn't a hotel-the bed isn't made for you and towels aren't changed daily-but you have so much more flexibility.

What made this place special was the location, right in the heart of the altstadt. We could see the river and the historic Frauenkirche from our fifth floor ( there is a lift) window overlooking Munzgasse. We could walk to all the main sites in under 10 minutes and for longer journeys the public transport network is very efficient. We bought a 3 day regio card at the tourist office by the Semperoper which allowed us free admission to several museums and reductions to others, plus unlimited travel on all public transport in the Upper Elbe region. This meant we didn't have to bother with tickets on the trams and could hop on and off at will. Our ticket got us to Meissen-the old town is well worth a visit but the factory tour was overpriced for what you got- and out to the airport for our return flight. You can get day tickets for just transport if you don't want the museum side.

There were plenty of places to eat in the area at prices to suit all pockets. We chose to eat regional dishes where possible and these were generally tasty and generous. We have travelled a lot in Germany and find eating out is usually good value in local restaurants. The standard of cooking and service is certainly better than in the Uk.

If we go back to Dresden, and I would certainly like to see it in a year or two when yet more will have been restored to its former glory, I would certainly stay at these apartments again. I would also look for similar type accommodation in other cities as it suited us, middle aged, independent travellers who like comfort but not the restrictions of bland hotel chains. This was excellent value; without compromising on comfort we have enough money left from our budget for another long weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky13s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We visited the Apartment/Hotel An der Frauenkirche in Februar/March 2006. It is a very luxurious apartment with a separated living, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom; all are rather large and very well equiped. The living has a TV, mini-stereo, phone, ISDN and safe, a sitting accommodation and an eating place. The apartment has a kitchen in american style, a high equipped bathroom and is to achieve by lift. The bathroom has a large bath and a washstand, the kitchen has a fridge and the bedroom a very good bed. You can have breakfast in your room, but there is a bakery at about 100 meters from the apartment where you can buy fresh bread or even have breakfast, which is much cheaper. If you leave the apartment you will find several small restaurants in the neighbourhood at reasonable prices.
An der Frauenkirche is situated in the old part of Dresden near the famous Frauenkirche (completely reconstructed), which is worth a visit and/or attending a concert. The river the Elbe is about 100 meters, the shopping centre is a 10 min. walk. Staff is kind and give you all information you ask for.
We attended Weber´s Euryanthe at the Semperopera, a very nice building near the Zwinger, a masterpiece of the Baroque. Dresden has several reconstructed old buildings.
To reach the hotel we took the Metro from the airport to Dresden´s train station and than it is about 5 tram stops to reach the apartment. We paid 260,00 euro for four nights and as we booked trough Bookings, there were no extra charges.
Very, very recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2006

We were looking for a centrally-located hotel in Dresden that was reasonably priced and found the Apartments. It seems to be the only hotel near the Frauenkirchen other than the very expensive, probably five-star hotels. We also needed a secure garage in which to leave our new Porsche during our four-day stay.

We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Some of the furnishings were a bit on the tacky side, but we could live with that.

A few caveats -- the arrival instructions provided weren't very good, as the address is on Munzgasse, a pedestrian street. You have to enter a courtyard behind Munzgasse, go to the office, unload your bags, then take your car to whichever garage you use. Ours was in the Kempinski, several blocks away, but the Apartments also arranged for parking at the Steigenberger, right across the square.

Also, the nearest place to buy food for breakfast seemed to be a supermarket in the Altmarkt, in the lower level of a shopping mall. The Apartments office can give you instructions.

But we would definitely stay there again if we return to Dresden.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chandolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajolida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#16 of 119 in Dresden
2,116 reviews
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#31 of 119 in Dresden
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments an der Frauenkirche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments an der Frauenkirche

Address: Muenzgasse 10, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Dresden
Price Range: $71 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Apartments An Der Frauenkirche Hotel Dresden
Apartments An Der Frauenkirche Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing