We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel is a perfect location (right in the old city centre), the rooms were quite spacious and extremely clean. The staff was also very pleasant and we would definately recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cls871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

...not for your vacation. The breakfast buffet is beyond sumptuous in terms of offerings, and the service polite and cheery. The rooms, however, are just ordinary, and the price is high for what you get. if you're in Dresden for business, it's a good bet. Oh, the Frauenkirche view is superb, but you'll hear its bells all throughout the night.

Room Tip: If you choose to view the Frauenkirche, say goodbye to a good night's sleep (unless you have ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of historic Dresden with views of the Frauenkirche and therefore within walking distance to all the major sites. It's easily accessible by public transport (train from airport then short trip on tram) and also only a short walk to the river Elbe.

It's a relatively new building with rooms of a very nice size and good bathroom, very modern and clean. From the outside it looks historic in keeping with the other buildings reconstructed in the square and therefore is a good mixture of old and new. The staff are very friendly (in fact, we only met really friendly and helpful people in Dresden!!) and everything was organised very efficiently.

The breakfast buffet is very extensive with lots of hot and cold choices and well worth paying for if you enjoy a good breakfast. Also, the breakfast room has views of the Frauenkirche and you can sit outside if the weather permits. It's also big enough so you don't have to queue or feel rushed by people waiting to be seated.

So altogether a really good place and we will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshine187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The position of this hotel is excellent, in the Aldtstadt" close to the river Elba and to the museums. The rooms are fairly large and comfortable. The windows are a good screen for noise. It is not possible to have complete obscuration, so if you need dark, during the summer, take a mask along. Be sure to specify so, if you want a non-smoker room. We hadn't and the first night had to sleep in a really "smelly" room.
There is a rich buffet breakfast, though expensive, when not included in the price of the room.
The staff is kind and competent.
The wi-fi use is for fee. You can use the computer in the entrance hall for 30 min with no charge. Considering the level of the hotel, wi-fi should be included.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeSaxe, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Paola,

thank you for visiting our house and for taking the time to rate us at TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure for us to read, that you enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. We are really sorry that you did not get a non-smoking room at first. To avoid that next time, we made a note for a non-smoking-room in your guest file.
All our rooms are equipped with darkening curtains or at the upper floor with window blinds. We regret that you could not benefit by this furnishing.
Thank you for your hint concerning the wi-fi. We will discuss this question with our team.
Dear Paola, we thank you very much for your comments, as they give us the possibility to improve our services. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hotel de Saxe is situated exactly where you want to be when you are visiting Dresden!
Very comfortable rooms, with all amenities, fabulous buffet style breakfast with international papers available.
Stayed here three different times whilst in Dresden, family trip, business and solo - all great!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the front square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel could not have a better location in central Dresden opposite the newly rebuilt Fraunekirche. The main rail station is 15 mins walk away (5 by taxi). The hotel is new but buildt behind a rconstructed historic facade so it looks great outside and in. Rooms are large, very comfortable and well equipped. Beds are very comfortable and bathroom excellent.
There is a very good breakfast buffet with everything you could want (hot and cold selections) and is very good value if you if you like eating a hearty breakfast but probably expensive if all you want is coffee and cereal.
The only downside was that we booked the special dinner offer which included a three course meal in the restaurant. While there was nothing wrong with the food we were very disappointed to be presented with a fixed menu with no choices whatsoever. If you were vegetarian or couldn't eat certain foods you would be stuck unless you paid for the more expensive a la carte menu (not included in the offer). I don't think I have ever been presented with a fixed menu like this on the basis of "like it or lump it" in any hotel in the past 25 years! One to avoid but the hotel and the rest our stay was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pevsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeSaxe, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Mr. Pevsner,
Thank you very much for your visit in our house and for rating our house at TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed our hotel as well as our services. The more we regret, that you did not like the special dinner’s menu. As this is a special offer there is no choice within the menu. But there’s always the possibility to change components or courses, e.g. if you are vegetarian or if you are allergic to something. We will discuss your advice with the service team.
Dear Mr. Pevsner, we are looking forward to welcome you again at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

simply an excellent Hotel set in a wonderful location

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe

Address: Neumarkt 9 | access via Landhausstraße 2, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dresden
#4 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Business Hotel in Dresden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#7 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $115 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are unlikely to find a more beautiful and more central place to stay in Dresden than the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. It is located opposite the famous Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) and in the middle of Dresden's grand old town district with the most important tourist attractions just a few minutes walk away. The bright and upmarket ambience of the hotel's 178 rooms and 7 suites is sure to impress. Worthy of special note are the generous proportions of the hotel rooms, which, together with the elegant furnishings, guarantee a pleasant and relaxed stay in the heart of Dresden. It is not just the impressive view from the "Restaurant de Saxe" over the Frauenkirche and the Neumarkt that will impress you but also its exclusive flair. First class service, some choice wines and fine international and regional Saxony dishes enthral every guest. The 240 m² wellness area at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe offers a pamper-programme with its sauna, its green sanarium, its steam room and range of massage and cosmetic treatments. The hotel also has two Kneipp hydrotherapy baths and for the more sporty guests, there is also a fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing