We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this friendly hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kangaroo-Stop Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Right in the heart of Dresden 'New Town' next to the train station and tram stops this tucked-away hostel is unexpectedly large with nice grounds and facilities. There is a nice reception with free internet, a large and comfy common room with a large kitchen for self-catering. Our bedroom was well laid out in 2 sections (10-bed dorm) and was clean and nicely decorated in the same style as the rest of the hostel.

The staff were friendly and really helpful and, an unusual thing to mention, the beds and bedding were really comfy.

The price was not cheap but a very reasonable £12 and it had a real feel of a back-packers' hostel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Kangaroo-Stop Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here- he had such friendly helpful and welcoming staff, our private bedroom was great and spacious, the beds were comfy and everything was clean. The showers were lovely and hot. The kitchen area is great- have everything you could want, have recycling bins, have a shelf for people to leave food when they leave which saves on the money which is handy. Also it is in the middle of the old and new town- great location and the free map is so easy to use. The only downsides were that the WIFI was crap...we could not seem to get our code to work and it only lasts a day. There was no mirror in the first room we stayed in (we had two rooms because we decided to stay another night but had to change rooms) so I had to use the shared bathroom mirror. Overall great place though!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff
Common room is fun and social
Bed's are comfortable
Shower's are clean and hot!
All reception staff are there to help when you need it, not 24 hour reception however if you ring the door bell outside after hours someone will be at your service within minutes.

Loved my stay. The German receptionist with the piercings is a great laugh as well!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haycrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our 2 sons in their 20s stayed here in January and recommended it to us. We fully agree with the comments of Meri from Oct 6. We stayed 3 nights, had a 3 bed room to ourselves which was enormous. Bathroom and kitchen were great. We likied its midsize - not big and bussling. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a great time in Dresden and our stay at this hostel was part of that.

Room Tip: We obviously paid more to have a larger room to oursleves - it was light and airy with large windows...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A German friend booked this for me when no other hostels were available on this busy holiday weekend. I wasn't expecting much, and was very pleasantly surprised - turned out to be one of the very best hostels in which I've stayed, and I've stayed at many. The location was perfect - a block from train station, next to trams, 1 block from Albertplatz, short walk to the old city. Next, the staff was super friendly and helpful. Then, room and bathrooms were immaculate, and hot water was constant, instant, and good pressure. Then: they have 2 immaculate, well stocked kitchens for guests to use. What a deal!

One negative: no wifi in rooms, have to pay a small fee and then use it in the lounges - otherwise I would have rated it excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Perfect location, perfect price, perfect service. But still a little bit limited. These limitations didn’t influence me, but if you are heavily online, surely in Kangaroo, they will limit your Internet availability. 3 hours a day free, rest to pay 50 cents. Internet work just down.

I got a cool map on the reception desk, but on the other side, I haven’t got a bill. They don’t give you tickets or bills for nothing.

I haven’t passed any limitations at the hostel, but at the same time, I am not sure, if I will not try something else next time. Even the 10 bed hall was quite quiet as German hosts where quite and respectful. So I think they can work on being better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juandev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Location is very good, really 10-15 min walking to everything, both the night hang outs and the old city. Rooms are clean and spacious, staff is also really nice. The place has a good kitchen and common area. The atmosphere really depends on who is staying there at the moment. The bathrooms and showers are clean. Although the shower is a bit hard to use, you have to keep on pressing the button every 30 seconds or so or the water automatically shuts off. There is also not that much privacy in the shower, but there are separate showers for men and women. Wifi also could be a bit better. There is 3 hour limit that is continuous (once you start using the time starts even if you stop using it 10 minutes later). Overall I would recommend staying there as it was a good experience and a great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#17 of 118 in Dresden
1,549 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
IntercityHotel Dresden
#18 of 118 in Dresden
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo-Stop Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo-Stop Hostel

Address: Erna-Berger-Str. 8, 01097 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Dresden
Price Range: $21 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Stop Hostel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing