We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steigenberger a delight.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the moment our taxi drew up at the entrance to Steigenberger and the concierge ushered us in to this smart hotel, we knew we were in for a delightful stay. The staff are professional but friendly and service is of the highest calibre. Every single member of staff we encountered during our 4 days here ensured a memorable, five star stay.

The location on the main square of Dresden is enchanting and convenient. Everything is easy walking distance. We had drinks each afternoon at the hotel's outdoor area on the square watching the sunset over the old town. Our room on fifth floor facing the square was large, comfortable; with a modern immaculately clean bathroom.

I cannot imagine a more perfect hotel in Dresden.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main square have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeleneS780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

A delightful hotel in a great location. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We were there two nights and were very pleased with our stay. The breakfasts were excellent and although we ate our evening meals elsewhere we had a nightcap in the bar on our last evening and enjoyed the ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is one of the most delightful hotels we have ever stayed in, from every aspect. You can't beat the location on the main square, the rooms are of ample size, nice and light. On sunny days like we experienced in September, they have an outdoor dining area on the square in front of the hotel. Everyone on the staff, from the front desk, to the waiters and housekeeping are extremely polite and friendly. You can really enjoy Dresden to it's fullest by staying at the Steigenberger.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is an ideally positioned hotel with easy access to the main tourist sites and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful and willing to please. However,the rooms facing the courtyard tend to be a little dark so we upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel,which was lovely! We enjoyed our stay here despite the fact that the air-con didn't work properly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892Janpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel has a great location, right on the new square and within easy walking distance of the more modern shops and galleries. The hotel room we had was a nice room with a free safe etc, the only downside was the view which was over a glass canopy covering the reception, and overlooked by the rooms opposite. The bar area is quite small and on the second night was hosting a reception of some kind so that the inside area was out of bounds. You could sit outside and order drinks etc from there. The breakfast buffet was good with hot and cold food available. Although wi-fi is chargable you are allowed 30 minutes oer day free.

Room Tip: If you want a view make sure you are not overlooking the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of the renovated New Market. Easy access to the restaurants, shops and river cruises.
The hotel is clean, well decorated and rooms are large and comfortable. There is a large selection of all types of food at breakfast and a balcony overlooking the square to eat at if you choose.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Hotel is really in a wonderful position. You are in the middle of the down town, among churches, official buildings and museums. Personnel is well prepared to support you and the Hotel is very clean and fresh. Rooms are very silent and no noise can enter from outside. Breakfast is varied and luxury meeting all taste.

Room Tip: Ask for view on main place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 270GianlucaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe

Address: Neumarkt 9 | access via Landhausstraße 2, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dresden
#4 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#5 Business Hotel in Dresden
#8 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $104 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are unlikely to find a more beautiful and more central place to stay in Dresden than the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. It is located opposite the famous Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) and in the middle of Dresden's grand old town district with the most important tourist attractions just a few minutes walk away. The bright and upmarket ambience of the hotel's 178 rooms and 7 suites is sure to impress. Worthy of special note are the generous proportions of the hotel rooms, which, together with the elegant furnishings, guarantee a pleasant and relaxed stay in the heart of Dresden. It is not just the impressive view from the "Restaurant de Saxe" over the Frauenkirche and the Neumarkt that will impress you but also its exclusive flair. First class service, some choice wines and fine international and regional Saxony dishes enthral every guest. The 240 m² wellness area at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe offers a pamper-programme with its sauna, its green sanarium, its steam room and range of massage and cosmetic treatments. The hotel also has two Kneipp hydrotherapy baths and for the more sporty guests, there is also a fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing