We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best in Dresden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyperion Hotel Dresden
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Les Adrets
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best in Dresden”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel décor is nice in a funky way and would probably suit tourists as the location is excellent. Unfortunately I was staying for business and the Wifi did not reach my room making it unacceptable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Giles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we would like to thank you for taking the time to to give us your valuable feedback and the chance to continuously improve our service and product. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We deeply regret that we have missed to inform you that we, beside the complimentary wifi, are also providing internet cables in all our rooms and suites to ensure a constant internet connection. We know that this is not a satisfactory solution and we are still working to eliminate this defect. We would like to ensure you our highest attention on further stays.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With kind regards,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    415
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
353
1,237
115
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very positive experience. Great service and very stylish rooms in the center of Dresden's historic highlights (5mins to Frauenkirche, 5mins to Semperoper, 5mins to Zwinger). Fantastic spacious spa area with a nice chill out area. The breakfast was very nice and everything of the highest quality. Only the WLAN connection was a bit poor in the room, partly no signal at all in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renavrena84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback, which is showing us that we, as a "young" hotel, are on the right way to make every guest´s stay a wonderful one. Your feedback gives us the possibility to continuously improve our service and product.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great hotel, New, very functional and great location. Highly recommended. I loved the nespresso machine in the room and appreciated the kiddies amenity for our daughter. Having a mini bar which is empty, just waiting to be stocked up to our likes was somehow a very interesting idea and haven't seen this before. Well, why not. However, would suggest to have some kind of suggestions in form of a menu card for the mini bar. I missed a bath tub and a swimming pool, but I knew this before! So no complain. Breakfast was good, dinner at the restaurant as well. Only thing was that for dinner a Pike Perch was offered, but we got a Egli instead, some kind of a different perch...but we love Pike Perch!!!! The biggest assest of the hotel, however, is the staff working at the Swissotel. Especially the tall bell boy, taking care of our car and lagguage left a deep impression behind. Thank you Swissotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapzigeuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your most flattering feedback. We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Swissotel Dresden with friends (5 room-nights total). The hotel is a year old and the facilities excellent. Location is outstanding for a standard tourist visit. Auto access and parking alternatives are more than reasonable given the hotel is located in an auto/pedestrian zone. Service was outstanding - always inquiring and gracious. Rooms are compact but well laid out and very comfortable. Breakfast was generous and varied. Our experience would rate it an A+. Our only minor complaint was a little difficulty getting to the hotel following their directions because we did not come in a standard way and their directions could have made clear it's ok to drive in what appears to be a pedestrian zone.
Out only real complaint was German and Dresden weather - constant rain and cold for the 3 weeks we've been here - rain and 10-12 deg C. But the Swissotel location made the weather more manageable.
A definite "go back" to both Swissotel and Dresden.
As backdrop, this is our 3rd visit to Dresden over 20+ years. The city is MUCH changed since we were last there and it has lost a little of its old-world character. However the buildings and musuems are fantastic and lovingly and well-restored. We were not able to see all that we hoped -- just to much to do in a finite amolunt of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaktLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. Thanks to such valuable feedback from our guests we feel encouraged to improve our service continously in order to keep the high level.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future (with better weather). Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was completing Prague-Dresden cycle tour and the hotel was located yards from Elbe cycle way, also yards from Tourist Information and in centre of old town, plus just 15 mins walk from main railway station. Attentive friendly staff, lovely modern open-plan rooms, very luxurious - even had a 'pillow menu' so you could choose your favourite type of pillow. Would recommend this hotel, also any other Swissotel based upon our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home. Thank you for taking the time to give us your most valuable feedback, which is showing us that we, as a "young" hotel, are on the right way to make every guest´s stay a wonderful one where they feel welcome and cared.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a last minute decision to visit Dresden when in Germany and selected this hotel. Location was perfect and hotel was beautiful. Clean, new and staff were outstanding. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Modern, luxurrious hotel in the center of Dresden. The service is great, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated and very big. The beds are extremely comfortable and the guests sleep as good as in their own beds at home(or even better). Each room has a nespresso coffee maschine and a couple of tabs. The price is reasonable for the location and service. We can highly recommend to stay in this hotel and will come back whenever we are in Dresden!!!

Room Tip: Nice spa - but no swimming pool in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyperion Hotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Dresden

Property: Hyperion Hotel Dresden
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Swissotel Dresden)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyperion Hotel Dresden 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing