We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great places”
Review of Mezcalero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mezcalero
Ranked #3 of 108 Dresden B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2011

if you love people and great places you found the one in town - we loooooved it and will come back anytime. SUNNY experience. ciao.


PS we enjoyed A3 - allows feeling home in town with kids and enough space to work as well!

Room Tip: we enjoyed A3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreaswgerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

I booked a ticket from clear trip but the service of the hotel was not up to mark.
They charged us 2200 Rs for a day but in that price the room and hotel is not good.
They given us very small deluxe room. I requested at reception to show me one or 2 more rooms but they refused to show us. The receptionists are not good she always refused the things whatever she promised earlier. There is a communication gap. The food quality is also not good. Booking from net is not always satisfactory because they show and promise something and you get totally different. I am not happy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Faizrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Mezcalero is an inexplicably Mexican themed hotel in the Neustadt section of Dresden. The neighborhood is hip and a little grungy, and the hotel follows in that vein. Our room had a lofted "high bed," which was novel and fun, and the decor was quirky but fine enough.

Our room had a sink but shared a bath with 3 other rooms on the hall. I found this to be a bit of a problem for several reasons: The shower and toilet were in the same room, so if you needed to use the bathroom during a peak shower time, you could be left hopping from foot to foot. (Especially when someone decided to blow-dry her hair in there, at great length.) Also, the rooms are only made up every other day, to cut costs. I don't mind this for a hotel bedroom, since I don't make much mess, but the shared bathroom got dirty and smelly by the second day.

Service was fine. We were allowed to park our car in their small lot. Breakfast was a nice buffet with more than just the typical German breakfast of muesli, rolls, and cold cuts. They had pancakes, fresh fruit, muffins, etc. along with tried and true ham and cheese. The hotel also has a bar and TV room where we enjoyed some beer and watched the European cup final (sad when Germany lost).

A fine place to stay for the hostel aged crowd and a decent bargain. Neustadt is connected to the historic downtown area of Dresden by two tram lines for your sightseeing needs, but the area around the hotel is also fun to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crustaceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2007

We stayed at El Mezcalero without reading any reviews as there were none we could find.
Their website was very cool and the place looked interesting so we decided to give it a try.
The Mezcalero was ok. Our only big disappointment was that there was no TV. I know it sounds stupid since we do not go on vacation to watch tv but we do like to watch it when we are in the room and we missed it. I do not think I ever read in their website that the rooms did not have a tv, otherwise we would have been prepared.
Other than that, I got to say that the breakfast was not worth the extra expense as it was very basic and you can find a better value around the area.
Positives:
The rooms were huge. The decor was Mexican as expected and kind of cool.
The service at the front desk was great. The staff is very helpful and nice.
The area is in an old fashion neighborhood away from the tourist attractions, which we liked. Lots of restaurants in the area that were ridiculously inexpensive. Also there was a laundromat around the corner, and plenty of supermarkets.
Overall we probably won't stay here again but only because it is not what we like not because it is not a good place to stay.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Appartements im Innenhof sind absolut ruhig. Grössere Autos (SUV) kann man nicht parken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heinz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Claudia1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillyfried, Manager at Mezcalero, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,628 reviews
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Hofgarten 1824
Hofgarten 1824
#15 of 108 in Dresden
91 reviews
Therese-Malten-Villa
#8 of 108 in Dresden
62 reviews
Apartpension Altstadtperle
#23 of 108 in Dresden
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezcalero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezcalero

Address: Koenigsbruecker Str. 64 | 1. Hinterhaus, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Dresden
Price Range: $56 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mezcalero 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our GuestHouse Mezcalero is located in the Dresden Neustadt in the center of Dresden. The historic center is easily reached on foot or by tram. There is a tram stop just 100 meters away. We offer rooms in different categories. Single and double rooms with shared shower or ensuite, apartments with kitchenette and TV as well as 4-6 bed rooms for families and smaller groups. Our delicious breakfast buffet can be booked on the spot. In our yard there is a limited number of parking spaces available and our summer garden invites you to relax. Just have a rest at our place and feel at least a little bit like being at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mezcalero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing