We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swissotel Dresden
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Donaueschingen, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We´ve been visiting Dresden and Leipzig with my wife for a long weekend.
We had a late check in given terrific traffic between stuttgart and the region, while arriving at the hotel we were surprised by the location directly downtown behind the castle.
The hotel is modern, has very high standards, caters to international travellers. The location is brilliant. The hotel is within short walking distance to all major tourist sightseeing venues. The bathroom in the rooms is directly in the middle of the room and offers enjoyable open spaces.
A Nespresso coffe machine, a boiler and some athoer amenities complete the picture.
FF&E are probably not the highest level neither wall paper but quality and price are superb.
Personally I think the bathroom design is modern design a bit cheap.
Overall I'd recommend this hotel because of its perfect location, recent refurbishment and service. A negative note: No internal parking and wrong information in the hotel booklet wich have been surprising us. Spa usage is free of charge however the hotel info sheet mention an entry ticket.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us and a happy new year,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,899
    409
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
348
1,219
114
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had an excellent stay at this hotel. It exceeded all my expectations.

Pros
-Excellent location. Walkable to almost all Dresden main attractions.
-Quiet rooms
-Coffee machine
-Very modern decor
-Fancy lobby and elevators
-Free WIFI
-Great service - with staff taking guests up to the their rooms and show them around
-Coffee shops just next to the hotel

Cons - none

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your great feedback.
We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

Thank you for staying with us and a happy new year,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It is very convenient to visit the old city, since the hotel locates right opposite to the schloss. The design is tasteful and modern. The hotel restaurant Esszimmer is also highly recommended. Anyway, the bed is a bit too soft, if you prefer the hard one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addisonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us and a happy new year,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umbertide, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights here visiting the Christmas market. The location couldn't have been better. They have 40 parking places in an underground garage beneath the hotel. The reception was very good. There was a wonderful concierge who helped with restaurant reservations. The city was really packed. The room was nicely decorated and very spacious. The hotel does not include breakfast. This is very unusual in Germanic countries. They charge 22 euro a person for the breakfast substantially raising the price of the hotel per night. I do not recommend the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shtinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

Thank you for staying with us and a happy new year,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwaz, Austria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We’ve experienced no better, friendlier hotel service than at this hotel. From the first interaction with the concierge regarding parking, to retrieving our luggage from storage for departure after a morning of walking Dresden, everyone on the hotel staff delivered friendly, professional, superior service. This hotel sets a gold standard for guest service - period.

Rooms were stylishly modern, with soft colors and natural wood and stone surfaces that nicely soften the edges. The location was perfect for walking the old city center, with most downtown historic sites less than a 10 minute stroll. The hotel offered underground parking at €20 per night.

We did not indulge in the breakfast buffet, however we can recommend the Emil Reimann cafe just next door for a simpler breakfast of coffee and eggs, as well as an excellent rendition of the famous Dresden stollen.

Room Tip: All rooms observed appeared equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your great feedback.
We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

Thank you for staying with us and a happy new year,

Yvette Thüring, General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

we were only passing thru Dresden to go to Prague for the holidays, and decided to stay one night. we found Swissotel from trip advisor and it was very reasonably priced and in a great location.
the hotel is new and in great order, a bit typical of a business hotel, but a very nice one. staff is very attentive, professional and helpful. we travel with our dog and they had prepared in the room a dog blanket, towel, treats and bowls for him.
the room is simple and modern, over all feels nice and clean. only thing one could wish for is that there would be away to divide the bathroom area from the rest of the room, for instance with a curtain, so that there would be the option of having it open or closed. at least there are doors for the shower and toilet.
we had some room service dinner, which was delicious, something that we do not expect anymore from hotels, usually it is just ok.
the breakfast was good and the dinging room is nice. and the gym is what you expect from a hotel, has all you need but nothing amazing.
overall a great and pleasant surprise from a hotel stay we were expecting nothing off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orwellthemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your time. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

We wish you all the best for 2013,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Felt like I was at St Regis when I was walked to my room after check in! The staff here is young, beautiful/handsome, attentive and AMAZING! Isabel at the front desk is a GEM and a STAR! We get service w a smile each and every time w each and everyone! Did not know that this is a brand new hotel. Location is awesome because you can walk everywhere. Ten minutes to main train station.OK maybe 15 since we are fast walkers! Everything is clean and new and modern. Staff anticipates our every needs. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel which we found by searching Trip Advisor which rates this #1. DEAD ON! If I am lucky enough to stay in Dresden, I'd stay here again even if this means I will not get points for my Starwood since they have a property in Dresden! This place has energy, class, service. Everyone is impeccable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guests,
On behalf of the entire Swissôtel Dresden Am Schloss Team we thank you very much for your most flattering feedback.
We thoroughly enjoy to look after our guests and it is thanks to comments like yours that we feel encouraged to live our passion for perfection every day.

Thank you for staying with us and best wishes for a great Christmas season ,

Yours,

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#14 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Dresden

Property: Swissotel Dresden
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Dresden 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hotel Swissotel Dresden Am Schloss opened in the centre of the historical old town. Its central location, great shopping, entertainment and nearby historical sights such as the Semper Opera and Zwinger Palace make this the perfect gateway to the city's business and culture. Swissotel Dresden's historic facade houses stylishly modern interior design, with cutting-edge technology and the warmth of Swiss hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Swissotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing