We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Dresden Newa
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stay at The Pullman hotel based on the location.

On arrival the check-in was efficient and I quickly found my room. The room was very modern and had a studio feel to it as everything is in a single open space. There was also a good view outside due to the large window.

Positives
The breakfast was excellent with a good selection of items.
The staff were very professional.
The cleanliness of the hotel was very impressive.

Opportunities for Improvement
The gym was basic and the machines could be upgraded/expanded.
The WiFi was not free (but was included in my Business Package but I did not know this until I checked out).

Overall a good experience and I would stay at The Pullman in Dresden again in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank cbailey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrich2006, Leiter Front Office at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for taking the time to provide me with feedback on the impressions that you gained during your stay at our hotel. I always welcome opinions from guests since they enable me to evaluate our hotel's service. I hope very much to welcome you back as a factual-critical guest at our hotel in the near future.
With best regards - Helmut Apitzsch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank robrev44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ulrich2006, Front Office Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with a friend of mine for 3 nights on a city break. The hotel is awesome and the staff is helpful. Just not use it when you are traveling with someone you are not married for at least 10 years. Here`s why:
1) My friend and I shared a twin bedroom. We are OK with seeing each other in underwear, but that is pretty much as far as we were willing to go in our friendship. Hotel how ever does not offer a classical bathroom nor a classical toilet. Sower is a clear glass cube in the room and you are only a sliding door away from sounds and smells of someone doing things on a toilet. So we developed a tactic where one would say "Number Two" and the other would take ipad and go sit in the corridor. Much to the amusement of passing guests.
Showering was less of a challenge as there is a curtain ...
2) Another thing is that the hotel is sorrounded with high rise residential buildings and offices. And the entire street facing wall is actually one huge window. So you have to make sure you draw you curtains there too. Unless you enjoy being watched. Which can be thrilling, I hear.
3) Breakfast is awesome. Rich and tasty, and they will even make you a fresh omelet.
4) if you are on Vodafone`s network like I was please bear on mind that you internet might not work in rooms. I had to sit next to the window to get network.
5) Internet is ridiculously expensive. There are monthly flat plans starting at EUR 12 which is a price of their daily access. At this day and age this is a true rip off and something I cannot understand no matter how hard I try.
6) beds are small. I know I am big (6`7 or 2m) but that was just too small. pillows soft towards non existent.
7) location is awesome if u need train station (3 mins away) but takes about 15/20 mins plus to reach whats worth seeing.

Room Tip: the higher the room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonaTibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrich2006, Front Office Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Mr. Jona,
thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on the impressions that you gained during your stay at our hotel. We always welcome opinions from guests since they enable me to evaluate our hotel's service.
I hope that your stay in Dresden and at our hotel was pleasant and entertaining, on the whole, despite the circumstances that you have drawn my attention to. Ihope very much to welcome you back as a guest at our hotel in the near future.
With best regards
Ulrich Prasser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night, although asking for a quite room you are almost always facing the main station and / or the main street with tram. So you can't keep window open. Room was small, modern style with glass walls from shower to bathroom and a curtain to seperate. There was no seperate light switch for toilette so if you need a light during the night you turn on all bathroom lights and therefore lit the whole room! Very distracting for a good night sleep!
despite the reservations claiming free internet we had to pay which I find rediculous for the hotel price itself (and as it seems more of a business hotel).
Breakfast was okay, nothing special.
you can walk to the city center - you can't even miss the path - or take the tram.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrich2006, Front Office Manager at Pullman Dresden Newa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014
Google Translation

Guten Tag, Herr Andreas,
wir danken Ihnen für Ihre Hotelbewertung und die Zeit, die Sie sich dafür genommen haben. Denn kritische Hinweise unserer Gäste betrachten wir geradezu als Chance: nämlich sie bei ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt in unserem Haus davon zu überzeugen, dass wir die Hinweise ernst genommen haben, wenngleich Änderungen an baulichen Gegebenheiten nicht möglich sind.
Wir freuen uns, wenn wir Sie recht bald erneut als sachlich-kritischen Gast hier begrüßen können.
Freundliche Grüße aus Dresden!
Ulrich Prasser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Love the room. Was a bit small but enough for a good night's rest. Finishing/fittings in the bathroom are new. Great for business people who are looking for a comfortable stay in town. Location is central.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backingermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Good location, close to old town and train station, clean and quiet room, good and variert breakfast buffet
Internet acces only in a little room near the lobby limit to. 15 minute require password for that very short time

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamarShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have stayed two nights at this hotel in 2013 summer for buisiness. Better than average. The bed was wonderful everything clean and nicely prepared. and cool designed hotel. The location is up to you. It's just 3-5 minutes walk from the central station. The very first hotel you find walking out of the central station. That means, it's good for goint to another city but faily far from the center for dresden. It takes only 15~20 minutes by tram from the northern center part of dresden (around Kastner's museum) but by walking it takes more than a hour. If you want to see beatiful old buildings right after you wake up you have many good other choices.

However there is Ibis just across the Pullman and I believe Pullman was good for its interior, Bed, room condition. If you are couple and want some romantic place, then choose this hotel. But around the hotel there are few places at night. Everything closes.. Best choice if you are travelling by walking and don't have interest at staying lately at the center of dresden. ( It was summer but I tried to walk across the main shopping street at around 21:30 at night but there was no one walking and bit scarry)

Breakfast was normal. You have to pay for WiFi but you can use printer for free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elchei11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#15 of 118 in Dresden
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
IntercityHotel Dresden
#20 of 118 in Dresden
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Dresden Newa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Dresden Newa

Address: Prager Str. 2c, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Newa Dresden)
Location: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#18 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $81 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pullman Dresden Newa awaits you in an ideal city centre location right on the bustling Prager Strasse shopping boulevard. Your hotel in Dresden's modern city centre is easy and quick to reach either by public transport or by car. Dresden's renowned sights and its key business addresses are just a short distance away. You can look forward to an innovative hotel concept designed to meet your wishes and expectations. Experience a hotel with style and appeal, personal service and an atmosphere of well-being. Whether you are here on business, for a conference or on a relaxing holiday, your stay in Dresden will become an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pullman Dresden Newa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Dresden Newa Hotel Dresden
Accor Dresden Newa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing