We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel twice and loved it. It is convienant to all the attractions and the service was great. The only thing we didn't like is the restaurant in the Hotel was way to expensive. So pass on the breakfast but the Hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    417
    66
    10
    6
See reviews for
356
1,246
115
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location: in a pedestrian area in the heart of Dresden, the GPS did not know the address, that is why it took us a while to find it

Check in and welcome: extremely friendly staff (almost too friendly), check in went smooth and fast, we have been upgraded from the standard to the advantage room, they offered valet parking

Room: spacious, but the bathroom was relatively small (just space enough for one person at a time), it took us a while to get used to the interior design (mint green and red), the mattress and pillow quality was relatively poor in comparison to the other Swissotel hotels were we have stayed beforehand, the mini bar refrigerator was not filled at all, there was not much space for luggage, there was no executive lounge

Bar: perfectly friendly staff, only small selection of wine by the glass, cold draught made our two stays there a bit inconvenient, because we sat next to the two entry doors (bar area is quite small)

Breakfast: as always - perfectly friendly staff, but with convenient food (even our omlett was not made out of real eggs, no taste at all), salmon had a strange texture, not a lot of fresh fruits

Check out: smooth, fast and professional

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

we want to thank you very much for your time and your most valuable feedback. Comments like yours are important for us and help us to improve our service and product continuously. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed only one night, but the experience could not have been better. The welcome we received at 2300 in the evening we second to none, very friendly and efficient. We had been travelling all day and arrived after the dining room closed but a nice meal was arranged by the front desk staff. The rooms are nicely appointed with marble and leather. Nespresso coffee and anything else you would want with regard to drinks and tea. Parking is available within the hotel at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time and your great feedback. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I regularly visit Dresden and the Swissotel is now my preferred hotel. This last visit I also recommended it to 2 accompanying business associates and they thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Location is perfect, right in the heart of the city and near the restaurants. Staff are extremely courteous and attentive. The rooms are well designed and comfortable with lots of space.

The minor issues : (1) Light bulbs are not working and for some reason the maintenance team are not replacing them, al 3 of us had this problem. Its most noticeable when the shower and bathroom lights are not working. (2) The shower heads are poorly constructed and 2 of us found the shower spray being directed against the wall as the head flopped down (3) Check in still takes too long even if a Swissotel member (4) 24 hour room service selection is extremely limited in selection, from memory : Burger or Ham & Cheese selection (5) room temperature isn't very warm during the cold months.

On balance though the positive benefits more than outweigh these minor issues and I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asterysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

on behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your review. We do apologize that you've had problems with the light bulbs in your bathroom. Feedback like yours encourage us to improve our product and service continuously. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Dresden and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my first Swissotel experience, and I must say they have a customer for life. The customer service and professionalism of the entire staff was far superior to any business I have ever set foot in. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location of the Dresden Swissotel is perfect for getting around to see anything you want. The hotels food was outstanding. I wish there were more stars to rate them with because they are so far beyond 5 stars.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a single bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Google Translation
Cari ospiti,

in nome di tutti i colleghi del Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss vi ringraziamo per le vostre parole di lode.

Speriamo di accogliere di nuovo con noi al più presto.

Con i migliori auguri

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is in the old town, close to all interesting monuments. The rooms are big and confortable. Breakfast is expensive, this is why I decided not to take it. There is a good coffee-shop just around the corner with good breakfast selections for less than the price in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have not enough words to describe how REALLY unbeatable the location of this hotel is! While the taxi from airport crossed Elbe river by August bridge and pulled over the hotel door, I have catched the glances of all famous Dresden sights I have read about. The hotel door is just opposite Schloss (Royal Palace) gate leading to the Green Vaults. If you turn to the right from hotel door and go through beautiful passage you will pass the Fürstenzug panno, Brühlsche terrace and August bridge to Neustadt, and the next right turn gets you to Frauenkirche square. If you turn after passage to the left you'll see Zwinger palace and Semperoper. So, all historical objects are literally around the corner. As to hotel itself - it is brand new, all elegance and style, well equipped with modern gadgets like you don't have to insert your room card anymore, just wave it at your door, same in the elevators, otherwise they won't move, cosy private cabins with brand new MAC PCs in lobby, staff very courteous and efficient, making you feel very special guest. I was alone in double standard room N 245 with kingsize bed, overlooking inner courtyard. The room was very spacious, well furnished in modern style. I liked how quirky the marble wash-basin was placed in the room, with lot of place for my cosmetic and all that lady's stuff. On the top of it was huge round double-sided self-illuminated mirror, separate portable mirror and normal hair dryer with long cord, not fixed as usually in hotels - all ths things are very important for ladies. I liked Nespresso machine and electric kettle with tea bags, white flat Samsung TV on the wall with 67 channels, mostly german, but they have BBC, CNN and Russia today. When I was in the room I watched Italian channel Moda - nice music, beautiful models on the world podiums displaying glamourous clothes. But best of all I liked the bed - I am even temted to ask the hotel by e-mail what is that wondrous brand they use, those divine pillows and blanket -I slept like an angel in heavens on the clouds. The only thing that disappointed me a little was food. As to breakfast - I expected something special, but it was just good ordinary 4 star hotel breakfast, I would even dare say I have seen lately far better assortment in 4 star hotels of Vienna and Tallinn, not to mention Mallorca. I had A la carte dinner in the hotel restaurant twice, and in both cases the lamb and catfish were cooked very well, but potatoes coming with lamb were underbaked and risotto coming with fish was on the contrary too sodden, though as they say tastes differ.
All in all it was very good stay and i very much recommend this hotel, and if I visit Dresden again, I will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivetta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss

Property: Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Swissotel Dresden)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hyperion Hotel Dresden am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing