We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Dresden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Dresden
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
barcelona
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“In the middle of the city”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Inaugurated in 2012 this hotel provides a luxury accomodation in the middle of Dresden. Everything worthwhile visiting is at walking distance. There is free internet access, although in our room (453) you had to sit at the door to get a connection. Flat TV set with international channels. The bathroom is well equipped and the shower very comfortable. Windows and door provide a very silent ambience. The Spa is very good, with two different types of sauna and an exercising / fitness room. Breakfast expensive as usual in luxury hotels, but there is a "small" breakfast available for 9.- in the cafeteria at the entrance including tea or coffee, bred rolls, ham / salami, croissant, a selection of marmalades. Underground parking available, but with no discount rates for hotel guests (max. 20.- per 24 h).
We had a special offer booked in advance for around 100.- Euro per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor- User,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home.

Thank you for taking the time to assess our hotel online. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product.

Your feedback is showing us that we, as a "young" hotel, are on the right way to make every guest´s stay a wonderful one where they feel welcome and cared.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,912
    412
    65
    10
    6
See reviews for
350
1,231
114
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect in this newly opened luxury hotel. Make sure you try a treatment in the peaceful spa in ancient surroundings in the cellar of the hotel- but try to give yourself more time than the hour or so I had for my delightful pedicure.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor- User,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home.

Thank you for taking the time to assess our hotel online. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product.

Your feedback is showing us that we, as a "young" hotel, are on the right way to make every guest´s stay a wonderful one where they feel welcome and cared.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed one night in this wonderful hotel as a solo traveler. The staff are exceptionally nice and quick, lobby is specious and warm. The hotel seems very modern but still has a lot of charm. Room is big, I liked the high ceiling and the decor, it gives a nice happy feeling. Wifi is totally free and fast. The hotel is centrally located.
I didn't try breakfast, I thought EUR 22 is pricey, so I went for a small breakfast in the bakery at the same building, which was very nice.

I recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Dresden. This is the best hotel I've been to in Germany.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank 5starlovertlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We trust that you had a save journey back home. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Dresden and at the Swissôtel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best regards,

Yvette Thüring
Director & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Swissotel Dresden in the first week of September. The hotel commands a top location across the street from Grünes Gewölbe and is within easy walking distance of all attractions in Dresden Altstadt. The street around the hotel is almost a pedestrian area nevertheless you can drive up in front with your car. Friendly staff takes care of your luggage and parks the car in the underground garage. The team at the front desk gave us a warm welcome and let us choose our room: street view or courtyard,lower or higher floors, king or double bed. We took room 450 with Schloss view.
Our room was spacious in a contemporary design and made us feel comfortable from the start. We liked the Nespresso machine which we used frequently and the pillow menue to choose from.Try the Zirbelkiefer pillow, it's like sleeping in a swiss forester's house. The hotel and surroundings are quiet enough to sleep undisturbed even with an open window. The room features an open plan bathroom: Washbasin behind a small wall to look over with a lighted mirror on top. Shower and lavatory seperated with a glass wall and glass doors.The shower offers ample room. This open plan living might be irritating for some as the restroom is not soundproof. Free highspeed WLAN internet worked seamless throughout.
The breakfast was comprehensive and offered a large variety of food and beverage. Here again the staff was kind and polite and service very good. Same goes for the Schlossbar in the evening.
We enjoyed a wonderful stay in great atmosphere from check-in to late check-out.
The friendly and helpful staff with its passion to serve is a big asset and makes the difference. Two examples: Thanks to Nora at the front desk for giving us the choice of rooms on arrival and getting us tickets to the opera on short notice very late in the evening. Thanks to Thomas serving us breakfast most kindly, greeting us by name every morning and bid farewell on our last day.
Needless to say that you get swiss value for money.
Any short comings?
Not really.
They don't prepare the rooms for the night therefore used coffeecups from the frequently running Nespresso machine are not changed in the evening in order to have fresh cups in the morning. However, room service will take care of that if you ring up and they refill on the Nespresso as well.
Parking the car downstairs in the hotel garage has its price, but that comes with the location in the Altstadt. If you are not shying away from a 10 minute walk to a garage the Tourist office at the back of the hotel could offer parking near the Altstadt for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the Schloss/Grünes Gewölbe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atlantis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

After spending almost a week in Berlin at the Pullman - which was excelent - we drove to Dresden. we booked the swissotel in advance. the Hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of the old town with everything at your footstep. the hotel is new, has a parking lot (20E a day), a gym that is basic. room are big with a starnge feature - the WC and shower are in the room with half a wall seperating them from the sleeping area. some will like it some ?. breakfast was OK - no more than that. service - wonderfull.
overall a great hotel and a beautiful city with everything in reach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ositi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YThuering, Geschäftsführer at Swissotel Dresden, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor-User,

We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a save journey back home.

Thank you for taking the time to assess our hotel. It is thanks to the valuable feedback from our guests that we feel encouraged to continuously improve our service and product.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if there is anything we may do for you.

With best wishes

Yvette Thüring & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was an excellent deal for a modern, well-appointed room with a great view in the heart of Dresden. Very helpful and friendly staff despite not speaking German. We only wish we could stay longer! Even the basic room was very nice. A practically new hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TornBetweenCoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

we stayed in the Swissotel Dresden for two nights and we can clearly say, this hotel with his excellent service, excellent food, the kindness and politness of the in house team, the management alwaays present, from the day of reservation until checkout we was really in a great atmosphere
all requested support and questions was straight answerd
the sleping quality is absolut top, the cleanliness is absolut top, the breakfast service and the buffet absolut top, all in all we can reccomend this hotel warmly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
#1 of 118 in Dresden
613 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#3 of 118 in Dresden
278 reviews
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Dresden

Property: Swissotel Dresden
Address: Schlossstrasse 16, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Dresden 5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new hotel Swissotel Dresden Am Schloss opened in the centre of the historical old town. Its central location, great shopping, entertainment and nearby historical sights such as the Semper Opera and Zwinger Palace make this the perfect gateway to the city's business and culture. Swissotel Dresden's historic facade houses stylishly modern interior design, with cutting-edge technology and the warmth of Swiss hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing