We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

a brand new business hotel, ideally located for exploring the old city and the sights (and nearby Christmas market). Rooms are clean but on the small side, no closets and no tub. Breakfast (cost 7.5 Euros) is decent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you liked our hotel and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden Zwinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 424 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here very soon after it first opened - our new office is right next door.
Lovely foyer / lobby / bar / restaurant area - but the rooms are awful!! They are miniscule - you almost expect to see people standing outside swinging cats.....
There's not even a cupboard to hang shirts in - just a hook on the wall.
Far too tiny / minimalist for me, I'm afraid. Horrid.
Go to the NH Hotel in Altmarkt - 5 minute walk away and much, much better.

Room Tip: You can't choose a good room here - unless you are a small child or about 2 foot tall!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

In order to guarantee our unbeatable rates, we renounce everything that is not absolutely necessary - always having our guests in mind.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden Zwinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This new hotel is just across from the Zwinger and 2 minutes from the Royal castle etc. staff friendly and helpful; they changed our room so that we had a view of the Zwinger (the other side is a disused block!). Clean, comfortable and quiet. Motel One has a winning combination!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Zwinger side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglasjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a great hotel for a short stay. It's brand new and super clean. The rooms are quite small and basic but they are very clean and comfortable. The wifi is excellent, the breakfast is sufficient and the staff are friendly. It's directly across the road from the Altmakt shopping complex and numerous food outlets and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fantastic design came as a great surprise as we approached this place. Very smart and modern with stunning public areas - in particular we were impressed by the outside bar area. And the location is excellent, right next to the Zwinger palace and the Treasure Vaults.
The reception staff were good but awfully stretched - there was usually only one person on at any time dealing with check-in/outs, breakfast payments, garage payments and general enquiries.
The rooms were bright and clean but awfully small. Really not adequately sized for two persons, especially if you had any ambition to unpack suitcases. OK for a weekend break but not an extended stay.
Breakfast was extremely good and the buffet was kept constantly topped up. Why charge it as an extra though, especially when the desk staff can't cope with your payment for it on top of their other tasks?
This was mostly a brilliant place - just a couple of things that haven't been thought through.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is quite new, therefore everything was in shipshape.
The people from the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The price is ok at 69 €. The basic concept of efficient room planning gives you just the space you need, sometimes everything could be little bit bigger. Breakfast was ok, the place for it a little bit crowded. Nonetheless I would recommend it again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buxham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the very good places to stay when visitng Dresden. We pleasantly discovered the Motel One hotel chain that we've choosen also for other cities during our trip in Germany, very modern and totally affordable. Rooms are small but you'll find everything you need, hotel hall is really enjoable, breakfast is fully ok at reasonable price (7,50 EUR/person/night). Parking in the basement is comfortable to forget about the car during your visit of the city (15 EUR/day).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
IntercityHotel Dresden
#22 of 118 in Dresden
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Dresden am Zwinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Address: Postplatz 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range: $81 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Dresden am Zwinger 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel One Dresden am Zwinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing