We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great romantic scape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great romantic scape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Dresden is a live example of what mankind can do, for the good and for the bad. After the terror and destruction left by WWII, the wonderful historic buildings were rebuilt at perfection. Just a few kilometers away from the fantastic historic town, the Schloss Hotel Pillnitz is a gorgeous destination for romance and gastronomy. The hotel is spotless, with friendly staff and a fantastic restaurant. Taking a peaceful walk in the castle garden after a fantastic meal under a full moon is a privilege not to be forgotten.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertoB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
60
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nurmijarvi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

The Schlosshotel Dresden-Pillnitz is ideally situated between Dresden, Saxon Switzerland and among other nice places the Bad Schandau, located in fabulous castle surroundings.
Staff really outdid themselves, when my wife and I visited the hotel in mid-October, '08. Room was nicely rustic, super-clean and with most options, including a hairdryer and fridge. Exceptionally clean bathroom & shower, and the whole hotel seems to have been refurbished just "days ago", as everything just gleams! We are giving a full five stars to this 4-star hotel!

Joe & Ann
Finland

  • Liked — Extreme cleanliness and courteous service.
  • Disliked — There was nothing such.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigBlockV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

After staying in and driving through centers of several large cities-Budapest and Prague, we really enjoyed the quiet relaxing atmosphere of the Schlosshotel Dresden Pillintz. Even though the location is more than a 20 minute drive into Dresden, this area directly next to the palace is lovely and local restaurants were delightful. There is a nearby ferry and then a bus ride into the city but we did not use it. We thought that breakfast was one of the best in our 16 days of travel, but their restaurant was very over-priced for lunch and dinner. The rooms were comfortable and decorated nicely, but there is no business center to use internet . The staff was helpful , pleasant and all spoke English. We would have extended our 2 night stay if available.

  • Liked — More relaxing atmosphere than city center and beauty of the area. Also the wonderful palace next door
  • Disliked — 20 minute + drive into Dresden
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed here after reading the reviews and so happy we did. We travelled with 2 boys 11 and 13. We could not get a booking through any of the bargain websites and decided to contact the hotel directly. They were fantastic and did their utmost to ensure we had the accommodation we required. We had 2 beautiful rooms and the hotel is in the most divine location. The rooms were clean and spacious. Dinner in the restaurant was sublime. Could not fault our stay in any way.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Crakma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

Our family has stayed in many hotels in Europe, and the Schloss Hotel Pillnitz is our new favorite. The staff and facilities of the Pillnitz exceeded our expectations in every way. The hotel is located on the grounds of a beautiful palace on the banks of the Elbe. Within minutes of checking in, we were stretching our legs in the gardens and buildings on the palace grounds. The rooms have been recently remodelled and are relatively large and in pristine condition. Beautiful view of the Palace from our rooms. We have a family of five so we require two rooms and a rollaway everywhere we go in Europe. We received adjoining rooms, the rollaway was there (a minor miracle), made, with extra towels and toiletries. The staff was extremely friendly, and knew us by name the first time we walked through the front door. The staff insisted on speaking English although we speak a passable amount of German. The hotel has two restaurants. The one we ate in was very nice and again the staff was perfect. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from the center of Dresden, but we had no difficulty driving or parking in Dresden so this was not a disadvantage. Not only would we stay here again, but we will not return to Dresden unless there are rooms available at the Pillnitz.

Helpful?
5 Thank JohnGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2006

This is a good location from which to visit Dresden, Meissen and Swiss Saxony. As it's out of town, on the river, a relaxing atmosphere pervades.

The bedrooms are large, not luxurious but well furnished in a slightly rustic way. Very clean with good beds and a nice bathroom. No public rooms to speak of. Helpful staff and management. Quiet, once the many tourists visiting the Schloss next door have gone (go see the 200 year old camelia in the gardens).

Two restaurants, one of which is stated to be for "feinschmeckers" (gourmets to you!) with a French chef. We ate there and had a pretty good meal, although we had to wait an excessively long time for it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NigelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

Nicely furnished rooms looking over car park or into courtyard (with restaurant). Park of Pillnitz Castle is fabulous and easily accessible after the day tourists have left. Nice service. When we were there they had 2 big parties - one wedding, one graduation - that could hardly be heard in the room. We tried a nice restaurant close by that looks out over the Elbe and has good food for moderate prices (---).

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berlingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Loschwitz
Schloss Eckberg
Schloss Eckberg
#36 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Kim Hotel Im Park
#41 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
#60 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Hotel Smetana
#39 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz

Property: Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz
Address: August-Bockstiegel-Strasse 10, 01326 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Loschwitz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#31 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel, privately owned and run by the Zepp family, is located in the castle grounds of Pillnitz Castle, the picturesque former residence of the Kings of Saxony in Saxony's capital, Dresden. Enjoy the peaceful quiet and artistic ambiance of this beautiful royal summer residence on the Elb river, and discover Dresden and its delightful surroundings from Pillnitz. Two romantic suites with a water bed, one Elb suite and forty-two double bedrooms in four-star quality await you for your stay. Our castle hotel offers the ideal room for the most breathtaking moments in life – in a truly spectacular and indeed very romantic scenario. You can choose among several attractive options, such as the Elbe suite (Elbsuite), the romantic suite (Romantiksuite) with waterbed, or even the comfort- and superior suite (Komfortzimmer- and Superiorzimmer) with sight of the castle or of the wine fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hotel Dresden Pillnitz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing