We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place to visit Dresden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
417 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Ideal place to visit Dresden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the very good places to stay when visitng Dresden. We pleasantly discovered the Motel One hotel chain that we've choosen also for other cities during our trip in Germany, very modern and totally affordable. Rooms are small but you'll find everything you need, hotel hall is really enjoable, breakfast is fully ok at reasonable price (7,50 EUR/person/night). Parking in the basement is comfortable to forget about the car during your visit of the city (15 EUR/day).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    187
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
140
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaharut, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mom and I stayed in Beautiful Dresden for 2 nights in during the annual festival of August 16-18. We loved the room. Although it was relatively small, the design and the use of space was excellant. There was air condition. The colors of the room were ellegant. Staff was friendly, polite and helpfull. The location was super! The location was far from the noise yet, close to all main attractions. We wished we stayed another night.

Room Tip: We were happy with the room given to us in the 4th floor. We had a view of the new streets not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taranhanoded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights in July. Brand new hotel with a brand new staff. I really like this chain and it hurts to have to say that my first impression of the bar/restaurant was very poor. We were ignored by the bar staff and there was only ourselves and one other party, ouch! It wasn't until we got up left that staff attempted to serve us.

Front desk and breakfast staff were outstanding. Breakfast was the standard buffet spread with cold cuts, breads, yoghurt, and self serve coffee/juices. The patio with the hanging chairs, tables and little fountains is a nice touch, especially in summer.

Room was typically budget-europe with respect to size. However, Motel-One's styling and decorating are consistent with a much higher price point. Loved the bed and the shower was awesome with the rain head. So, you have a really cool, comfortable well designed but small room!

Well located right off the tram line and minutes from the old town area. There is a mall across the street with a grocery store. One tip - if you are arriving in Dresden by train, a taxi may be a good choice as it is a circuitous route to the motel if you are not familiar with the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GusM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stylish, beautiful, staff smiley and helpful, check-in even in Czech language + you get alcoholic welcome drink at the bar that was nice. The rooms are not huge, but with comfortable bed, with modern design and brand-new bathroom - spotless. The breakfast we got was nice. The view from our room was perfect - direct view at the Zwinger. The whole place is kept clean and tidy, the lobby is quiet and cozy. Outside the motel is nice seating area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarka_Mikli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at Motel One am Zwinger just two days after their opening and had a good experience, although everything does not work smooth yet.

Check-in: very friendly - credit card system didn't work well - I've been asked wether I prefer a room with a view or a quite room.

Room: I got a room with a bit of a view (no Zwinger in sight) and not really quite, so I went back to check-in and asked for a change, which was no problem at all and they were still very friendly. I stayed on 5th floor and got a Zwinger view - rooms are very tiny but stylish, modern and well appointed - the same goes for the bathroom, but there's no soap in the bathroom.

Cafe/Bar: I trieded to get a coffee in the morning at the bar/cafe, but several employees were busy setting up the outside area and didn't pay attention.

The construction part of this hotel doesn't affect the part which is already open.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen H, Verkaufsleiter at Motel One Dresden am Zwinger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel One Dresden Zwinger.

Your feedback allows us to improve our services and to guarantee a beautiful and pleasant stay in the future.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback.

Best regards,
Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Swissotel Dresden
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#15 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#14 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Dresden am Zwinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Dresden am Zwinger

Property: Motel One Dresden am Zwinger
Address: Postplatz 5, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Dresden am Zwinger 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Motel One Dresden am Zwinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing