We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel. Next time we go to Dresden, we'll book this hotel again. It was an excellent experience.
It is a beautiful hotel with high standard interior design. But most of all, the employees do a wonderful job. The owners of the hotel can be very proud to have such professionals. These people make you feel at home immediately and the hotel bar serves superb food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 151 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are so lucky now days to be able to stay in such a lovely palace setting!! Schloss Pillnitz was once the summer palace of the king of Saxony.....it's location on the banks of the river Elbe is a dream. The hotel itself is perfect... the service excellent, the food delicious. What really makes it so special though is this feeling of history and the beauty of the location and of the palace buidings - which have been wonderfuly restored. Staying there for 2 nights last week - Sept.12- was a real treat.
As we missed the road from Pirna we drove up on the opposite side of the Elbe and then took the 2 min ferry across to Pillnitz. This added to the magic as our first sighting of the hotel was from the ferry....a beautiful palace bathed in the late afternoon light.
We decided to go to Dresden center by tram instead of driving there and having to find a parking. It was a wise decision....it takes only a few minutes to walk to the ferry, then 2 minutes across and up the street, about 300 meters, is the tram stop of Kleinzschachwitz for Dresden - Tram no 2. Took us about 30 minutes to reach Altmarke..and the heart of the city.
We highly recommend Scloss Pillnitz and we would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Dresden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but ate lunch in the restaurant on a day trip to Pillnitz. I had the lamb soup and it was absolutely delicious! My husband had the potato soup and it was also wonderful. Service was excellent. I would strongly recommend the restaurant for a meal even if you don't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Barglox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is absolutely pure luxus. We were very satisfied with our stay there.

Friendly and effective staff, who were good at english, where our german vocabulary failed ;0)

Nice, tidy and very quiet rooms with view to the vineyards with their guard towers and a small ruin.

Excellent breakfast. We bought their 3 course menu at night (EUR 25), which was also an experience and could absolutely be recommended.

Nice park with a significant greenhouse for this 250 year old Camellia. Buy your ticket at the reception and get a discount. Take your tour in the park early in the morning or in the afternoon, as the park could be crowded with tourist.

Take the small Ferry across the Elbe. Just drive aboard in your car. Below EUR 5 for the car and two persons. It's just in the "backyard" of the castle and the fastest way to Dresden City. Otherwise you will have to drive along the Elbe.

Take a walk to the vineyards or go there by bike/car. Just 2 km. Good view of the castle, sourranding and Dresden.

It's possible to rent a bike (or bring your own) and discover the area along the Elbe.

Fortress Königsstein is only about 20 km away and an experience too.

We only missed a indoor pool or wellness area.

For english speaking travellers, this site could be useful:
http://www.schloesserland-sachsen.de/en/palaces_castles_and_gardens/gardens_and_parks/pillnitz_castle_and_park/

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Hotel lives up to it's 4-star rating and more. In fact it is much better than many 5-star Hotels I have stayed at. Everything is impeccable - nothing is out of place. The rooms are immaculate and in pristine condition, and have everything except tea/coffee which was surprising. The breakfast was very good, and the evening meals we had were delicious. All of the staff were very courteous, and the bartender Manuel a star. We really felt that the Hotel did all they could to make our occasion as memorable as possible.
The Hotel is/was a part of the Schloss, and occupies a fantastic position next to the Palace and River. It is extremely good value, and it's hard to imagine how it could be improved on (in contrast with Dresden itself which is dull and uniteresting). It's odd that the Hotel does not have an English version of its website.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for Christmas 2011. The rooms were large and clean. The staff were great, not all could speak English but many could and they all went out of their way to help. The restaurant was wonderful.
It was a lovely family run hotel which was lovely particularly over Christmas.
Because we travelled by train the hotel picked us up and dropped us off at the train station.
I would definitely stay here again it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frances876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Requested a upper level room (would highly recommend this--so you can leave windows open with privacy). Our room overlooked the outdoor restaurant seating and garden area. Room was extremely clean with a large bathroom (very nice!!!). Take a walk through the grounds and down to the castle's verdanda are overlooking the Elbe River and watch river cruise boats and just imagine what it must have been like years ago. Enjoyed a ride in one of the hotel vehicles (ours was a BMW sedan) for 25 euros to the train station. Well worth it! As others have mentioned, excellent breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: upper level room for more visual privacy overlooking courtyard/restaurant. Tree canopy over restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Smetana
#38 of 118 in Dresden
126 reviews
Loschwitz
Schloss Eckberg
Schloss Eckberg
#31 of 118 in Dresden
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz

Address: August-Bockstiegel-Strasse 10, 01326 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Loschwitz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#31 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $128 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel, privately owned and run by the Zepp family, is located in the castle grounds of Pillnitz Castle, the picturesque former residence of the Kings of Saxony in Saxony's capital, Dresden. Enjoy the peaceful quiet and artistic ambiance of this beautiful royal summer residence on the Elb river, and discover Dresden and its delightful surroundings from Pillnitz. Two romantic suites with a water bed, one Elb suite and forty-two double bedrooms in four-star quality await you for your stay. Our castle hotel offers the ideal room for the most breathtaking moments in life – in a truly spectacular and indeed very romantic scenario. You can choose among several attractive options, such as the Elbe suite (Elbsuite), the romantic suite (Romantiksuite) with waterbed, or even the comfort- and superior suite (Komfortzimmer- and Superiorzimmer) with sight of the castle or of the wine fields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Schloss Hotel Dresden-Pillnitz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hotel Dresden Pillnitz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing