We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Very nice hotel in the heart of the 'new' old city. Parking difficult or very expensive in the garage below. The air conditioning wasn't working in the fitness area, very warm... Besides that, very good hotel with a nice restaurant itself and plenty in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    860
    164
    19
    7
See reviews for
346
1,194
77
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

When you walk out the front door, you're right there in the main square. The room was just the right size for the price and quite comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and very helpful. The only drawback is the cost of parking in the public park garage which is located below the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

On our trip though Germany, some people were less than complimentary about visiting the old East including Dresden. Obviously a bit of East/West bias still out there.
Dresden we found a fascinating place with the new/rebuilt buildings looking fabulous. The Frauenkirk looks immense and very proud of its new stonework since its recent reinstatement.
The Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe is the type of hotel you have to stay in a place like this. Its very central (its in the main square so its bang in the middle) and the view of the square with all of its finery just opens up when you walk out the front door. Its modern and very comfortable inside with a nice bar area behind the reception. The staff are very pleasant and fall over themselves to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. The spa area is very spacious with a variety of saunas, steam rooms, small but well equipped gym and a chill out area with magazines.
Despite the weather being cold and wet for the 4 days we spent there, we will return to see more of the area and will stay at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were staying here as part of a package deal with Riviera Travel and were impressed with the central location of this hotel. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed for our stay, including a mini-bar (not that we used the contents, merely chilled our own drinks for our days out!) The full range of the buffet breakfast provided was more than adequate to sustain us until an evening meal. The staff were friendly and obliging and if I were visiting Dresden again I would certainly choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEH8658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Sits opposite Frauenkirche and market square. Most of the interesting things are within walking distance. Breakfast in the restaurant is perfect when you can sit outside overlooking the square.

Nice enough rooms though the TV is antiquated and there are no slippers provided. Biggest shortcoming is lack of free internet access.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
209 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We arrived at the hotel in late afternoon and checked into our room on the 4th floor.
The hotel is just 5 years old and is perfectly situated in the neumarkt opposite the slendour of the Frauenkirche. Our room was exceptionally well furnished throughout and extremely comfortable. We did not experience any streetnoise at night from what is always a very busy square and with very soft pillows enjoyed a very good nights sleep.
A major benefit for us being the tea and coffee making facilities available in each bedroom.
Breakfast is served in the main hotel restaurant on the first floor and can be taken on the summer terrace overlooking the Neumarkt if so wished. We found an excellent breakfast choice with very attentive and friendly service from the restaurant staff.
Dinner can also be taken in the hotel although there are countless and varied restaurants available in the vicinity of the hotel. The Neumarkt is vibrant and interesting throughout the day and evening.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the important historic sights in the city.
The River Elbe is also no more than a 5 minute walk from the hotel where boat trips are available. Excellent shopping centre close to the hotel at the Altmarkt and a smaller and interesting centre at " The Passage" which is situated on the opposite side of the square. There is a Meissen Outlet store in the " Passage" together with other very interesting stores.
During our stay we paid a visit to the Meissen Porcelain Factory and took the Factory Tour. This is a very interesting and informative experience and would thoroughly recommend it. There is an impressive castle which stands proud above the town.
Meissen can easily be reached by either road or on one of the river boat cruises.
We cans urely say that we would love to return again to both Dresden and the superb Steigenberger hotel de Saxe in the future when we hope we will have more time to explore all the delights and sights of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

brill location,clean ,good food, nice gym would use again

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brumex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
634 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe

Property: Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe
Address: Neumarkt 9, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dresden
#4 Family Hotel in Dresden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#5 Business Hotel in Dresden
#8 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are unlikely to find a more beautiful and more central place to stay in Dresden than the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. It is located opposite the famous Frauenkirche (Church of Our Lady) and in the middle of Dresden's grand old town district with the most important tourist attractions just a few minutes walk away. The bright and upmarket ambience of the hotel's 178 rooms and 7 suites is sure to impress. Worthy of special note are the generous proportions of the hotel rooms, which, together with the elegant furnishings, guarantee a pleasant and relaxed stay in the heart of Dresden. It is not just the impressive view from the "Restaurant de Saxe" over the Frauenkirche and the Neumarkt that will impress you but also its exclusive flair. First class service, some choice wines and fine international and regional Saxony dishes enthral every guest. The 240 m² wellness area at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe offers a pamper-programme with its sauna, its green sanarium, its steam room and range of massage and cosmetic treatments. The hotel also has two Kneipp hydrotherapy baths and for the more sporty guests, there is also a fitness studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing