We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro, comfortable, quiet”
Review of Hotel Smetana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Smetana
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Retro, comfortable, quiet”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you look for a nice, cosy hotel - this is a good choice. I spent a night there and was more than delighted. A very comfortable, large room with retro-stylish furniture. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Dresden but still quite close to downtown. You can hear birds singing when open a window. If you come with a car you can park on the street nearby (no problem) but do not rely on a parking space at the hotel (space for 4 cars only). The staff was very friendly. Food for the breakfast was very diverse - worth extra 9 EUR. I would gladly visit the place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
57
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sondalo
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel was fantastic. I could park my car just outside of it and I received a warm welcome. My room at the second floor was large with nice TV set and an ample bathroom. Internet was free of charge. You have to pay for the breakfast but it is definitely worth doing it. There is a large variety of choice and quality is excellent. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stone651128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is one place that my wife and I felt was exceptional. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bed comfortable. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and professional and the facility was very clean. location is a nice, quiet neighborhood. For purposes of getting to old Dresden, there is a 400m walk to the tram and a nice 15min ride. Dinner at the restaurant across the street was very good and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. Very happy. They have earned their stars and then some.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Remarkable flat. We booked the junior suite, a flat under the roof, and we were truly astonished by the furniture and the size of the flat. The bathroom is one of the best I ever see in an hotel. I think close to 18 square meter, with a luxurious bidet (rare here), double basin, a good bathtube and a memorable shower unit like a spiral chambered Nautilus. And then kitchen area, a 42" television, sofa, and a beautiful small balcony on the roof. Defects? The air conditioning could be not enough if the day was really sunny. We booked it in the first days of August and we were lucky the weather was always cloudy. In general the hotel is small and the courtesy good enough. A bit far from the center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A good place to stay if you plan to visit Dresden. The room was clean, but the furniture is too old for my taste. The staff had been supportive and friendly, the receptionist helped us to print the museum tickets. The front garden (even small) is very good idea, at least for smokers. The restaurant across the street is the only option in the area, but fortunately a good one. For late arrivals is good to know that the restaurant terrace might be closed (after 9 pm), but the interior area is open.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmen_bv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The rooms are small but clean. The hotel is in a quite neighborhood and only a 2 min walk from public transportation. You can be in the City Center in 10 - 15 mins. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. The only complaint I have is even the non-smoking rooms smell of cigarette smoke. However, the smell is faint.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a little different in color.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvettelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The perfect place to stay when visiting Dresden (which is well worth seeing). Great for city centre - easy 10 min tram ride. Good rooms, really helpful staff, lots of choice for breakfast and some nice extra touches, e.g. Afternoon cakes and wine. Looks like it has some good holiday offers too. Really good.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeyneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Loschwitz
Schloss Eckberg
Schloss Eckberg
#34 of 118 in Dresden
194 reviews
Hotel Bayerischer Hof
#51 of 118 in Dresden
95 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Artushof
#59 of 118 in Dresden
74 reviews
Wyndham Garden Dresden
#22 of 118 in Dresden
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smetana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smetana

Property: Hotel Smetana
Address: Schlueterstr. 25, 01277 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Smetana 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Smetana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing