We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget stay”
Review of Mezcalero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mezcalero
Ranked #3 of 108 Dresden B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend came to Dresden for a few days in the middle of a stay in Prague and stayed at the Mezcalero. Rooms were very clean as was the shared bathroom (as it goes, I don't think we actually shared the bathroom with anyone during our stay).

The breakfast wasn't so much to our tastes, however, it was very nice to hear we could have breakfast as late as 12 and there was a lot on offer. We were perhaps not too hungry due to a hangover being spoilt by what was on offer at the nearby Christmas markets. The main shopping area and museums were about a 20 minute walk away. During our stay the Christmas markets made this walk much longer - but in a good way, as we would linger around with a mulled wine looking at the different stalls.

Around our hotel there seemed to be a lot of bars and restaurants, although it wasn't very busy midweek.

One final negative: single beds/mattresses pushed together to make doubles just aren't double.
One final positive: free wifi that worked very well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Dresden is not where one expects to find a Mexican-themed hotel, but we enjoyed it. We booked a double room with private bathroom and had a spacious two-room suite. The building is set back from the street and so the room was quiet. There is not an elevator but the staff carried our bags up.

The location is about half a block from an intersection of tram lines, which run often and will get you to the city center in 10 minutes or the train station in 15. Also the area around the hotel is lively at night, and Daniel Liebeskind's new Military History Museum is an easy walk.

Room Tip: The double room with private bath is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A very funky Mexican-style hotel. About a 15 min tram ride from the centre of Dresden. Nice shower with a lot of pressure :) The breakfast is GORGEOUS, a wonderful selection of anything your heart desires in the morning :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KugelZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at Mezcalero in December 2010 with my friend and then again in December 2011 with my boyfriend. Prices are very favorable also in times of christmas markets. I know two rooms, both of them were completely different, but still decorated in nice colours, aztec-mexican style, interesting furniture, clean and comfortable. We had the private bathroom and in one of this rooms there was also nice kitchen with all basic dishes you need. Beds are comfortable and because it is in the block of buildings and not situated at the main road it is also really quiet.
Breakfast is not included in the price, but I recommend to pay this extra fee and you will have a nice start of your day. Staff was always very kind, helpful, polite and friendly. They are not still at the reception, because they help also in the restaurant, sometimes you have to ring the bell. Parking in the yard was free of charge.
What else to say? Definitale recommend this place, due to my opinion it is not only for budget travellers. I stayed in different accomodation styles and I can say that in this one I felt welcome and like at home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanka_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A few minor difficulties: the neighbourhood is still under transition and some of the nearby buildings a block behind, etc. show evidence of rough living - not a problem for me but might be a consideration for young families. Not the most comfortable bed; were not allowed out on the balconies - not safe; internet spotty at times but at least free. Good outweighs the bad though: excellent location - within walking distance of a lovely, large park one direction, and the older section over the river in the other direction. Very close (few blocks off) to a funky art-yard inner courtyards connected and artistically painted - shops, etc. A laundromat right around the corner. Tram line out front. Grocer with fresh produce next door one direction; larger general grocer nearby in other direction. Really nice courtyard with gazebo. Fun decor - colourful, homey. Our room for four had a bathroom but the others in our group had to share one in the hallway with more people. Our shower-head kept falling off and bonked each of us on the head at least once - but at least we had our own bathroom. Plenty of places to stores our things. By 'renting' the tables through buying a beer - the group was able to use the tables in the bar/restaurant to study. Breakfast not bad but be sure to get there early to get any fruit. Staff friendly. Nowhere for us to hang our towels except on the door - which all four of us couldn't do - so used the fake cactus in the room.

Room Tip: Ask about which rooms have private bathrooms. The breakfast is served in two areas: the lounge room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

if you love people and great places you found the one in town - we loooooved it and will come back anytime. SUNNY experience. ciao.


PS we enjoyed A3 - allows feeling home in town with kids and enough space to work as well!

Room Tip: we enjoyed A3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreaswgerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I booked a ticket from clear trip but the service of the hotel was not up to mark.
They charged us 2200 Rs for a day but in that price the room and hotel is not good.
They given us very small deluxe room. I requested at reception to show me one or 2 more rooms but they refused to show us. The receptionists are not good she always refused the things whatever she promised earlier. There is a communication gap. The food quality is also not good. Booking from net is not always satisfactory because they show and promise something and you get totally different. I am not happy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Faizrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
853 reviews
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hexenhaus
#13 of 108 in Dresden
73 reviews
Apartpension Altstadtperle
#34 of 108 in Dresden
57 reviews
Plauen
Gaestehaus Am Weberplatz
Gaestehaus Am Weberplatz
#9 of 108 in Dresden
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezcalero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezcalero

Address: Koenigsbruecker Str. 64 | 1. Hinterhaus, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Dresden
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mezcalero 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our GuestHouse Mezcalero is located in the Dresden Neustadt in the center of Dresden. The historic center is easily reached on foot or by tram. There is a tram stop just 100 meters away. We offer rooms in different categories. Single and double rooms with shared shower or ensuite, apartments with kitchenette and TV as well as 4-6 bed rooms for families and smaller groups. Our delicious breakfast buffet can be booked on the spot. In our yard there is a limited number of parking spaces available and our summer garden invites you to relax. Just have a rest at our place and feel at least a little bit like being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mezcalero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing