We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel. Very friendly. Can't wait to go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful.
The price is high, but you completely understand the prices when you get there.
My friends and I did a blind booking and got Dresden, and as a treat, I booked us into The Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe.

The hotel is directly on the main square, next to the Frauenkirchen, and a hop jump and a step to the Procession of Princes wall mural. We had a beautiful view over the square from our room.

The hotel itself is beautiful, and clean. The main lobby is lovely, and the bar is very nice.
Unfortunately, we didn't eat in the restaurant, as we were out and about, so ate elsewhere.

Our room was gorgeous. We arrived to a lovely arrangement of fruit, and complementary water. The housekeeping staff were very lovely and punctual, and didn't miss a thing.
The welcome documents were detailed, with history of the hotel included, and a little note with the following days' weather forecast which was a nice little detail.


The staff were extremely friendly and helpful without being unnecessarily over eager. (And not at all condescending. when we stayed I had bright pink hair, which unfortunately, usually causes a bit of eyebrow raising at least!) They were very happy to speak to us in English at times when our German wasn't up to scratch.

The location is perfect. Really amazing. So many things to see and do, and a street just across the square where you can get food of many different types. (We had a beautiful chinese evening meal at the top of the street just by the river, with live piano being played from below.... incredible)

I genuinely can't even begin to tell you how lovely it was to stay at this hotel.
I would 100% recommend the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, and Dresden in general.

Room Tip: Definitely try and get a room with a view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear 61Elizabeth,

it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment at TripAdvisor. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. Your commendation we already forwarded to our team.
We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden.

Best regards

Heidrun Waschhausen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is a very well maintained hotel at an excellent location, very good service and most friendly staff. I stayed only for three days, but can highly recommend the hotel.

I particularly enjoyed the wellness section of the hotel, which offers excellent facilities that are very well designed and maintained.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LangeManfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our favourite hotel that we stayed in whilst in Germany (we stayed at another 2 in separate destinations). The location is absolutely superb, right in the heart of things in a lovely big square where there was always something going on. The hotel is very clean and the front of house staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. You got the impression upon checking in that if any problems arose (there weren't any!), they would be quickly resolved! The breakfast was absolutely lovely, plenty of choice, we particularly liked the pastries and pancakes/maple syrup, choice of hot items. There was not an overwhelming amount, it was just right and quality of food was great. The staff were attentive but not overbearing. The rooms themselves were just the right size, very clean and comfortable. The whole vibe in this hotel is relaxing. We liked Dresden so much that we are already planning a return visit in 2 years' time, this time to spend the whole week in Dresden, which is so pretty and lots going on. Thorough recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddyHenleyonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

As if this wonderful hotel did not have enough amenities it is in a superb location for seeing the sites of Dresden. Located in the same square as the beautiful Frauenkirchen and about a one minute walk to the Procession of Princes wall mural. Many restaurants and high end shops nearby. Rooms, service and of course, the location make this an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the square (at the front of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel has a great location, great restaurant, helpful staff. I have to say that the problem that I find with the is that there is not free wifi, but 30minutes in the lobby per day. They need to realize that they are not East Germany any more, and catch up with the World.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielpavlukovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the moment our taxi drew up at the entrance to Steigenberger and the concierge ushered us in to this smart hotel, we knew we were in for a delightful stay. The staff are professional but friendly and service is of the highest calibre. Every single member of staff we encountered during our 4 days here ensured a memorable, five star stay.

The location on the main square of Dresden is enchanting and convenient. Everything is easy walking distance. We had drinks each afternoon at the hotel's outdoor area on the square watching the sunset over the old town. Our room on fifth floor facing the square was large, comfortable; with a modern immaculately clean bathroom.

I cannot imagine a more perfect hotel in Dresden.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main square have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeleneS780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A delightful hotel in a great location. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We were there two nights and were very pleased with our stay. The breakfasts were excellent and although we ate our evening meals elsewhere we had a nightcap in the bar on our last evening and enjoyed the ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe

Address: Neumarkt 9 | access via Landhausstraße 2, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dresden
#4 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#5 Business Hotel in Dresden
#8 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $104 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are unlikely to find a more beautiful and more central place to stay in Dresden than the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. It is located opposite the famous Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) and in the middle of Dresden's grand old town district with the most important tourist attractions just a few minutes walk away. The bright and upmarket ambience of the hotel's 178 rooms and 7 suites is sure to impress. Worthy of special note are the generous proportions of the hotel rooms, which, together with the elegant furnishings, guarantee a pleasant and relaxed stay in the heart of Dresden. It is not just the impressive view from the "Restaurant de Saxe" over the Frauenkirche and the Neumarkt that will impress you but also its exclusive flair. First class service, some choice wines and fine international and regional Saxony dishes enthral every guest. The 240 m² wellness area at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe offers a pamper-programme with its sauna, its green sanarium, its steam room and range of massage and cosmetic treatments. The hotel also has two Kneipp hydrotherapy baths and for the more sporty guests, there is also a fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing