We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience of top hospitality and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Dresden
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Nyali,Mombasa,Kenya
1 review
“Awesome experience of top hospitality and comfort”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Exceptional and unique,distinct Hotel offering the very best in the famed Swiss tradition of consistent highest quality and standard,Probably the best Hotel I have ever stayed in with a rare combination of personalised service and attention from both Management and members of staff working in concert as a team to deliver.Dfinitely the finest Hotel in Dresden.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback, which is showing us that we are on the right way to make every guest´s stay a wonderful one where they feel welcome and cared.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,912
    412
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
350
1,231
114
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fabulous hotel in the centre of the old town and close to all attractions and shopping. Staff could not have been more helpful. They opened the gym for me at 5am (jet lag) with a big smile (other hotels have responded to this request with a polite reminder of an opening time) and a late check out was no trouble. I loved the decor and the cool layout of the bathrooms. Very quiet at night and a fabulously comfortable bed and pillows. I travel a lot for work and organise accommodation for colleagues. This will be our hotel of choice in Dresden.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
2 Thank paradisesearch_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss team we thank you very much for stayinng with us and for your wonderful feedback. We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your colleagues in the near future.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night while traveling through Dresden on a one-week tour of Germany.

Absolutely loved it here. The hotel is located in the Altstadt (old part of the city) and within walking distance of the Semper Oper and other tourist sights. The woman who checked me in was incredibly friendly and helpful and switched immediately to English when she realized I wasn't completely fluent in German.

My room was beautiful and big enough to accommodate two people comfortably. It was clean, and the decor was modern. The layout was a tad unconventional as the bathroom was in the middle of the room--so for those of you traveling with just friends, be warned that the bathroom doesn't afford any privacy whatsoever. Still, it was an interesting and beautiful layout, and works just fine for people traveling alone or as a couple.

Only nit I have was that the wifi in the room, though complimentary, was spotty and didn't pick up a signal most times. Other than that, no complaints. There are computers in the lobby guests can use, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating when I needed a few documents printed.

I ordered room service, and service was prompt, friendly, and polite. Highly recommend this hotel, and I would absolutely stay here again the next time I'm in Dresden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writerevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest,

on behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for staying with us an taking your time to share your impressions with us and other guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Perfect location.
Rooms were very clean, large and inspiring.
The staff was very pro, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast may be a bit steep, and if your renting a bike you can save a few bucks by using the 'Next Bike' service which has a stand close to the hotel (see there website).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ted O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all the hotel is located on the best spot in Dresden.It is modern and the interior makes you quite happy by the light and colourful impression that it gives you.The staff is impeccable and the rooms are comfortable and spacious.I could not wish a better stay in Dresden than in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we would like to thank you for staying with us and spend your time to share your impressions with other guests.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Yvette Thüring,
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Rooms are beautiful and large. Great location, Dresden was a breath of fresh air, I would definetly visit again and stay at the Swissotel. Service was the best in all of our travels through Germany.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Antti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guests,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time for that wonderful feedback.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring,
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I expected the best from this hotel and it went beyond that expectation. It was a short walk to everything you would want to see or do in Dresden. I too have to point out that Henry was a great help to us. We were told that hotel parking was unavailable for the nights that we were to stay at the hotel, but once we talked to this 'tall man' he put us at ease. He said that he would take care of it and to leave it to him. We returned from a short walk to find our car in the hotel garage and Henry was all smiles to assure us that everything was right.

The room was large and spacious with all the expected amenities. It had more closet and storage space than most large families could ever use. We had an interior room location so there was no view from our window except that of the courtyard, but we did get lots of natural light. It was very quiet and the temperature controls worked to perfection. The bed and linen were exceptional and we had a great nights sleep.

Since the fall weather was perfect that weekend we did not use the hotel exercise facilities and also choose to dine out. I must say the smells of the food in the hotel restaurant was wonderful, so I would have expected nothing but perfection had I eaten there.

A great central location, with excellent service!

Room Tip: Courtyard interior rooms are very quiet, but don't offer a view of anything but other rooms. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winkysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for staying with us and giving us your most flattering feedback.
We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
613 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
278 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Dresden

Property: Swissotel Dresden
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Dresden 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hotel Swissotel Dresden Am Schloss opened in the centre of the historical old town. Its central location, great shopping, entertainment and nearby historical sights such as the Semper Opera and Zwinger Palace make this the perfect gateway to the city's business and culture. Swissotel Dresden's historic facade houses stylishly modern interior design, with cutting-edge technology and the warmth of Swiss hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing